We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strong on location and history, needs a refresh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #72 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Iconic for those who remember the ABC network series HOTEL from the 1980s, it seems to be set up for business travelers who require a downtown hotel location. The front desk lobby would seem to bear that out with front desk stations that could handle eight-to-ten guests at a time but sadly only two were manned at the time of my check-in and check-out. That said, I had a situation during this stay where I needed to be contacted by work, and the Westin St. Francis staff went out of their way to make sure I received the necessary messages in a timely fashion.
Traditional Classic Room was on par with most standard rooms. Bathrooms seemed 1970s with some newer fixtures. Westin Heavenly Bed is excellent as always. Sleep quality would have been higher except for the clanging of the San Francisco Cable Cars going up and down Powell Street. WIreless internet for a fee
My recommendation would be for business travelers who might not be turned off by the rather dated dark-wood "mens club" feel that might be disappointing to vacationers visiting San Francisco who have a host of more stylish options within San Francisco. The exceptional service brings my overall review up from "Good" to "Very Good"

Room Tip: Rooms with exposure to Powell Street are subject to ancillary noise from Powell/Hyde and Powell/Maso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speechino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you experienced the exceptional customer service the Westin St. Francis has to offer. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,328 - 3,334 of 5,694 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you are looking for a great Union Square location, this hotel is the answer. Rooms in the old section of the hotel are small because they are very traditional with high ceilings and beautiful moldings. A room with a Union Square view in the old section is a very San Francisco experience.

Room Tip: If you want a San Francisco view, ask for a room overlooking Union Square in the old section of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richt2uSanMateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Located perfectly in union square, great views and only moments away from anything you need, great big rooms, comfortable bed and very clean. Staff where very accommodating and food was lovely.
I couldn't ask for more and if I was ever too return to San Francisco I would definitely consider this hotel for location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lp3506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis and thank you for your review. I am extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I want to recognize the fabulous service of the Lobby Host Marichu Alvarez. When checking in on I had some important business matters to handle and the business center was not meeting my needs. Marichu went out of her way to assist me. Great customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Right at the heart of union square, it is one of the best hotel around. You get a great view, steps away from some of the greatest restaurants and entertainment venues. The rooms are definitely on the smaller side, but very clean. The staff is very accommodating, you need only ask. Great beds, and the walls are thick enough that you won't really hear your upstairs neighbor walking around. Upper floors, the room has a spectacular view. Best things to do is go grab a cheesecake from Cheese cake factory, get a hot cup of coffee and sit down by union square and enjoy the night scene. Most nights there are live music drifting from the corner streets, lights throughout the city and people watching is always fun.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room facing Union Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for pointing out many of the great things our hotel has to offer. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The St. Francis was originally constructed in 1904 and it feels like 2 hotels. The Landmark is the original building fronting Union Square and has 12 floors. The Tower is the taller building that opened 1974 with 32 floors. In total, the hotel has over 1,000 rooms and like me, many people stay there because of the proximity to the convention center as well as the shopping. To me, Union Square is a heartbeat of the city and the St. Francis watches over it day and night.

My room was on the top floor (12th) in the Landmark not the newer Tower building. The rooms feel like ‘old elegance’ with 12 foot ceilings, nice detailing, and marble bathrooms. Typical of Westin, the bed is extremely comfortable and the temperature control is accurate and responsive. The Landmark is configured like teeth in a cog so my window faced the brick of the next building wing. Looking at the floor layout, it’s clear that a lot of rooms will have this issue.

This building has survived earthquakes unscathed and fires that gutted this area of the city. If I am staying in a hotel in San Francisco during an Earthquake then please let it be the St. Francis. The remarkable construction means you won’t hear your neighbors but you may hear the drummers that are panhandling on the streets but that doesn’t go past 9 or 10pm.

The common areas are ‘old world’ with dark woods - not something you see much anymore – considered dark by some and elegant by others. The workout room is incredible as it is well kept and the equipment was state of the art. I even made use of the steam room.

I attended a conference in the hotel and the food service was extraordinary. The servers were very efficient yet unobtrusive and extremely gracious. The food quality was exceptional, particularly so when considering that they were simultaneously serving hundreds of people.

This property has a remarkable location; there is a lot of shopping, dining and entertainment. However, I would strongly recommend that you talk to the hotel about the view before you reserve. Some rooms have a breathtaking view of the city but many of the rooms in the Landmark have a view that is disappointing.

Room Tip: Many rooms in the Landmark part of the hotel do not have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biztravelmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are going to play tourist in SF, this hotel is awesome. The location is right on Union Square and blocks from Westfield Mall, the Cable Car turnaround and tons of great restaurants. On a pleasant day it is also an easy walk to the Ferry Building.

The rooms are standard Westin, but could use a bit of a freshening. Bed was comfortable.

I would stay here again, if playing "tourist" or at a conference at the hotel, but I think there are better business traveler hotels in the City.

Pros:
Location
Service - everyone from the front desk to the cleaning staff to the bell desk were exceptional.
Restaurants/Bar - Bourbon Steak was awesome and the lobby bar had a good vib.
Coffee shop in the lobby had good coffee and a good selection of pastries. Seating was nice.

Cons:
This hotel is loud, from outside noise. I was surprised. I was on the 26th floor of the tower and you could hear everything on the street. Not a big deal, but something to be aware of.
Rooms - my room was the closest one to the elevator bank, but there was no noise. Although the view to the left was blocked by the elevators.
You need a key card to use the elevator. I like this, but tourists who want to see the view stand outside the elevator bank and just get in the elevators and ride up/down. This happened to me twice.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the end of the hallways for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbtravel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,875 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,739 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#95 of 230 in San Francisco
3,350 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $167 - $839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing