We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, stay in the "tower"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #75 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, stay in the "tower"”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and was fortunate to be put in the tower, which I think is the newer part of the Hotel. I was in a King size room, and I wasn't disappointed. Massive bed, a good desk with a lounge area in front of a nice bay window. The bathroom was nice, but the shower was amazing (double headed shower).
As I had a lot of work colleagues there I was able to see one of the rooms in the old part of the Hotel, and I was so glad that I was lucky enough to be in the tower. The old rooms look drab, and could do with a re-fit.

Room Tip: Choose the tower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,866
    1,786
    923
    454
    257
See reviews for
1,000
1,569
262
1,582
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
217 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ideally situated at Union Square ; a very convenient location whatever the reason of your stay. I was in the "old" part of thé building with a direct view on the square. The room was a little bit old fashionned but very confortable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is nice to hear you enjoyed the comfort and convenience our hotel has to offer. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Westin St Francis is another shining example of the amazing Starwood Resorts. From the time we checked in, we were made to feel like our stay really mattered....from the valet, all the way to housekeeping. The rooms are elegant, decent sized and the bedding, linen and accommodations are awesome. This is my go-to place to stay when in SF as it's centrally located to the amazing shopping, the cable car turnaround, BART and Muni.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room overlooking Union Square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

All of my friends visiting San Francisco choose The Westin St Francis as the perfect location for
their West Coast gathering.
The Reason? Happy atmosphere, great customer service, good food,fair price, and just the right
"vibe".
No person has ever stated that they were unhappy being at the "Westin" and all of them say I would like that hotel to be in my city.
I will continue to say "Yes" to the "Westin" when friends plan their next event.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I thought I was lucky to get a room at the Westin since I needed to attend a conference there. Big mistake. While the new tower is like staying in a completely different hotel, I was in a cramped, sad little room with a crummy closet, and all-around tight space that felt like I was tucked away in the attic of the old building. And, this crummy little room cost nearly $600. Ouch. See for yourself.

Rooms - and old versus new wing - really matter in this hotel. Be careful!

Room Tip: Do not stay in the old building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyminasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis and for your feedback. I am sorry to hear your were not satisfied with your guest room. We offer a variety of room types that vary in size. I hope you choose to stay with us again and experience more of what our hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great location, right on Union Square! Absolutely heavenly luxurious accomodation (heavenly beds), friendliest staff, excellent shopping location (surrounded by all my favorite shops). I even got a 10% SF guests discount at Macys :) Union Square.
Great restaurants in and around the hotel area. I have stayed both at the new and the old tower. I love them both, but I just love the ambience of the old building.
This is definitely a must stay SF getaway hotel anytime!!!

Room Tip: The old tower building provides you a great view of Union Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ching S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Warm & welcoming with more comforts than you could ever have at home! Perfect location, wonderful event spaces, great rooms and that fabulous Starwood service! You have myriad choices of restaurants, shops, transportation, theater and museums all within walking distance to the St. Francis! It truly is the only place to stay in Downtown San Francisco!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moneil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 227 in San Francisco
4,396 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#90 of 227 in San Francisco
3,074 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
1,570 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
2,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Starwood, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing