We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 Union Square Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #71 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
“#1 Union Square Hotel”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel located on Union Square. As you enter the lobby you will notice the historic Magneta Grandfather Clock. marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork with the elegance of yesteryear. I did not stay here, but, all Westin’s feature the Heavenly Beds, the Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, which I am a member. Union Square and a cable car stop are outside the front lobby door. BART is only 12 miles from San Francisco International Airport (SFO), and 15 miles from Oakland International Airport. I was here for a conference and meetings on the mezzanine, 2nd floor and hospitality on the 32nd floor over looking Union Square and downtown SF.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,946
    1,857
    953
    460
    260
See reviews for
1,050
1,626
270
1,631
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The St Francis is one of my favorite hotels in San Francisco. If you are traveling for business, shopping or night life this is a great location. They seem to have several upgraded rooms and I have been able to stay in both updated and the ones that have yet to be updated. The views from the upper floors are incredible and that staff always seems to be welcoming. The greatest asset to the property is the location and many of the hot spots are within walking distance from the hotel. I would rate the non suite rooms at 3* the hotel a 4* and the stays in the suites as 5*. the rooms are spacious considering the age age of the hotel and the location. This isn't your typical NYC type downtown hotels with micro rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room and a room on a higher floor to avoid the noise and take in the great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarteBlancWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear CarteBlancWine:

Thank you for staying at The Westin St. Francis and thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear you have enjoyed staying with us multiple times. I agree our Union Square location couldn't be more convenient. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Should you need any assistance with a future reservation, feel free to contact me at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,
Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms
The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Westin St. Francis is a great place to stay. It's right in the heart of Union Square and close to everything else SF has to offer. The staff at the hotel was excellent. I highly recommend staying there for your next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CubsFan013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear CubsFan013:

Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis and thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and you would highly recommend us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. If you need any assistance, please contact me at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,
Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms
The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a tower room on the 20th floor. The bathroom had beautiful Calcutta marble, the bed was a typical comfy westin bed, and the room was quiet.

Now the not so good. The carpet in my room and the hallways is in desperate need of replacement. I had to wear my flip flops it was so stained and gross looking. The drapes looked tired and overall the room just looked worn out and tired. I wouldn't stay here again unless the property went through a renovation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beach567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Beach567:

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin St. Francis and thank you for your feedback. It is good to hear you enjoyed our Heavenly beds and found your room quiet; however, I am disappointed you found the carpets in your guest room in such condition. The condition you described is unacceptable and I have reached out to the Housekeeping manager regarding this matter. Again, thank you for your feedback. I would like to assist you with a future reservation should you choose to return. Please contact me directly at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,
Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms
The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I could not tell why this hotel was rated as 4 stars on the site where I made my reservation. The room was clean, though it looked a tad shabby. My room would be considered small by many people, but being by myself, I wasn't bothered. I could hear the couple in the next room, but they went to sleep early enough for me. The bed was comfortable. The best thing about the room was the shower. I am tall, and being able to stand up in the shower and have the water pouring down on the top of my head, instead of on my face and upper chest, was a pleasure. Otherwise I felt that it was a completely average hotel experience, nothing to rave about, but adequate. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PainterRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our first time in San Francisco and found this to be a great location with transport links right at the front door - or side doors:-) right on The Square - fabulous shops steps away!! Minutes away from Chinatown. Not far to Fisherman's Wharf.
There is a great little cafe in the foyer which serves a light, economical brekky/lunch and becomes a bar in the evening! Courteous and friendly staff and great food. Try it.
Comfy beds - roomy rooms - clean.
There was an issue with many people with the elevators and swiping of cards before being assigned a lift for your floor - but they did address this and I think they have a more user-friendly system now. :-)
The building has history and I loved the photographs & memorabilia !!
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear AnnaAussie:

Thank you for staying at The Westin St. Francis and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and you would definitely stay here again. I would be happy to assist you with your future accommodation needs. Contact me at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,
Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms
The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is one of the City's classic buildings, in a central location. That is both good and bad.

It is good because the building is mentioned by a number of tour guides as the place to start a San Francisco tour. And it is a grand old building, with an ornate lobby and attractive public areas that everyone should see.

But staying in an old building means the rooms are old too. Our room was cavernous, dark, and a little depressing. However, Westin, as always, does a fantastic job with beds and betting.

Service was not terrible, but was surprisingly mediocre and indifferent. The hotel promised vouchers if we chose not to have our room cleaned, and then refused to provide the vouchers because we "had not signed up in advance." The front desk made a show of checking to see if a better room was available, then told us it was not giving us an undesirable lower-floor room with no view.

Union Square is tourist central, which means it is noisy, full of crass commercialism, and overrun by tourists and panhandlers. As a result, this famous local area is stripped of local character.It should be seen once -- but is not a pleasant place to stay.

It was ok to stay here once, but not again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sunra7:

Thank you for staying at The Westin St. Francis and thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed we did not exceed your expectations. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the Westin Heavenly bed and our grand lobby; however, I am sorry you were not satisfied with your guestroom or service. We strive to provide outstanding customer service and it is uncommon our guests should feel otherwise. With regards to the Make a Green Choice program, you can sign up during check-in or hang the Make a Green Choice card on your guestroom door before 2 a.m. This way, the housekeeping department can plan accordingly for the following day. Again, thank you for your feedback. If you choose to return to Union Square, please contact me, I would be happy to assist you with your accommodations. I can be reached at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,
Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms
The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,616 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#98 of 229 in San Francisco
3,190 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,916 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing