We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blah at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis) (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shopping Package
Ranked #39 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Blah at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Let me first start by saying that I had high hopes for this hotel. Based on previous reviews and the price point that it was measured at, I was expecting a really nice hotel. I traveled here one week prior to the Superbowl and this $400+ a night hotel was on discount for $180. I thought to myself "wow" what a steal so I had to take advantage. First impressions when arriving at the hotel was that it was in a really good location right next to Union Square. Taking the BART from SFO and getting off at Powell St put me about a ten minute walk to the front door of the hotel. Upon arriving my girlfriend and I were greeted with warm towels and they even checked us in 2 hours earlier. I thought to myself "Man I scored with this place." But sadly this was where it all ended for me.

Once we exited the elevator and got off on our floor (5th floor), it smelled like old damp carpet. Upon entering the room, that smell was multiplied and it smelled like a wet dog had been in our room for weeks. Think of an old person's house with that musty, non circulating air. The room was rather small but I knew that I was getting into that prior to booking. The sink is actually right by the doorway so it is outside of the bathroom itself. The bathroom was also old and in need of upgrades. The tub leaked water onto the floor and they attempted to fix this problem by creating these high ridges on the edge of the tub which made it look rather tacky. Needless to say even those failed and we had wet floors every night we were there. I used the iron in the room on the second day and being careless and thinking that this nice hotel would routinely check their irons, I pressed it onto my shirt. Only to find out that the previous user had burned something on that iron and it stuck to my shirt. Thankfully it did not ruin it.

I had high hopes for this place and I really wish I could have liked it more.

Room Tip: Get the higher floors to get away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
nice
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location has always been excellent, next to Union Square, close to Market, with lots of restaurants, shops, theaters around
the renovations have made the hotel even more appealing, as well as a pleasant and obliging staff
will be back

  • Stayed February 2016, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was pleasantly surprised by the Warwick. Great location, friendly staff, everything you need for a short stay. The room I stayed in was fine for me - I was travelling solo for work. It would have probably been a bit too small if I had been staying with my partner. Only 2 minor downsides - sink is in the living area (not in the bathroom) which means there isn't a lot of counter space, and the internet was a little unreliable at times. Overall though, I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank te_wandering_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second stay at this hotel.
Rooms are spacious and well kept. Furniture is vintage, with new paint. Room smells like a building of its age in SF.

Room 201 is located directly above a mechanical room. You could feel the vibration if you put your hand against the wall and the noise was unbearable. A call to the front desk was met with indifference. The hotel was booked up and they could not move us to another room. Fron desk staff said they would let the manager know. As you could imagine, we never heard anything from the manager.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mario T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Peninsula, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Best Romantic Stay Ever! My husband and I are travelers and have stayed many places but the Warwick by far has been the Best Place! The room was Impressive, Delightfully decorated and extremely Cozy & Comfy. Every single staff member we encounter were Extremely Polite and Welcoming. Special Kudos to Tiffany(front desk) Mike (bartender). Tiffany certainly has traits of a boyscout: Kind, Courteous, Helpful, & Very Professional. Mike was very entertaining and offered up advise on nightlife in SF. We have found our quick go-to hotel when staying in SF, we look forward to staying at the Warwick our next stay in SF. Great Location!

Stayed January 2016
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Upon check in I was placed in a room on the 6th floor. I was checked in a bit early which was nice. When I went to use the shower it was completely broke the handle to turn it on was snapped of and was just spinning round and round. The maintenance staff couldn't fix it at such a late hour and requested I be moved. Initially the hotel said they where fully booked.... They went away and I was delivered a new key for a new room ?!?! The new room was much larger and was a very nice accommodation. The bar downstairs was great had a few cocktails and some bar food. My only compliant was the WIFI was horrendous couldn't get any signal at all. All in all I would stay again for sure.

Stayed January 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NRP_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent three night in a junior suite with a 'Juliet' balcony. The room was spacious with a stunning decor. We appreciated having a couch as well as a chair in the room, a spacious desk area and the chance to spy on Geary St at any time. The in-room coffe was the best we have had anywhere and we really appreciated that. From here we had easy acces to many areas. It was very easy for us ot get around. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We would go back there.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,863 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,989 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#10 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#6 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,511 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#8 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,398 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#58 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Address: 490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick San Francisco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just two blocks from Union Square, amid the city's theater and art scene, the newly renovated Warwick San Francisco embodies a luxurious home-away-from-home style where hospitality is paramount and well-being is the ultimate goal. Fusing the building's authentic history with modern hospitality, the hotel features 74 individual guest rooms, which includes 20 suites, each designed in the traditional Beaux-Arts method and exquisitely styled with unexpected contemporary touches. The Warwick San Francisco is located at 490 Geary Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Warwick San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
San Francisco Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing