We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Ranked #62 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great location (especially if you like Saks) near Union Square. Close to cable cars, busses, restaurants, and shopping. Unlike the St. Francis, the rooms are remarkably quiet. The hotel was recently redone and the bathrooms are amazing. One caveat: Marriott extends concierge room access to its gold and higher status members, so you may want to reconsider paying to stay on the concierge floor.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on higher floors have Bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank astorix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,820 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at the Marriot for business in June. Overall I was really impressed by the hotel, despite its size staff were pleasant and helpful.

I was pleasantly surprised by the room and bathroom sizes. I stayed in a queen and had a separate bath and shower which was a great as the showers in a bath tub are never as good.

Beds were very comfortable and the rooms weren’t noisy.

I stayed in this hotel for a work conference and found the facilities on the lower level to be equally good.
Location was great, close to Union Square, Market etc.

The only downside was the wi-fi which was around $15 a day.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a floor nearer the top to avoid any noise from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heidijayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This JW is exactly what you'd expect from a Marriott. It's in a great location, just off of Union Square. The rooms are a nice size. A few floors have air purifiers in each room. I wasn't on one of those floors, but a friend was. Not sure the difference it made.

The staff was incredibly friendly and when I needed something in my room, I was shocked how quickly they arrived. It was awesome.

My only criticism is their pillows. Both the feather and foam pillows are too flat.

I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room that ends in 01. They're large and in the corner. They're quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were able to get a great rate at the last, so we glad to be able to stay here. We were on the 6th floor because we would have had to pay extra to stay on a high floor with a view. I've stayed here years ago, and the views from the high floors are really great. However, we did pay $70 extra to get access to the executive lounge and enjoyed the view from there. The breakfast in the lounge was really good, and they have snacks available there at noon. In the evening, we had hors d'oeuvres" there in the evening. The chicken was pretty dry, but other snacks there were good. Later in the evening, they had desserts there as well - brownies and cookies. As far as the room, really luxurious - up to the high standards of the J W chain. Upgraded toiletries are in the beautiful bathroom. I hope for the opportunity to stay here again, as we only had one night in S. F. before continuing our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovetotravelSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend the San Francisco JW Marriott. Location was great - very close to the main shopping and dining areas of SF. We were able to walk to most of our desired attractions. Staff was extremely attentive and friendly. Upgraded to a very nice multi room suite upon arrival. Facilities are very nice - the gym was kept cool and quite large for a hotel gym. Concierge lounge open 7 days a week (rare) and serves breakfast, snacks, amd desserts. Overall I highly enjoyed my stay and will return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Strykerwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We switched to the JW Marriott after two nights at the Courtyard in Fisherman's Wharf (by design), and the difference was like night and day ~ as one would expect. The staff we encountered were all professional and personable. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. The lighting throughout the room and bathroom was a bit dim and took some getting used to, but not something that would detract from the enjoyment of the accommodations. The hotel is but a short walk (uphill both ways) to Chinatown and right there for Union Square shopping. We really enjoyed relaxing in the concierge lounge with a glass of wine at the end of a long day of site-seeing and the breakfast was excellent.The views from the 21st floor are spectacular. I wish we had taken the opportunity to enjoy the third floor bar, but that leaves us something for our next visit. Another excellent JW Marriott property.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BrevardMinister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spacious and comfortable with huge, luxurious bathrooms! The room was clean and well maintained and the bed was extremely comfortable. Great location within walking distance of Union Square shopping, dining, and other SF sights. Excellent hotel in SF!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurenGordonVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceGorelick, General Manager at JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for the rave review Lauren! We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. Best,
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
5,627 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Address: 515 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1226 (Formerly Pan Pacific Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $218 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Jw Marriott
Marriott San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Pan Pacific Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing