We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Family Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Ranked #63 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My Family from Wahington state was very impressed !
They all gave their thumbs -up! I hope to get another stay booked in a few months. Very cozy and the minimalist look is very calming.
I love the fitness center complete with towels, fruits , water and magazines.
Looking forward for more booking experiences

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Michelle J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceGorelick, General Manager at JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Hi Michelle,
We're so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Best,
Bruce Gorelick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding in town. We mistakenly stayed here over the other Union Square Marriott, but where pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff is very friendly and the hotel is very close to the F line Street car, which is only $2, and includes a transfer.

We didn't mind the 3rd floor lobby, it made no difference.

We stayed on the 10th floor with a view of someone's apartment, not great. The room itself was clean and large. The bathroom was marble everywhere but the shower was a bit small, with my elbows out, I would touch both sides, and I'm an average male.

Room Tip: Choose rooms above the **08. Those will face south or west with a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samm5149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

There is a Marriott at Union square AND the JW Marriott at Union Square. Not being aware of this our driver took us to the wrong one. They are close to one another, so it was only a short walk. Not a huge deal, but we ran into at least 3 other parties who were in the same situation. Corporate really should do something about this. Hotel and rooms are very nice, very clean, beautiful bathroom but the shower is TINY. There was a mix-up in the rate for our room, we had to show our email for proof of our quoted rate, which after a couple of days was satisfactorily resolved. The desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful during this exchange, however she had to bring in the manager (Rob) who was very unprofessional and rude in the process. The clerk also seemed surprised at his behavior and did offer us a free drink in the lounge as acknowledgement. Am always disappointed when a hotel of this quality does not provide complimentary newspaper, microwave and refrigerator. Location is great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMYVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceGorelick, General Manager at JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I'm so sorry that your stay got off on the wrong foot due to your driver dropping you off at the wrong Marriott. Most cab drivers in the city know to get clarification due to having a few hotels within close proximity but it can be confusing. I'll share your comments with our staff and I'm glad you enjoyed our spectacular location.

Best,
Bruce Gorelick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location of this hotel is unbeatable. It's right in Union Square and within walking distance to great shops and restaurants. The View, the top-level lounge, has an amazing -- you guessed it -- view of downtown San Francisco.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the JW Union Square. The location is great, an easy walk from the Powell BART station. Just off Union Square so countless options for dining and shopping, hopping on the cable car, we even walked to the Ferry Building. Concierge lounge was open 7 days, and while the food choices were average for a Club Floor, it was nice to have access to a quick breakfast, drinks, coffee, snacks. Our room was clean, no complaints. They go out of their way to apologize for noise but other than a distant whirring of something outside we had no noise and no need for thier offer of ear plugs. It's a refreshing spot in a busy city! We usually stay at the Renaissance Stanford Court up the hill which we also enjoy but this may be our new first chioice!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank socaltripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceGorelick, General Manager at JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

I’m so pleased to hear your wonderful comments. We have the Concierge Lounge open 7 days a week specifically to help ease weekend travel for our valued guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Fondly,
Bruce Gorelick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located for easy access to Union Square and many other San Francisco attractions. The hotel lobby areas are very nice and check-in was very quick, efficient and friendly. The lobby is on the third floor and while some people have stated that this was a negative I certainly didn't find it to be an issue at all. I had a junior suite on the corner of the 19h floor, there was little city noise and no internal noise from elevators or other guests at all. The room was large and well appointed, but the fittings especially in the bathroom are showing their age. I found the bed to be a little bit too fluffy and padded, but the size was great and linen quality top notch. Hotel staff were generally all very friendly and courteous and were willing to help when requested. Hotel dining prices are a bit on the steep side, but this is San Francisco and there are a huge number of options for great food in the city to meet any taste and budget.

Irritations include no free WiFi, and a daily charge of $14 is just ridiculous. Another irritation was asking if I could get a morning newspaper and being told I would be charged to have a paper delivered, really, this is supposed to be a luxury hotel. Other than that the JW Marriott is a solid, luxurious choice in the Union Square are.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GEERSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a GORGEOUS hotel in a great location--close to shops, restaurants, etc. The elevators are beautiful with a breathtaking view and they all work quickly. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a bed I loved. The bathroom was VERY luxurious with marble everywhere, shower in one room with toilet and the bathtub in the room with the sink and spacious countertop. We are Gold Elite members so we enjoyed the Club Lounge--where the view of the city was amazing, the food was delicious and the staff members very helpful. I loved the men in uniform opening the outer doors for us. They remembered us which was very nice. When I called the front desk to request a late checkout (REALLY didn't want to leave), the desk clerk said "Anything for you, sweetheart!" WOW! The customer service is exceptional! What a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Tip: Use light on makeup mirror as nightlight in bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zebra71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceGorelick, General Manager at JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review, it made my day. You absolutely deserve to be treated like royalty and we hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Bruce Gorelick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
5,788 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Address: 515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1226 (Formerly Pan Pacific Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $184 - $842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover luxury in a recently remodeled guestroom at JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square, a hotel in downtown San Francisco, California situated near the best shopping in Union Square. We're also moments from AT&T Park, Chinatown the Financial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Jw Marriott
Marriott San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Pan Pacific Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing