We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A solid - but not the nicest - J.W. Marriott hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Ranked #63 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A solid - but not the nicest - J.W. Marriott hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel frequently when in SF, most recently for three nights in October. This hotel is everything a J.W. promises to be. Even though as other reviews have noted, it is a bit older hotel (more dated, less modern) than the newest J.W. hotels, it is very comfortable and in a great location for both business and tourism. The staff are helpful, the amenities (lounge, etc) are exactly what you would expect. Pricey - all of SF is - but fair for what you receive, especially compared to other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nicest views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GateE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    658
    219
    78
    43
See reviews for
313
523
73
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
241 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights. Excellent location near Union Square. The hotel meets all the expectations from a JW Marriott. It's a bit conservative , but can't complain. Access to the executive lounge on the top floor give a 'free' breakfast with wonderful views of the city plus Internet access. The room we had was very spacious and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is one of the better Marriott properties that I've travelled to over the years. The hotel was upscale and inviting and the people were terrific. This was our anniversary and the staff made every part of the experience great from choosing a great room with a view of the city to sending up a bottle of wine to help us celebrate. Probably the most helpful person there was Nash. He was always available for assistance no matter what we needed and sent up a great card thanking us for choosing the JW and wishing us a happy anniversary. What a great touch!

The only negative part of the trip was the loudness of the city. I'm not sure the hotel could do much there but many times we woke up at 3am with the banging of trash trucks or people on the streets. Not sure if better windows would help or not but minor in the scope of things.

Room Tip: Get a high room to try to get above the noise if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaDiver9184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The room was really nice and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.
The bathroom was well appointed with a separate shower and spa bath.

The staff at this hotel are definately what makes it great I found them all helpful especially the concierge who booked an Alcatraz tour for me.

Room service was good I ordered a JW Burger it was massive and like most American meals came with an excessive amount of sauce, about half a dozen little bottles of tomato sauce came with the meal.


The hotel location is good if you want to do shopping as it is one block from Union Square.

The only thing I could fault is that the hotel charges for power adaptors instead of lending them to guest which is what the Los Angeles JW Marriott do.

I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOK990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel was centrally located and had nice rooms. Much less hectic than the Marquis and a bit more upscale. The restaurant on level 3 was good, but closed a bit early. This was a pleasant alternative to the hustle and bustle of other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anngeojes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in September. As a disclaimer, we got the room for free through the Marriott loyalty scheme, so I can’t comment on value for money.

The hotel is well located if you are a tourist visiting the city. It’s actually one block off Union Square, but it’s only a couple of minutes to walk there.

The room we had was a bit small by US standards, but it was very comfortable and well maintained, with an air purifier in the room (if you feel the need for such a thing) and a well appointed bathroom. Once again, we thought the shower cabinet was rather small, although it was certainly big enough to be usable. The only real gotcha with the room was that it was single glazed only, so you could be bothered by traffic noise if the same is true on lower floors (we were on the 12th).

We never ate in the hotel restaurant, so can’t comment on the food. The bar in the lobby was good – but you certainly paid city center prices in it !

The staff were one of the other real plus points. Everyone we met was consistently friendly and helpful – the kind of good quality service I would expect in a Marriott. The concierge, in particular, was incredibly helpful in giving us tips on where to go and how to get round town. She also never made us feel rushed, and always made time to chat. Darlene, take a bow !

All in all, we liked our stay here. It’s not the most modern hotel in SF, but we found it clean, comfortable, well fitted out, and a good base for exploring the city as a tourist. Like I say, I can’t comment on value, but recommended in other terms.

Room Tip: High floors less likely to suffer from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Not quite up to the JW brand I've seen in DC and Vegas, but nice enough. Service could not have been better. Room was a but worn out and could use a bit of a freshening. It's nice the windows open. Location is great if you have business downtown or in the financial district.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eurorunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,337 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#42 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,368 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Property: JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Address: 515 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Pan Pacific Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Jw Marriott
Marriott San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Pan Pacific Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing