We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel, cramped shower”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Ranked #65 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel, cramped shower”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is a luxury hotel and it provides all that you expect. Exemplary service, beautiful accommodations, expensive meals/wifi/mini bar prices, and a very comfortable night's rest in a luxurious bed. My only real complaint is with very small shower stall - I'm 5'9", 170 and I was very very cramped. I can't imagine how larger people could ever take a shower in it. I'm not sure if it was my room or all the rooms are like that.

Overall I'd recommend the hotel though, great location in the heart of union square not far from Moscone Center.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibeplato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    680
    227
    85
    45
See reviews for
321
543
77
543
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Top of the line amongst the Marriott chain of hotels, the JW Marriott is located right in the heart of Union Square. Let me begin my saying that our family's most recent trip to San Francisco was made very enjoyable because of the service from the staff and comfort of the room. Our first surprise was the free upgraded room with a KingSize, plus sofabed room for us and our two little infants.
Centrally located to the shopping in Union Square, walking distance to Chinatown, Ferry Market building and cable car lines.
For car rentals, the Hertz rep was conveniently located right at the hotel concierge and was very helpful. We were pleased that they provided us with a brand new car, and included a GPS free, which we were able to pick up right at the hotel. The car drop off was conveniently located 1/2 a block away.
After a long day of sightseeing, we looked forward to enjoying the free water infused with different variety of fruits daily. The lobby was very spacious with lots of comfortable seating. Room was bright, nicely decorated with a large bathroom. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful, including the reception, housekeeping, concierge and doormen.
Some small inconveniences, we were not allowed to store our babies food in the fridge without being charged. They do provide the option of bringing up a fridge for us, but we didn't bother. Also, you could occasionally hear the elevators.
Overall, would highly recommend this hotel and definitely looking forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indotraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanny S, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
We are very pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. Our hotel staff strives to create exceptional experiences through silent anticipation and thoughtful preparation. Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you on the next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

very modern rooms with contemporary design and great windows.
wonderful bathroom with great amneties.
great space and storage and very comfy bed and seating area.
the best location from where u can walk to the main shopping area and to the convention center with a cute small garden having a nice tea shop.simply its close to alot of important and necessary places.
just few steps from the hotel u pass across many restaurants and coffee shops.
ofcourse the staff z professional and helpful to some extent,not so friendly though :(
it was a nice stay,loved the place.
will try to stay somewhere else as the hotel was very expensive and the staff not so friendly,but i loved the hotel's location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lychesatsuma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed in a one-bedroom suite. Beautiful, clean room! Good central location, far enough away from hustle & bustle. Service is wonderful; staff is incredibly accommodating. If you're travelling with a group, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lycheesatsuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Great hotel in a great location: loved the large and well decorated rooms, friendly service (especially the concierge guys) and the fitness center. One tip: I was sleeping on the 12th floor and slept like a baby but a colleague sleeping on 7 complained of noise all night long.

Only drawback is the WiFi: not great quality and expensive: in this day and age a good business hotel should make an effort to give good quality WiFi for free to its guests, especially when you charge as much as the Marriott does... if most Best Western can give free WiFi it is really hard to accept that a hotel of this level still charges for bad connectivity.

Room Tip: top floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I stayed here a few weeks back and was in a room on the 9th floor. There was a lot of street noise that was audible throughout the day and night. This week, I stayed here again and asked for a higher floor. I was put on the 17th floor and it was much quieter, plus the view was considerably better. The rooms were the same.
The showers are quite small and it is not possible to get put the spray while you are lathering up. Also, the tv in my room had signal issues on several high def channels.

Room Tip: High floors are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2KauaiGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanny S, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying at our hotel. We have a wide variety of room types to accomodate different preferences. We apologize to hear about the TV issues. Our main goal is to fix any problem on first contact when our guest report this to us during their stay. We are looking forward to welcome and serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I booked this hotel for a short 2 night stay. The rooms are decent. The location is OK - it's close to Union Square but it's on the border of the Tenderloin, so be careful not to go the wrong direction. But I had 3 problems that flat out should not have happened at a JW Marriott.

1. I walked into my room and the temperature was at 78 degrees. The AC wasn't working. I told them, came back later and it was fixed.
2. My TV wasn't working. I called, they came up and fixed it.
3. My shower was scalding hot. I called, them came up and fixed a valve and it worked.

For a short 2 day stay, you shouldn't have a 3 very basic things go wrong.

Room Tip: Didn't have a good room, so can't be of help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RalphandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanny S, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. We invite you to contact us directly to discuss further. We're glad to hear that our team was able to fix the problem on the first contact, but we do realize this can be a frustrating inconvenience.
We know you have many hotel choices when travelling to San Francisco and we thank you for choosing us. We hope you will give us the opportunity to show you how we strive to live up to our commitment to exceed our guest expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 229 in San Francisco
4,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#28 of 229 in San Francisco
5,098 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,166 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Property: JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Address: 515 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1226 (Formerly Pan Pacific Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Jw Marriott
Marriott San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Pan Pacific Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing