We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #121 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I would put this hotel in the category of a motel. I think they just charge the money that they charge as it is in the heart of San Francisco. Other than that a room at this hotel is not worth more than say $70 or $75/night. The lobby is great and the area where this hotel is, is great as well. However that's about it as nothing else beyond the front desk is great about this hotel. We checked in and from the elevator (which took ages to go up from the lobby area to the 5th floor) to the water in the shower was all crappy and a terrible experience.

We get to the room and upon entering it looking like a decent and clean room. However after stepping inside, the first thing I wanted to do was open the windows due to a stale/old smell coming from the room. I realized that the windows are old style and one of them had the lock broken and our window had a emergency stair case right outside it so with the broken lock it would be very easy for someone to come in and either harm us or steal our stuff. I just stuck a pen in the lock area and hoped that no one would do anything bad. The window would not stay open and kept falling down and the other window did not open at all!

The bathroom was super tiny and the shower curtains were put as if they were just thrown around and they kept sticking to the body while taking a shower. Now for the worst part ever - the water from the shower was literally just dripping! There was no pressure whatsoever! I felt like I could have a better shower with the water pressure/flow in the sink!

The cupboard in the room was old style and everytime I walked near it (without even touching it), it would start creaking. I am not sure if the floor was creaking or the cupboard was creaking but it just sounded like it was right out a horror movie. When I actually opened the cupboard, the door kept swinging on its own and making such loud noises as if it hadn't been oiled in a year or whatever.

The WiFi was extremely pathetic. Imagine this, my sprint network was faster than the Wifi in the hotel. I am sure those of you who have used/use Sprint Cell network know how pathetic that it is and now imagine the Wifi in the hotel being even crappier than that!

Luckily we were staying there just for 1 night as our purpose was to get a place to crash after partying in SF and head out back to South bay the next day, where we live.

I would never ever recommend this hotel to anyone ever. For the money we paid for 2 rooms, I feel that we could have just taken a cab and gone back home from SF to San Jose!!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here! Don't ever stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, General Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Guest, I apologize for your dissatisfaction of the hotel. We are a hotel with old-fashioned elements to it. Some of these cannot be changed. Most people love them, and of course some people would be better suited to stay at a more commercialize hotel. We do not hide this detail, we want everyone who comes to enjoy this beautiful City to love it not matter where you are staying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    234
    95
    49
    57
See reviews for
72
279
42
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Lovely old Victorian. It is located on cathederal hill, which is a lovely neighborhood. It is on or close to transportation lines, making it easy to get downtown or to the waterfront. There is a good restaurant in the hotel, which has been a local favorite for years.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mabel13b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville, Virginia, ABD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

stayed at this hotel for a convention which was at the Mascone center. It's 25 mins walking distance to the Union square. not the closest hotel but pretty decent one.
pros:
-staff was great.
-antique decoration gives a nice touch to the room
cons:
-many other options which are closer to the Union square
-the bath tub was strange

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground floor which was street levek and had much lessl iight compared tot he rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zumut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the inconvenience. Our hotel is located in a much safer side than the hotels closer to Union Square. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Hotels in SF are expensive and I found this one to be priced very cheap for what it is. I got a small suite here for the same price you'd pay for the Motel 6 many nights. There is some wear and tear in the rooms and the TV's are old tube TVs... but if you can get past that.. the place is great. High ceilings, tons of space, canopy bed, marble tub, bay window, couch and chairs, tv in both living room and bedroom area. The bedroom opened right up into the living room and had another opening out into the entrance area. This place feels likes its from a different era, the bed was amazing and its just a nice little gem waiting to be found. The location isn't great but its in a safe neighborhood and pretty close to the biggest attractions and close to lots of cool restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your great review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed here on the first part of our road trip. Good little hotel, quite old/retro decor inside. The room was nice, quite hot though with no air con so had the window open a lot! Bed was really high off the ground, luckily myself and my husband are quite tall so wasn't an issue but be warned!

Hotel is about a 20 minute walk from Union Square and buses run a couple of streets down that take you directly into Fishermans Wharf for only $2.

Barman at the hotel is fantastic. Makes amazing cocktails and is really friendly so definitely worth popping in there for a drink!

We paid £277 for 4 nights stay which was good value for money.

Room Tip: Apparently the fourth floor is haunted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz_1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We polarize for the bed being so high off the ground. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Nice hotel in a good location. Rooms were a good size and really enjoyed the character of the old building (4-poster beds, twin sinks etc). Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel has an old-time feel about it which is quite authentic, because it is old. People give it a hard time for being old, but that is the very thing that makes this place worth staying at. It is a little out of the way of any specific location, but it is well placed to easily get to a lot of good spots in San Francisco.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor, right on the corner or geary and sutter, and had no problems with traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpontaneousTravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We really are genuine. There are not a lot of hotels in San Francisco that give guests a 1906 feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Queen Anne Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
619 reviews
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
The Opal San Francisco
#98 of 227 in San Francisco
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Buchanan
#41 of 227 in San Francisco
365 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 227 in San Francisco
2,273 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#74 of 227 in San Francisco
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Property: Hotel Majestic
Address: 1500 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Majestic 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Majestic known for its enchanting romantic décor is a popular choice among visitors traveling to San Francisco. This classic European-inspired boutique hotel is just a short ten blocks away from the Union Square shops and restaurants of Downtown. Located in the Pacific Heights neighborhood, our quiet surroundings offer a conveniently located romantic escape from the many noises of Downtown San Francisco. It survived the Great Earthquake of 1906 and is rich with history, Edwardian architecture, and even ghost stories. At this boutique hotel in San Francisco, travel back in time, to the turn of the century! With royal bedding draped over the four-poster beds, plush carpeting, soft seating, accent furnishings, and beautiful artwork we aspire to provide only the best for our guests! Our bathrooms are just as unique as our guest rooms! Magenta marbled wash basins, brass faucets, extra large mirrors, antique decorative lighting, textured wall coverings, and of course claw-foot tubs with full-length goose neck showers to preserve the glamour of the Majestic. Recently renovated with modern comforts, all our guestrooms are equipped with flat screen televisions with premium channels, complimentary Wi-Fi, elevated pillow top beds with soft duvet covers and cool pillows, a snack basket and honor bar for purchase, hairdryer, electronic safe, iron and ironing boards, bath robes are just the standard amenities that come in each guest room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel San Francisco
Majestic San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing