We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away form that disgrace !!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #118 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stay away form that disgrace !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The location is good, but the rooms are dated and not modern.
The bed was very small uncomfortable and we both had back pain in the morning.
We got a room with no AC and when we complained, they gave us a fan. good joke. NOT RECOMMENDED !!
The hotel located 15 minutes from Union square and thats the only advantage i can think of.

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, General Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I apologize for your experience. I've mentioned this in the past since it is a common issue we do have . Hotel does not have A/C, although San Francisco tends to be quite cool at nights, and most hotels in SF do NOT have A/C. The Majestic in particular did have A/C in 2006, however, the previous owner decided to remove them because it made the exterior of this historic hotel look bad. Perhaps we should consider putting them back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    233
    93
    49
    57
See reviews for
71
275
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel isn't bad and it isn't good. Simply average. The hotel sits on a high spot in Sutter Street in an Edwardian era building post 1906. It is five minutes walk from Japan Town. Very presentable from the outside. Rooms (standard) are a reasonable size with a small window. The beds are smallish queen size beds so best to be on the slim side or simply lay like a mummy in the night. The hotel, bathroom and rooms are generally very clean. Our room was particularly hot. We left the small window constantly open for three days. No aircon inbrhesevold buildings. The staff are lax. They are not engaging and treat you with an attitude which is quite simply "we don't really care about you"bwithvthecexception to Mek the bell boy.
I last visited this hotel 19 years ago and loved it. Hence the reason why I rebooked. Back then it was simply of a different class, the staff were both friendly and professional, the rooms fresh and well appointed, and the restaurant great. This is no longer the case.
Will we ever stay here again? No.
Is it a bad hotel? No
Could it improve vastly? Yes
Price: $274 per night plus tax. This is not value for money in my mind. San Francisco hotels are generally over priced and full. The a majestic is however miles better than it's next door neighbour The Queen Anne at 1590.
Breakfast NOT included in that high price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savagemushrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I apologize for your experience. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Do not stay there. There is nothing majestic about this hotel. It STINKS! Literally and figuratively. It is run down, dirty, the only thing you want is leave the hotel as early as possible, and come back as late as possible. The location is far from prime. Expect at least 20 mn of walking to reach an interesting area, and a 10 dollar taxi ride from Union Square. Yes, the price is reasonable, but it comes at a much higher price. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tgabawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for your experience at the hotel. Some people would be better suited staying at a more commercialized hotel. This one is unique and historic. It was once built as a mansion for a railroad tycoon and senator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

San Fran is a very busy tourist spot so finding a hotel (especially during the LV Cup races) was never going to be easy but the Majestic seemed a decent price and the pictures gave the impression of "old world charm". The hotel was clean and the staff were overall helpful but "old world charm" gave way for "run down"... You start to feel like you're staying at your grandmother's house and not a hotel, the upholstery on the furniture is very worn, our mini bar was under the bathroom sink?! the safe didn't work etc etc etc... Overall this was a "it'll do" hotel... btw. you're walking distance from Japantown if you want to get a quick bite to eat

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubblesdv09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very soulful with antique furniture and nice set up. The neighbourhood is not much to experience, totally without the charm of the hotel. The front desk staff were allright, nice lady but one man was just awfull. Downgraded our room temporarily due to a clogged toilet and then said the downgrade would be permanent because he thought we wantet to keep the smaller room and that he had given our original room away to someone else. When seeing our outrage he gave us our room back, obviously lied, perheps couldnt be bothered to move us again. I dont recommend this hotel, but it could be an option for people having business in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaStockholm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I apologize with the mix up at the front desk. I will look at addressing this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is very old , it really needs to be restored. Carpet everywhere old-fashioned furniture and a very noisy AC. It is well connected to the city main attractions and close to a nice shopping and restaurants area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Booked about 9 months in advance. Upon arrival we was delighted to find out that we had been given a ground floor room (insert sarcastic tone). The room was dated & had a bizarre musky smell. I went into the bathroom to wash my face and to my horror there was a pubic hair on the front of my towel proudly waving at me in all its disgusting glory. Asked to move rooms, we (my fiancée and I) were told nothing could be done until the morning as they were full, which was fair. In the morning we were moved to the 5th floor, great!!! Only issue......the lift was broken! We then proceeded to carry our luggage, no assistance offered, up 5 flights of the narrowest stairs. I felt like a Sherpa! By the time I got to the top I wanted to plant a Union Jack and declare the mountain mine! The new room had the same funky smell & the bathroom looked like a horror scene. The lift was out of use fore our 4 night stay. If you're thinking of staying here, you're best grabbing a sleeping bag, a bottle of jack & hang with some of the local hobos round the corner instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lengthy reply. It seems your stay occurred over one year ago therefore I cannot follow up with the issues you've listed. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Queen Anne Hotel
#85 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#95 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
The Kimpton Buchanan
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
The Opal San Francisco
#100 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Property: Hotel Majestic
Address: 1500 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Majestic 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Majestic known for its enchanting romantic décor is a popular choice among visitors traveling to San Francisco. This classic European-inspired boutique hotel is just a short ten blocks away from the Union Square shops and restaurants of Downtown. Located in the Pacific Heights neighborhood, our quiet surroundings offer a conveniently located romantic escape from the many noises of Downtown San Francisco. It survived the Great Earthquake of 1906 and is rich with history, Edwardian architecture, and even ghost stories. At this boutique hotel in San Francisco, travel back in time, to the turn of the century! With royal bedding draped over the four-poster beds, plush carpeting, soft seating, accent furnishings, and beautiful artwork we aspire to provide only the best for our guests! Our bathrooms are just as unique as our guest rooms! Magenta marbled wash basins, brass faucets, extra large mirrors, antique decorative lighting, textured wall coverings, and of course claw-foot tubs with full-length goose neck showers to preserve the glamour of the Majestic. Recently renovated with modern comforts, all our guestrooms are equipped with flat screen televisions with premium channels, complimentary Wi-Fi, elevated pillow top beds with soft duvet covers and cool pillows, a snack basket and honor bar for purchase, hairdryer, electronic safe, iron and ironing boards, bath robes are just the standard amenities that come in each guest room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel San Francisco
Majestic San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing