We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned Boutique Hotel in Japan Town”
Review of Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #119 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I found the hotel to be much nicer in appearance than the online photos. Quiant lobby, somewhat friendly staff, friendly and quiet bar. The rooms were small, but nicely appointed and clean. The satellite tv , fridge, and free wifi as a nice amenity. The hotel was in walking distance to public transportation and Union Square was 30 minute walk. Whole Foods is 3 blocks away, a great Udon Noodle Sushi place around the corner, Kaka, was amazing and a lucky find. Unfortunatly the beds were horribly uncomfortable. My back was stiff and aching for the 3 days we stayed. They were also very high off the ground and I am of average height and had to jump to get into them. I would stay again if the beds were changed, but the hard mattress was awful and I had to get my back worked on when I returned home. Getting a good night's sleep is very important and myself and my travel companion did not sleep well due to discomfort. Otherwise, a nice atmosphere and old world charm.

Room Tip: 5th floor was just fine, but if all the beds are hard and you need comfort stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene_OregonJesbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. I apologize that the mattresses were not comfortable to you. I will mention they are only a few months old and perhaps will get "broken in" soon. Keeping guest's comfort in mind, I selected the best bed I could.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 621 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nice hotel with alot of old world character in a very nice area. Only 5 minute walk to Japantown and Filmore St and about 15/20 minute walk to Union Square. Staff were a little disinterested but rooms were clean. The bed was quite hard(which i like but my wife found a little uncomfortable). I would recommend this hotel and would use this hotel when I return to San Francisco

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
1  Thank mejoc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, General Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. I apologize you found the bed a little hard. We just bought these beautiful new mattresses and they are "firm" pillow-tops. I believe most guests I interviewed believed a firm mattress would be more relaxing. Of course, there are the exceptions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We've stayed here a number of times. The first was in a corner suite with a sitting area and fireplace. Second time with very last minute reservations we obtained a much smaller room, still comfortable. If you've read any other history or reviews perhaps you already know this is the former home of silent film star Lillian Gish 1893-1993. Or that its a favorite haunt of modern day actor, Nicolas Cage. We'd heard its haunted but slept very well with no disturbances.

The rooms with 4 posters and claw foot tubs are very Romantic, I highly recommend them for their lovely antique furniture and a dark ambiance.

The dining room is quite pleasant, artwork there Interesting, the food Excellent; one of the world's largest African butterfly collections is colorfully displayed in the bar area.

Staff at this hotel have been schooled in the highest quality customer service, the bartender is very skilled as well. We Always enjoy staying here!

Room Tip: This is so easy to find off Lomard St @ 15th and Sutter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Macie_and_Garhett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

THANK YOU FOR SUCH A WONDERFUL REVIEW. I'm sooo happy you had a great stay with us! Guests like you make it worth while being in the hotel industry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I loved it! From the valet parking to everything being original 100 year old styling....The mattresses were new though, and oh so comfy! The restaurant on site was beautiful and the service was great... but the food was good... not excellent. The staff throughout the building were all very kind and helpful as well as historically informative. I would recommend it and possibly return again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you Suzanne for you fantastic review! I would love to meet you upon your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Every anniversary we like to go away and we look for interesting places to stay. This year we went with Hotel Majestic.

I was attracted to the look of the hotel. We didnt want to stay where EVERYONE stays... chain hotels are NOT our thing. We love boutique hotels and boy was this one of those! Amazing place. Its beautiful charm. The hotels restaurant was gorgeous! we were served by a wonderful waitress and the food was amazing!

our hotel room was on the first floor tucked in the corner. We loved the fireplace in our room and the vintage furniture 4 post bed and claw foot tub and tile from the victorian era.

With that said, we were a little freaked out as we heard the hotel was haunted. The first night I couldnt sleep because of the stories we had heard, but the next night I was out like a light! Great location, great price, great experience!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vivian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Vivian,

Terribly sorry you couldn't sleep at night due to our "friendly" ghosts. don't worry the ghost stays in the room "407" according to the stories. Love it or hate it, it's part of the 100+ year history of the hotel. I personally haven't heard/seen any ghosts though.

Still delightedly that you loved our hotel so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is better than what I had expected. The room is small but I guess is good for a hotel in downtown sf?!? Just a reminder if u think that there is a stink on the sheet, make sure is not a shadow from the light first before u go down to the receptionist. The location is good; a friend said that is not in a bad area of downtown. I don't really have any compliant about the hotel except, from what I could see and maybe is just my room that there are only two outlets in the bathroom; good luck if u have a lot of electronics that need to be charged. Also maybe the hotel is older; they don't have good sound insulation. I didn't really encounter the sevice here but seems like they are nice people.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catwoman3713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I landed a Hotel Majestic reservation from Priceline. This is a retroactive post as I kept my notes on the hotel from the note app I had on my phone. I stayed here August 15-18, 2012. I stayed in room 215 which faced the front of the hotel, Sutter Street. If you’re a light sleeper, bring earplugs, as you hear all the street traffic out front. This hotel is ok for a short stay. Not recommended for lengthy stays. It’s a somewhat better than a shared hostel.

The Good:
The Hotel Majestic is in a great location; t’s close to Japantown (walking distance) and not too far from Union Square.

It’s also close to major bus lines like the 38 Geary which is great for getting around the city.

There is wifi internet access in rooms.

The Meh:
If you’re used to ‘business class’ travel then you’ll find the furnishings and decor old and in need of updating/replacement.

The main lobby/reception area has a computer station and printer which I used to print receipts and confirmations for tours and such, but be forewarned, it’s not very private. The Lobby sitting area is small but generally underused.

My room was small but cozy for one person, I think sharing the room would move this to the “too small” category.

The hotel staff are generally helpful with your requests, but for the most part they are mainly students just earning their keep. The housekeeping staff are friendly.

The Bad:
As mentioned, my room was noisy. Not because of my neighbours, but you could hear outside traffic all the time.

No breakfast included. There was complimentary coffee (I think) at the side of the bar at the entrance to the restaurant. I helped myself and no one said anything.

I was put off by what looked like vomit stains on one of the white curtains by the window. That cast heavy doubt on the cleanliness of the rest of the room so I tossed aside the top blanket and roll cushions into the closet.

As there was no built-in closet in the room there was a standing wardrobe which was rickety and shaky. Not that you’ll be bringing heavy winter coats on your trip, but an fyi in case you’re travelling with suits and heavy clothing for formal events.

As a female, I immediately noticed that there’s not enough hooks or racks in the bathroom. Here’s a tip for the hotel, if you want I conserve on laundry for towels, how about installing some more hooks and rails so that they can be dried properly & reused?

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room that doesn't face the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank herroyalmelness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review. We try to accommodate all guests as best we can. I will definitely comb through all the details and make sure they are taken care of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Queen Anne Hotel
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
655 reviews
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,375 reviews
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
412 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Address: 1500 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $125 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Majestic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Majestic known for its enchanting romantic décor is a popular choice among visitors traveling to San Francisco. This classic European-inspired boutique hotel is just a short ten blocks away from the Union Square shops and restaurants of Downtown. Located in the Pacific Heights neighborhood, our quiet surroundings offer a conveniently located romantic escape from the many noises of Downtown San Francisco. It survived the Great Earthquake of 1906 and is rich with history, Edwardian architecture, and even ghost stories. At this boutique hotel in San Francisco, travel back in time, to the turn of the century! With royal bedding draped over the four-poster beds, plush carpeting, soft seating, accent furnishings, and beautiful artwork we aspire to provide only the best for our guests! Our bathrooms are just as unique as our guest rooms! Magenta marbled wash basins, brass faucets, extra large mirrors, antique decorative lighting, textured wall coverings, and of course claw-foot tubs with full-length goose neck showers to preserve the glamour of the Majestic. Recently renovated with modern comforts, all our guestrooms are equipped with flat screen televisions with premium channels, complimentary Wi-Fi, elevated pillow top beds with soft duvet covers and cool pillows, a snack basket and honor bar for purchase, hairdryer, electronic safe, iron and ironing boards, bath robes are just the standard amenities that come in each guest room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel San Francisco
Majestic San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing