We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”
Review of Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #119 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I managed to book this hotel through LuxuryLink.com back in 2006. My bid was for a normal room but the hotel was gracious enough to upgrade our family to a beautiful suite. The hotel was undergoing some renovation at the time so there was a bit of noise due to the contractors' equipment. Unfortunately, we did not get to enjoy the restaurant dining area as it was the subject of the renovation. We had to have our breakfast in what seemed to be a meeting room of some sort. The hotel is comfortably located in an area where walking the streets at night proved to be quite an experience. Having visited San Francisco from my home in Portugal but having been raised in California, I was accustom to night critters roaming about. My companion was not and he was amazed to see raccoons trying to get into trash cans on the street. All in all a really good time and worth another stay!

Room Tip: Try and get upgraded if you can, it is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starrider3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the inconveniences. Our restaurant is renovated and everyone enjoys dining there. Hope to see you soon and try our meals in our restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 632 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is old and looks old. The rooms are typically ancient. I had an extra bed in my room, I think it should have been tidied before the arrival but obviously it hadn't been done. There is only one lift and it takes ages to come! Anyway, it was still clean, the location is good because it allows you to go to different parts of San Francisco using the public transports. I found the employees not that eager to help, every time I asked for help or any information, I felt like I was bothering them, I nearly felt sorry to ask them for help! I don't think I'd go back there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2014

We apologize for the inconvenience. Our staff is always willing to help. They love helping our guests get around the area so they can enjoy their trip instead of worrying about getting lost. Our hotel is a short walk to Union Square and all the busy streets. We are located in a quieter, safer area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Was booked through Priceline, so the hotel was a most pleasant surprise. The hotel is a gem from yesteryear. If you are a traveller who likes cookiecutter, pristine digs like Marriott, then this is not for you. Instead, one finds a hotel with charm, character and history. The quaint elevator is a work of art painted in 1924. The furnishings and fixtures are kitchy, fun and unique. OK, so a carpet may be a little frayed, but the bed was wonderful. The rooms are quite small, almost European, but quite fun for the two of us.

The staff went out of their way to be pleasant. I had to print quite a few documents; I asked if I could pay for them, but the front desk person said that it was the hotel's pleasure to make the service available to me.

The Butterfly Bar was great, except for the TV going.

All in all, quite special.

Room Tip: Top floor as the floorboards may be squeaky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellingham_WAEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us! We appreciate that you enjoyed our hotel and the beautiful decorations we included for our guests. We are always delighted to help our guests in any way possible. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel has all the old world charm advertised but we could have done without the water stained sheets! The hotel is slightly out of the centre but on transport routes and not that far to walk either. The valet parking is also really useful.
The barman is a real character but it doesn't open on sundays.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilacstranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

Thank you for staying us. We are glad that you liked our hotel. We apologize about the water stained sheets. We will most definitely look most carefully at our bed sheets before we put them on. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Avoid. Upon entering the hotel you are overwhelmed by the smell of curry. Then you get on the only elevator which is old, small and dirty. There is old, dirty and smelly carpeting everywhere. This is not antique old-world charm, it's neglect. Entering my first room I noticed the bedding and pillowcases had very noticeable yellowish stains (how old are these?). I requested that they change everything, but since the entire housekeeping staff already being gone for the day (at 6pm) they assigned me to another room. This one had a clean bed at least. The next evening I noticed the bed was higher (new mattress, no ladder provided, so I have to jump up to get on the bed). Windows open upwards and can't stay open. They don't close properly so there is lots of street noise. Location is not great either, long walk from a muni or bart station.
I checked out a day earlier even though my stay was prepaid because I hated this place.

Room Tip: Avoid unless you absolutely love antique, run down and possibly moldy places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaxxMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

We apologize for your inconveniences and that you felt that way. I am sure that our hotel and rooms are always clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was my first visit to San Francisco and the stay was made even better with the stay at Hotel Majestic. An old fashioned hotel with a history. I would definitely come back. The service was great too.
It's easy reach to the tourist 33-43 piers, get a day bus pass or three day one. This allows entitlement to all the MUNI buses and cable buses. This is a good half hour walk. Downtown is about a fifteen minute walk.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brummieboy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

this hotel needs to train their employees better. the front desk was awful! the first room had broken matress, the front desk sent someone up to check. the other employee told the front desk that the matress was indeed broken. the front desk didnt want switch us to another room until the other employee advocated for us. then, at check out, the same guy on the front desk wasnt willing to print us a copy of reciept. he argued with us for 5 min just for a copy of reciept. moreover, the maid in our room was so lazy. she only made our bed n replenish the towels. all the garbage we had on the table was left at where it was. very disappointed about this hotel. will never visit again!

1  Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

We apologize for the inconveniences. I am sure that our staff members are always doing their job with a smile. None of our mattresses were broken and we always give our guests their reciepts with out any trouble.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Queen Anne Hotel
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
658 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#88 of 230 in San Francisco
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#123 of 230 in San Francisco
1,293 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Address: 1500 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $127 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Majestic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Majestic known for its enchanting romantic décor is a popular choice among visitors traveling to San Francisco. This classic European-inspired boutique hotel is just a short ten blocks away from the Union Square shops and restaurants of Downtown. Located in the Pacific Heights neighborhood, our quiet surroundings offer a conveniently located romantic escape from the many noises of Downtown San Francisco. It survived the Great Earthquake of 1906 and is rich with history, Edwardian architecture, and even ghost stories. At this boutique hotel in San Francisco, travel back in time, to the turn of the century! With royal bedding draped over the four-poster beds, plush carpeting, soft seating, accent furnishings, and beautiful artwork we aspire to provide only the best for our guests! Our bathrooms are just as unique as our guest rooms! Magenta marbled wash basins, brass faucets, extra large mirrors, antique decorative lighting, textured wall coverings, and of course claw-foot tubs with full-length goose neck showers to preserve the glamour of the Majestic. Recently renovated with modern comforts, all our guestrooms are equipped with flat screen televisions with premium channels, complimentary Wi-Fi, elevated pillow top beds with soft duvet covers and cool pillows, a snack basket and honor bar for purchase, hairdryer, electronic safe, iron and ironing boards, bath robes are just the standard amenities that come in each guest room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel San Francisco
Majestic San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing