We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't bother”
Review of Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #119 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed November 10, 2012

i went to san francisco to visit and for my 58th birthday. i was staying one week.I requested a duiet room with a view. my view was a fire escape to an alley. The staff was some of the unfriendliest and least accommadating. There were about 3 people hanging at the desk , not one of them ever said "good morning", or anything for that matter. The room was dark, un-inviting with peeling wallpaper, ripped unmatching lamp shades and for the price of the room the items in the snack basket should have been complimetary . The only good thing about this hotel is the shower. I think that because I was traveling alone I was treated differently. I will never stay here again

Room Tip: ask in advance for higher floor as floors squeek and people above you can be heard. choose a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

We apologize that you felt this way, and did not get a room with a view. We were most likely sold our of the rooms facing the street. We could have given you a room with a view if you requested it ahead of time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 632 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is in a decent location - only a short walk to Japantown. The hotel has been around for a long time, and the rooms are probably in need of some renovation/redecorating. It does have some charm, though. Our room suited us, but there were some things which I missed...notably the presence of a coffee maker, and the lack of water pressure for the shower. On a more positive note, the restaurant in the hotel is very, very nice and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treeshaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the shower head and the coffee maker. We have coffee in the morning but not in every room, but in the restaurant area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We got this deal on priceline, which was a little bit disappointing. The location was ok, near the Japan town. The furniture is classic but old. The room is too small, and there is no customer service. Parking was expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elise317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

We apologize for your inconveniences. We are located by Japantown and can take one bus ride to Union Square and all your destinations . Our hotel is historic with a lot of background not a modern hotel. Our front desks help all of our guests in need and San Francisco is really expensive. We have an outside service parking, so we do not control the parking prices like many of the other hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Since we have not traveled to San Francisco in many years, I thought it would be great to attend an Opera and Symphony performance. I searched for many hotels within a short walk near the Cultural District. We chose Hotel Majestic, 1500 Sutter Street.
What a Disappontment this place is/was. I am writing this on our final hours here.
This hotel is located at an intersection horribly active all day long with buses, cars, trucks and screaming pedestrians. There is no air conditioning. The restaurant/bar is only open between 5 pm and shuts pronto at 9pm. They advertise room service. I thought it would be wonderful to get tea and a muffin. Just called room service. They have no Room Service on Mondays!!! We cannot wait to get away from this place. What a dreadfully-rundown structure. The rooms were last fitted in 1985. They have a history sheet that states current San Fran Mayor, Willie Brown stays there. HE has not been Mayor for countless years. Do Not Choose this establishment.

Room Tip: Choose a Marriott or Hilton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jhuredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

We apologize for the inconveniences. We are located in San Francisco, a very busy city like New York. There is not quiet place in San Francisco. The only quiet places are in South San Francisco which is about 20 minutes ride from the heart of San Francisco. Our hotel is not rundown. We have an old world theme hotel that many people enjoy staying in because of the beautiful old fashion decorations. It is different from the hotels in San Fran. The Hilton and Marriott are modern , brand new hotels that do not have the same uniqueness as The Majestic. The history sheet, called for a reason, was from when Willie Brown was the mayor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

For a really old hotel it is in very good condition. Some of the reviews say that it's run down and the wallpapers falling off but it is not half as bad as everyone makes it to be. But honestly I don't think that really matters seeing it was built in 1902. If you are looking for a hotel with a different feel to it this is the one. It definitely makes you feel like your back in the 1900's. My boyfriend and I stayed in a king suite and only paid $180. Keep in mind that included a beautiful room and 24 hour valet parking. Not to mention it was in a decent neighborhood. I don't have one negative thing to say about this beautiful hotel! I would most certainly stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jojos-92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and appreciating our beautiful hotel. We are glad that you understand and feel the old fashion decorations of our hotel. Many other hotels are much more expensive and our neighborhood is safer than the others. See you soon!:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I visited for 1 week in Sep 2012 on business.
The room was clean and pretty large and serviced promptly.
This is my second visit to the hotel.

Upsides -
restuarant and bar staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
food in the restuarant is good quality and good value. The breakfasts in particular are pretty good ($15 for unlimited coffee, juice, water, 2 eggs, bacon, hashed potato, toast and jam which was pretty filling.
clean room.
Good location - sutter to downtown is approx 30 min walk (on the flat).


Downsides are
that the upstream bandwidth isn't good enough for Skyping and they don't allow international calls from the room. This is truely odd.
the restuarant and bar are closed on Sunday and Monday. As a business traveller these are actually the times I need the service the most (as the rest of the week I am probably out with clients/associates).
The hotel needs triple glazing as it is a bit noisy due to the traffic noise - that said, it is quieter than many I have stayed in. Bring ear plugs for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkDReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

Thank you for staying with us for your second time around! We are glad that you came back. We are located in San Fran so there is no escaping the buy street noises. We apologize for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I booked this hotel through Priceline for a rate of $150 a night. I was very hesitant because it didn't look very nice on the website. I was surprised though. While the hotel is very eclectic and old, it is nice and clean and a very good deal. Our room was a queen room that was surprisingly big. It had a window unit AC that worked well. My only complaint was the claw foot tub in the bathroom - the shower curtain stuck to me on both sides the whole time and it was very unpleasant. The rooms had a nice TV and a wardrobe as well.

Other rooms in San Fran for this weekend we went were $400 and up. This hotel is well located (not great but within walking distance of some things) and was clean and the staff was very friendly. I would recommend for budget travelers looking for a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldengirl217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the inconveniences. San Francisco is very expensive which a lot of tourists are attracted to. We are walking distance and if our guests want to save their energy for the day ahead of them or a day well spent, public transportation always available across the street. Many people choose this option since it is difficult to find parking spots in our city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Queen Anne Hotel
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
658 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#88 of 230 in San Francisco
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#123 of 230 in San Francisco
1,293 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Address: 1500 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $127 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Majestic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Majestic known for its enchanting romantic décor is a popular choice among visitors traveling to San Francisco. This classic European-inspired boutique hotel is just a short ten blocks away from the Union Square shops and restaurants of Downtown. Located in the Pacific Heights neighborhood, our quiet surroundings offer a conveniently located romantic escape from the many noises of Downtown San Francisco. It survived the Great Earthquake of 1906 and is rich with history, Edwardian architecture, and even ghost stories. At this boutique hotel in San Francisco, travel back in time, to the turn of the century! With royal bedding draped over the four-poster beds, plush carpeting, soft seating, accent furnishings, and beautiful artwork we aspire to provide only the best for our guests! Our bathrooms are just as unique as our guest rooms! Magenta marbled wash basins, brass faucets, extra large mirrors, antique decorative lighting, textured wall coverings, and of course claw-foot tubs with full-length goose neck showers to preserve the glamour of the Majestic. Recently renovated with modern comforts, all our guestrooms are equipped with flat screen televisions with premium channels, complimentary Wi-Fi, elevated pillow top beds with soft duvet covers and cool pillows, a snack basket and honor bar for purchase, hairdryer, electronic safe, iron and ironing boards, bath robes are just the standard amenities that come in each guest room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel San Francisco
Majestic San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing