We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy at the inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #5 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 7, 2007

We booked the inn at union square after reading rewiews and decided we wanted to live close to union square. I´m really happy with our choise.The hotel is a little small but the room was really big and clean. It was really beatuiful actually. Big TV, a nice sofa and a great bed. Not mutch of wiew though. The breakfastroom was quite small but there was never any problems and it was never full. Great breakfast with alot of choises. Morningpaper every day, water and chocolate in the afternoon, wine and cheese in the evening and cookies in the night. Free internet and great staff.
Union square is a great location, it´s in the middle of everything and always alot of people around. We had rented a car at avis in LA and we dropped it of at Avis just across the street from the inn.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jessib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,549 - 1,555 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2007

Yes, it's narrow and the rooms are on the tiny side (at least ours was!), but lovely and enjoyable nonetheless. Staff was friendly and helpful - I'm going to sound ancient here, but it was surprising given their ubiquitous youth in which one might expect indifference or surliness, but they were all uniformly polite and service-driven. Room decor was tasteful, the bed and chairs comfortable and upholstered/covered in nice fabrics, the TV extra nice. No A/C, but with the fan on and the window wide open it was just right. That our window faced onto a brick wall was actually a plus in leaving it open with the curtains pulled aside all night. Was pleasantly surprised that street noise did not bother us in the least for sleeping. Super-strong shower with plenty of immediate hot water. Hairdryer, iron, robes, Aveda toiletries, water and chocolates are provided. Breakfasts were just enough choice - fruit, cereal, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, juice and coffee. Was surprised how good the wine was during the afternoon wine and cheese. Overall a lovely experience!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank la_bella_fortuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We booked a Queen room, which was the least expensive available. When we arrived we happily found we had a king bed. The room was small but comfortable. There is no AC but a ceiling fan and the windows open. The view was of a brick wall, which I am sure all the rooms have because of the way it is set up, but it was quiet. We could hear the bell of the cable car and that was cool! Very San Francisco! The bathroom was small with a tiny stall shower (not for the extra large types) with occasional hot/cold blasts, but great water pressure. Great bed and linens with down comforter and pillows. Very clean and classy.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oregonian4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2007

The Inn at Union Square was an excellent hotel for our recent vacation. Some of the best aspects included:

-Free breakfast every morning (bagels, fruit, yogurt, juice, etc.)
-Excellent location near Union Square, Theater District, Chinatown, etc.
-Cable car stop less than 1 minute walk on the corner of Post and Powell
-Evening turn down service (with chocolate and water)
-Friendly, helpful staff
-Free wireless internet
-Recently remodeled

The only negatives were that the rooms were a bit on the small size and that there was no microwave/refrigerator in the room but there was one in the main lobby of our floor that we could use.

I would highly recommend The Inn at Union Square for anyone travelling to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank crussell6481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2007

My husband & I don't get away very often so we wanted somewhere special to stay on our weekend away. We upgraded to the jr. suite and loved it. We have vowed to stay at the Inn every time we visit San Fran. The staff was WONDERFUL! They catered to our every need and even left some cookies in our room for us when they knew we would be out for a late night. Can't say enough about this truely special hotel. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank suznrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

As a result of reading good reviews we decided to stay at this lovely hotel for four nights at the end of a five week holiday across Asia, Europe and the USA. We were not disappointed and found this place to be top notch. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet and recently redecorated very nicely indeed. We loved the wine and cheese each evening and the breakfasts served in the little end area on various floors. A very nice touch. On top of this we were right in the heart of the City with great restaurants and theatres close by. This was a fantastic place in which to end our holiday. The staff were very friendly and could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Tasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Smallish, well-run hotel just off Union Square. There are not many amenities and limited communal space but this isn't really an issue given the location. Our room had been recently refurbished and was well-sized - decent bed too. Very helpful staff. Warmly recommended for short breaks (business or pleasure) in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Seascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,574 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#17 of 231 in San Francisco
693 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#4 of 231 in San Francisco
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 231 in San Francisco
1,527 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 231 in San Francisco
5,395 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $234 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing