We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful flashback”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #4 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We hadn't been back to this city by the bay in decades. Got off the BART near Union Square and did some window shopping as we walked a few blocks to the Inn.
Great hospitality in a lovely setting in a vibrant city that many leave their hearts in. Once you visit you'll understand why. The Inn is a perfect fit downtown and they certainly compliment each other. Staff is very attentive and caring, always trying to make sure you're more than just happy.
Had our rental car delivered here by the concierge from another hotel where we'd stayed on our visit to Denver, Co. A mid size SUV/crossover was perfect.
So in the morning we hit the road and took Geary uptown to the Golden Gate Bridge, across it to GG Park and then got back on it to past where the Haight Ashbury district is to Gough St. to Bayshore freeway (101) toward Menlo Park to visit our friends from Stanford U from way back in the 70's. Man was it all coming back in waves, nice tidal waves of a flood of memories.
Anyway back at the Inn, very quaint and comfortable we got lighter and freshened up and got on the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf and a variety of restaurants/nightlife. Bit pricey, so off we went to China Town near Bush and Powell and chowed down.
Spent the next three days there and had a blast before heading back to Menlo Park to our friends Ivan and Paola who put us up for the remainder of our holiday. Very gracious couple from Europe.
Recommend the Inn @ Union Square to everyone. Thanks to all there w/o dropping names, the list is too long and deserving. Keep up the great work, and know that professionals like you make it all the more special! I'll be back, as the big fella said.

Room Tip: Any room with a view above 4th floor. SF is a European/Spanish/Italian style large and beautiful cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arun s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 1,653 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

There's nowhere else I would stay in San Fran after discovering The Inn. I would forgo ample room space for a beautiful and personal experience here as the people who run the hotel are absolutely wonderful. My husband and I had a delightful time here in the company of Wayne and his colleagues who went above and beyond to make our stay simply sublime. On the first leg of our trip we stayed for 2 nights before heading to Yosemite and even though The Inn was fully booked during that time, they offered to store our luggage until we returned. With quiet lovely rooms kept in excellent condition and a superbly central location, this is definitely one of the best-run hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank S-MyinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear S-Myin,
Thank you so much for the excellent review. The pleasure was all ours as we truly enjoyed having you as our guests during your stay in San Francisco. We pride ourselves on providing each guest with a personalized experience from sightseeing and dinner recommendations to the added little extras that the staff do to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable.
We sincerely hope to see you soon when travels return you to the city.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel has a lot of quaint character. The front desk staff was exceptional. The rooms and hallways are small but very well appointed and the beds very comfortable. They have a continental breakfast, fresh,warm cookies in the evening and complimentary newspaper in the morning. Also our room was very quiet compared to a lot of hotels we have stayed in while visiting SF. We even slept with our windows open. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a quiet reprieve from the busy city, while it is still in the heart of it. Easy walking distance to most anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Terri R,
Thank you so much for the excellent 5-star review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our quiet "reprieve" just off Union Square as well as our well-appointed rooms with comfortable beds. We appreciate your mention of our exceptional staff and, oh yes, our fresh baked cookies each evening. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed for four nights in June - this was our first time in San Francisco and we wanted to see as much as possible! The hotel was a great place to return to after a busy day... we loved it! The rooms were furnished to a good standard and the staff were very helpful, particularly a lovely lady called Amber. A unique feature was the complimentary wine and nibbles at 5.00 pm. This was the catalyst by which we met many other guests from all over the world. The hotel is in an excellent location with Union Square a few metres away - you hear the bells of the cable cars going by on Powell on the corner. We were lucky and had a street view on the 4th floor. The hotel is good for shopping but you have to go a little way to find a wider range of restaurants. Try the diner (Lou's) just up Powell St. or walk to China Town. We were in the USA to celebrate my 60th birthday. We may go back to San Francisco (there's so much to see and do). I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Highlights for us - Alcatraz, Big Bus Tour, De Jueng Art Gallery, Pier 39, Long Beach area, Japanese Garden, eating on Fishermans wharf, cable cars and cable car museum.

Room Tip: Room 401 had a lounge with street view but the bedroom was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Martin M.,
We sincerely appreciate your kind review and, of course, your patronage of the Inn at Union Square. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our central location, friendly and helpful staff, and our complimentary wine hour that afforded you the opportunity to meet your fellow travelers. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon, perhaps for your 61st birthday!

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a GREAT little hotel. Slap bang in the middle of the high end shopping area and across the road from Union Square and the cable car pick up point. The small touches that the hotel offered were very generous and unexpected. Free breakfast, free in- room WiFi, cheese and wine every evening from 5.30-7.30 and home made cookies at 8pm. The staff are really friendly and knowledgable. We dealt with Ann and Omar and could not fault their service. We split our stay in to 3 nights and then 2 nights as we went to Yosemite National Park for one night and the hotel was more than happy to store our luggage, as we were only allowed to take a backpack to Yosemite. I would definitely stay here again and have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SMF2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and recent patronage of the Inn at Union Square. We are glad to hear how much you enjoyed our special extras such as complimentary breakfast, evening wine hour, WiFi, and our friendly, helpful staff. On behalf of Ann, Omar and the rest of our team at the Inn at Union Square, we thank you for recommending the Inn and hope to see you again soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Perfect location and lovely, helpful, knowledgable, professional staff. Rooms were great and overall experience was faultless. Cannot recommend enough. Thank you to the staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MelRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Tucked away from the bustle, yet steps to Union Square, shopping and cable cars, The Inn at Union Square is a welcome retreat boasting 30 charming rooms, breakfast in the morning and wine & cheese to enjoy at the end of the day. We loved the ambiance of this charming Inn and the staff made our stay that much more enjoyable. The location could not be more convenient. This is our new go-to hotel when staying in the city.

Room Tip: We had a very comfortable queen bedded room with a sitting area. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,366 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,248 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
510 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $220 - $1,484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing