We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$175
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$267
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$184
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$491
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$228
$195
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
$269
$259
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$240
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$257
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$408
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,751)
Filter reviews
1,751 results
Traveler rating
1,227
416
77
19
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,227
416
77
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesecontinental breakfastunion squareother guestsevening cookiesfreshly baked cookieswarm cookiessmall hotelboutique hotelhard boiled eggsyogurtbrick wallevening winepost streetceiling fansitting areaperfect location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
701 - 706 of 1,751 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn at union Square. The inn is centrally located with access to the Powell/Market street car. The F antique car was minutes away on Zmarket street accessing all of Fisherman's Warf. Although no view outside of our window, in interior is thoroughly clean and impressive. Free wireless internet is provided. A nice continental breakfast is provided free each morning. There is also a free wine and cheese reception each evening. Turn down bed service is provided each night along with chocolates at bedside. Two bottles of water are left each night for your next days adventures. If you are looking for a massive hotel lobby, then this inn is not for you. If you appreciate all of the above plus a friendly and helpful staff, stay here, you won"t regret it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Dean J.,
We appreciate your business and your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are glad to hear how our friendly and helpful service, central location and added amenities such as evening wine hour and complimentary breakfast enhanced your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and often.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Firstly, the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. This was our first night in the states and the City and they were helpful with directions and advice.

Hotel rooms were very pretty, and our fears of the room being small due to the "boutique" status were unfounded, as there was plenty of room for a couple on a 3 night stay.
While the hotel is older- original San Francisco design (but that is part of its appeal) it was currently being freshened up with new paint. Our room itself was in excellent condition. The bed and mountain of pillows felt like heaven after a 14 hour flight!
The hotel also has complimentary wifi and the daily newspaper at your door.

The location was convenient as close to Union square and the travel options near by. A taxi cost around $50 from the airport.

Every morning there was a complimentary breakfast spread on the 3rd and 5th floors. This included pastries, cereal, eggs, yogurt, muffins, fruit and drinks. You could also make your own takeaway coffee to start your day.

All the tours we took, picked us up straight in front of the hotel and the staff were able to call and confirm all our bookings to reassure my panicking husband!

We would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco on vacation and thank the attentive staff at The Inn for making our first nights in the USA so enjoyable.

Room Tip: For reference, we had room 405. Not much of a view, but that's not why your'e here, is it?
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpperMiddleBogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear UpperMiddleBogan,
Thank you for such a wonderful 5-star review of our hotel! We are so pleased to hear how your experience at the Inn at Union Square started your holiday off on such a positive note. We strive to provide each guest with a personalized, exceptional experience delivered by friendly and accommodating staff. As you mentioned, our hotel is conveniently situated near Union Square and public transportation, making it the perfect option for exploring the city. We hope the rest of your travels went well and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have stayed in many hotels throughout United States and the Inn at Union Square has to be one of the best. What draws me to the hotel are the staff and the amenities. The staff are never cranky and always willing to go that extra step to help. They also follow-up to get your opinion. I am a person who likes a morning paper, a fresh cup of coffee and not having to leave the hotel to find a place for breakfast. The expanded breakfast at the Inn meets easily all these requirements from juices, baked goods, cold cereals, yogurt and hard-boiled eggs. During the rest of the day you can have coffee/tea and in the early evening wine, sodas and a cheese tray are served. All gratis. Given its location in the heart of San Francisco I could not ask for more.

Room Tip: Each room seems to be unique so ask to see a few - if some are available when you arrive.
Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

very nice stay right off union square in downtown san francisco. am breakfast and pm wine tasting a nice touch. close to excellent fine dining establishments and shopping. would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomandpeggyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear tomandpeggyl,
We sincerely thank you for your recent stay and kind review. We appreciate your comments regarding our central location near Union Square, our complimentary breakfast and our evening wine hour. Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in hotels all over the world from 5 star to budget and this is one of the best places I've ever been. The reason for that is the hospitality.

All of the staff at this hotel could not have been more friendly or helpful - from the cleaners to the Innkeeper.

Every evening you can help yourself to wine and snacks which is a great opportunity to chat to other guests.

Wayne, the Innkeeper, made loads of recommendations for the rest of our trip which are proving to be really helpful. I felt he really cared about making sure our California holiday was a success - talk about going the extra mile for guests!

Our room was a really good size and extremely well appointed with lovely decor. Aveda toiletries were great!

If the want a big corporate hotel that looks and feels like every other big corporate hotel then this probably isn't for you. If you want a boutique hotel with charm and character, wonderful hospitality and great location then don't hesitate to book this place!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ellie_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews