We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #5 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lincoln, California
1 review
“Great experience!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel after a spur of the moment decision to make a weekend getaway. Great/ lucky choice!! Small but clean and quaint. We were upgraded to a "superior" room which supposedly means "larger" on 4th floor. Great breakfast selection included in price. Ideal location in Union Square. Staff was very accommodating and helpful; would stay again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynnscorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    383
    67
    19
    8
See reviews for
168
984
89
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Small, but exceptional property in the heart of Union Square. Lovely rooms with lots of space when compared to other SF hotels. What made it special? Wine tasting with snacks, fresh baked cookies at night, super continental breakfast, free internet, and free bottled water in rooms! Our King-size room was immaculate and bed oh so comfy. Close to many great stores and yummy restaurants. Valet was $39/day. We will be back!

Room Tip: No view from our room on 5th floor, but it did not matter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coopchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate the kind comments regarding your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for all our guests; from the complimentary breakfast and evening wine hour to the fresh baked cookies and complimentary WiFi. We are also glad to hear how our central location enhanced your visit to San Francisco. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skowhegan, Maine
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had only a one night stay in Feb. with not much knowledge of the city and we felt so welcomed from the moment we stepped in. The wine tasting with snacks was very good and before leaving for dinner we could smell the cookies baking. We arrived back to the hotel late and happily there were a few cookies left to enjoy! We checked out in the morning (they did offer us later check-out) but we were excited to see as much of the city we could before flying out in the evening. They kept our bags safe after check out, arranged transportation to the airport and invited us to come back at any time if we needed a rest or to partake of the wine tasting. All staff was exceptional and extremely helpful with directions as to how to navigate the city. We had a great time!
I do not understand the lesser reviews of this Inn. Our room did have climate control, there was no noise (perhaps we were sheltered per location?) the room was very clean and comfortable, and the meeting of other people in the common areas was pleasurable. This was truly an Inn… striving to make your stay homey and pleasurable. We loved it and will definitely book here upon return… don’t need to try out anything else.
Inn at Union Square… you are awesome and thank you for such a wonderful experience in the short time we had in your city!
Bill & Cheryl Holmes

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Holmes,
At the Inn at Union Square, we think our guests are "awesome" and truly enjoy taking personal care of each of our visitors. We appreciate your 5-star review and your kind comments regarding your stay. We are glad to hear how you enjoyed meeting other guests, your clean, comfortable room, our fresh baked cookies and our evening wine hour. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon on your next trip to San Francisco.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, California
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I've never bothered to review a hotel before, but I have to say that this place is great. The room was comfortable and clean and tastefully decorated, and it was quiet on the fifth floor. The staff were all friendly and super accommodating--basically excellent service. Ken at the front desk was especially welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaftsbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Anne knew who we were before I showed her my confirmation. The service, friendliness and helpfulness by the entire staff was more than I could have expected. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is tired of being just another guest at a huge hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulshaftsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear how Ann and the rest of the staff enhanced your visit to the Inn at Union Square. As a boutique hotel, we enjoy providing each guest the attention and service needed to have an exceptional stay in San Francisco. We look forward to your return.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon in the USA last October. From our initial emails with the hotel when making the booking, the replies from Anne were very friendly, helpful and personal which was what made us choose this hotel for our special trip over the other big, chain hotels in the Union Square area. All members of staff we encountered were equally friendly and warm.
The hotel is quite different to the usual touristy hotels and had lots of added character whilst still being in the heart of Union Square. Our room was a decent size, very comfortable with lovely decor and there was complimentary champagne and chocolates waiting for us on arrival in celebration of our marriage and honeymoon which was a lovely touch. The bathroom was very small and hot! – and the bedroom was also very warm as we were stayed during a particularly hot week (temp was around 28C most of week) so some nights were a little muggy in the room.
One other thing I would like to note to the hotel was that the breakfast buffet was not refilled in the mornings if something ran out but it wasn’t a big deal as I nipped to another floor. We were more than happy with our choice of hotel though and we were very sad to leave.
The hotel is very centrally located, just a short walk to many major shops, the cable car, buses and Powell Street station for the BART to and from the airport. We would happily stay here again and recommend to others visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kat-liz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and for spending a part of your honeymoon with us. Our staff takes great pride in providing each guest with personalized, friendly service and on behalf of Ann and the rest of the team, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future. We're thrilled you enjoyed our central, Union Square location as well as our comfortable guestrooms and charming decor. We do apologize if the room was a little warm and if the breakfast buffet was not fully stocked for you. We will work to correct these items post haste.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
198 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I love this hotel.

The Inn has so many great features I don't know where to start. First the location! Fabulous. Right next to Mortons, and just a stones throw from Union Square the Inn is very is in a very convenient spot, and despite it's centeral location the rooms were very quiet. I had the windows open and heard some street car noises as I got ready in the morning, but I found it rather charming.

The staff was very friendly, warm and accomodating. They wished me well each morning and when I returned in the evening they asked how my day went and sincerly carried on coversatoins with me. Additionally the Inn Keeper, Wayne, was very engaging and warm.
The continental breakfast was great! Hard boiled eggs, cereals, fruits, juices, coffee, apple cider and hot chocolate- a great spread! The evening wine hour was even better. Deli meats and cheeses, and delicious wines, I was very impressed, and the hospitality didn't stop there -each evening fresh bottles of water, a print out of the next days weather, and chocolates were hand delivered to the room. Then there were the fresh baked cookies in the evening before bed.
And the free news paper delivery service in the morning.

Additionally- the internet was fast, the rooms were cozy and modern, the beds were inviting and comfortable, there were amazing robes in the closet!

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, it was the best place I have ever stayed in San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Amanda T,
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and accolades of both our amenities and our attentive staff. We are glad to hear how our little extras such as our complimentary breakfast, evening wine hour, turndown service and the fresh baked cookies each evening enhanced your visit to San Francisco. As you noted, our location just off Union Square is central to so many of the cities attractions and very convenient. We're pleased you enjoyed our complimentary high speed wireless internet and our comfortable and updated guest rooms. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manage
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,078 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,748 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
1,145 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing