We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Follow Me!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #5 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Follow Me!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a small gem tucked away on Union Square in San Francisco. The staff is accommodating, professional yet still welcoming and friendly. The continental breakfast was fresh and satisfying. The timing is perfect for wine and cheese after a long day of hiking San Fran's hills. And the warm, homemade cookies in the evening, make dessert with your dinner unnecessary. It doesn't look like much on the outside but the inside and staff and management are pure magic. Follow me - go there now!

Room Tip: Room 407 has a luxurious bathroom the same size as the room and room 507 is just as nice with a smal...
See more room tips
Green Features: Spot on. Everything is recycled and nothing is wasted.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Maureen O,
It is our guests that are the true Gem! We appreciate your comments and feedback and are truly pleased to hear you enjoyed our accommodating staff, complimentary breakfast, evening wine and cheese and of course, those irresistible fresh baked cookies. We hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    377
    66
    18
    8
See reviews for
167
968
86
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, TX
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for only one night in September for our anniversary. We checked in early, coming from another area of San Francisco. Ann at the front desk welcomed us brightly and although our room was not yet ready (it was 9:00am!) she invited us to enjoy the complimentary breakfast!

Our room was a fine size - the bathroom was huge. We had no noise issues. We loved how quaint it was. This is definitely a boutique property and they go the extra mile. Wine and appetizers were provided and were wonderful. Love sitting and chatting with other guests.

Ann helped us with options for our day - we chose the double decker bus tour. She called us when our room was ready (before check in time.)

We would absolutely stay here again. Location is great in Union Square. Beds very comfy! No central AC but a great ceiling fan kept air circulating.

Book it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LTrainer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay. Staff was courteous and helpful. We were nervous driving and parking in SF, but the valet package was worth it. Car was readily available when we needed it. Room was clean and comfortable. Since we were from south Florida, we are not use to no air conditioning. The staff was very accommodating in providing us with an extra portable fan. A smaller hotel, but quaint. Complimentary breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese was an added bonus.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 4linu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind words and comments regarding your stay at our quaint, clean and comfortable Inn in the heart of San Francisco. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our little extras such as our complimentary breakfast and evening wine and cheese. We hope to have the pleasure of your company when travels once again return you to the city by the bay!

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We usually like to stay at B&B's or small hotels when we travel. The Inn at Union Square fit the bill and much more. The rooms were clean, comfy and roomy. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. They helped us plan our exploration of the city including trolly and bus routes, sights, and restaurant recommendations. The location was perfectly situated near shopping and restaurants. There were plenty of choices for the free continental breakfasts, and the early evening wine and cheese selections always hit the spot. The crowning touch was the evening home-baked cookies, which we started smelling as they baked at 5PM! The overall experience was just perfect. We'd definitely return on future trips.

Green Features: I appreciated the hotel's multiple ways of being environmentally friendly, including towel reuse and water-efficient bathroom fixtures.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortiaLongBeach_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. To provide a home away from home is our primary goal so we appreciate the comments about our friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, and our convenient location. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast and our nightly spread of fresh baked cookies. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and often

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We chose this hotel based on reviews and were not disappointed. Yes, the rooms are not large but it is a city and the king bed was spacious and comfortable
Breakfast was well stocked and adequate and we appreciated the cookies at night
For a clean comfortable stay at a reasonable price I would recommend this hotel for location and value

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonnefov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Inn is only a few meters from Union Square and all the Department Stores, Bars, Cafes, Transport, Cable cars and Tourist buses.
The Hotel is a lovely boutique establishment with very nice rooms and amenities.
The staff are outstanding, warm friendly and extremely helpful. You can meet the Innkeeper Wayne for a chat each evening at the complimentary wine and cheese tastings.
We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Learnings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind comments and your recent patronage of the Inn at Union Square. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff, central location and our evening wine and cheese hour. On behalf of Wayne and the entire staff, we look forward to your return.

Yours truly,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August. Great little place at reasonable price. The room was great, the service exceptional. Everyone was friendly and courteous. I even had packages delivered here prior to arrival and they held them for me.

The location is second to none. Definitely will stay here again if we are in SFO.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Srini R,
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at the Inn at Union Square. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our Exceptional Service and great location in the heart of San Francisco. We look forward to your return, which we hope to be very soon.

Thank you for choosing the Inn at Union Square.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,903 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
5,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
2,698 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
1,668 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing