We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hot on the top floor but great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #4 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hot on the top floor but great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. We had requested a top floor room to be away from the noise but this meant we had to tolerate the heat rising from the rest of the building. The room did have a fan but no air conditioning so it was a bit uncomfortable at night. All of that said, we would still recommend this hotel. The staff were truly outstanding - nothing was too much trouble and they were all very knowledgeable. We loved the room and also the communal areas at the end of the corridor where breakfast was served. If you want to be in the heart of San Fran then look no further - it was great to be able to go out to eat or shop and then just pop back to the hotel rather than having to set out for the whole day. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when/if we return to San Francisco - well worthy of it's excellent rating

Room Tip: Top floor was hot, but quiet - take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    351
    61
    18
    7
See reviews for
154
910
82
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long b'day weekend. Our jr king suite wasn't so much a suite as a large room. Nicely appointed but frankly what I expected for the price paid. Staff were all really friendly.

The location steps from Union Square couldn't be better.

Still all was not perfect. Breakfast is a bit of an ordeal, served at the end of the hallway on two of the five floors it was simply overwhelmed by the shear number of guests. Basically there is room for two people to navigate at a time. Selection was high quality, but heavy on the pastries and light on fruit (banana anyone?).

The wine and cheese hour was disappointing. On day one a "special" group was in house and they made it clear that this was their "private" party. Commandeered every chair, plate, glass and napkin. Our third night the wine & cheese didn't happen at all, instead we found a note directing us to one of the rooms for another "special" reception . . . This time just a group of guests waiting for wine & munches that never came, apparently the winery that was supposed to pour was late, they never showed, at least not before we left for our dinner reservation. Staff were indifferent initially but quick to tell us we missed a great event when we returned from dinner. Huh?

Overall a good stay saved by the room itself.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jondf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square and a belated happy birthday as well. Thank you for sharing your comments. We strive to provide every guest with an exceptional stay and your feedback helps us improve our facility and service to better serve our guests. I am sorry to hear about the glitches with our wine hour and perhaps a lack of sufficient communication on our part. Our wine hour is, of course, open to all guests and we are sorry to hear that a group took it over to the extent that you felt excluded.

Thank you again for your visit and for your comments to assist us in providing an exceptional experience to our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the inn soon to ensure you that what you may have experienced is not typical.


At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed at The Inn @ Union Square at the the end of May 2013 for 4 nights. We had a king room, which consisted of two rooms - a bedroom with really comfy bed, very tastefully decorated and a second sitting room, a nice added bonus. We found The Inn to be in an excellent location, close to everything yet nice and quiet. We liked the tea/coffee room on our floor where would also get cookies in the evening. The overall feel of The Inn is elegant and very comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. If you like Thai food there is an excellent Thai Restaurant just up the road called Ah Roi. Will definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and we were on second floor not far from lift which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicNatfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square. We are pleased that you enjoyed our quiet, comfortable rooms, our friendly and helpful staff and our central and convenient location. We hope to welcome you back soon and often.


At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here in June 2013 while in SF for a conference. The hotel is very central, and within easy walk of the CBD, Chinatown and the Moscone Centre.

My room was clean, well-stocked and comfortable. Breakfast is served as a continental buffet, and there are also wine and nibbles each evening.

The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. They are knowledgeable about local amenities, tours etc. and were very efficient at booking taxis etc.

Because of an error on my part (I forgot that I crossed the date line and got my date or arrival wrong), I arrived a day earlier than my booking. However, the staff were excellent at arranging alternative accommodation for me at a nearby hotel just for that night, at a very reasonable rate.

Thoroughly recommend this hotel. Will be staying here again when I next come to SF.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OBC_NMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square. We are glad to hear you found our central location just off Union Square enhanced your stay as well as our complimentary breakfast and evening wine hour. On behalf of the entire staff at the Inn, we look forward to your return visit.

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,147 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 562 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We chose a junior king suite for a 3 night stay. It had plenty of room, was very nicely appointed and being located at rear of property provided a very peaceful environment. We had 3 great sleeps with no annoying noises. All the staff are very pleasant, a great team that are willing and able to assist. It felt a very well run establishment. Its smallness allows the right level of personal interaction so you feel like you are in a B&B rather than a city downtown hotel. A good continental self serve breakfast is included. Little touches like complimentary wine and cheese with the innkeeper and other guests each evening is part of a quality experience. Very good internet. Located half a block from Union square and trolley car to Fisherman's Wharf, you are very central and among main retail section of San Fran with many transport options to other areas whether walking or via bus, tram or train. Plenty of nearby quality restaurants for dinner. I highly recommend with my only complaint what you pay for car parking, but no different to anywhere else in this town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

With all the hotel choices, we couldn't have been happier with The Inn at Union Square. The service and the friendly staff make this place top notch. The large room with living area, second bath and dressing area was a nice surprise. The wine and cheese and warm cookies nightly and the continental breakfast are just more things to love about The Inn. Well done and in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimAMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your patronage and for sharing your feedback. Our staff takes great pride and pleasure providing exceptional service to our guests and our grateful for the acknowledgement of their efforts. We are pleased you enjoyed our amenities including the complimentary breakfast, evening wine reception and fresh baked cookies. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when travels return you to San Francisco

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Based on tripadvisor reviews we chose this Inn and were so glad we did. We stayed 3 nights in room 403. The room is quite dark as it is very close to a brick wall but as we spent most of our days out and about it was perfectly fine. All the room doors are older and heavy and can make a noise when they close so can be heard along the corridor. As others have mentioned there are open spaces on each floor with windows onto Post St where there are fridges/ice tea and coffee. On the 3rd and 5th floors there is a buffet breakfast laid out in the morning and wine and cheese each evening. We met so many interesting people, shared a cab to Alcatraz with guests from Toronto, and drank some lovely wine as we were hosted and entertained by Wayne. These times of being a community even while travelling in a foreign place really made our time here in SF very special. The Inn also has a business room on the 2nd floor which has a PC and printer which was helpful for printing out tickets and downloading pics from my camera to my data stick. Wireless Internet is offered for free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzdarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,415 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,807 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#9 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 235 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,400 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing