We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #5 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

With all the hotel choices, we couldn't have been happier with The Inn at Union Square. The service and the friendly staff make this place top notch. The large room with living area, second bath and dressing area was a nice surprise. The wine and cheese and warm cookies nightly and the continental breakfast are just more things to love about The Inn. Well done and in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimAMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your patronage and for sharing your feedback. Our staff takes great pride and pleasure providing exceptional service to our guests and our grateful for the acknowledgement of their efforts. We are pleased you enjoyed our amenities including the complimentary breakfast, evening wine reception and fresh baked cookies. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when travels return you to San Francisco

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Based on tripadvisor reviews we chose this Inn and were so glad we did. We stayed 3 nights in room 403. The room is quite dark as it is very close to a brick wall but as we spent most of our days out and about it was perfectly fine. All the room doors are older and heavy and can make a noise when they close so can be heard along the corridor. As others have mentioned there are open spaces on each floor with windows onto Post St where there are fridges/ice tea and coffee. On the 3rd and 5th floors there is a buffet breakfast laid out in the morning and wine and cheese each evening. We met so many interesting people, shared a cab to Alcatraz with guests from Toronto, and drank some lovely wine as we were hosted and entertained by Wayne. These times of being a community even while travelling in a foreign place really made our time here in SF very special. The Inn also has a business room on the 2nd floor which has a PC and printer which was helpful for printing out tickets and downloading pics from my camera to my data stick. Wireless Internet is offered for free.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzdarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Wonderful staff! Shout-outs to Omar, Anne and Oliva (front desk). Also to Wayne, the most unassuming Innkeeper and a great story teller. Some of the rooms are small and some aren't
so what some people have written about small rooms can be true. We had a junior king suite and it was a nice sized room. The hotel itself is squeezed in a very tight spot such that if you don't get a room in the front (xx1) or back (xx7), I imagine that your view is the brick wall of the building next door. The continental breakfast is a nice touch, just a little something to get you going in the morning. The evening wine and cheese reception is also nice. But what really impressed me was that the staff was willing to set up an earlier wine and cheese reception for a group that was going out earlier in the evening and would not have otherwise been able to enjoy the reception -- that is great customer service!!

Definitely not a typical American type of hotel - big common areas, tons of people, tons of amenities. So if this is what you want, suggest you go to the Westin's around the corner. Reminds me more of a European hotel - tight spaces (2 extra-large people could not walk side-by-side in the hallway), quaint, comfortable. According to Wayne, a little under 50% of their guests are international so striking up a conversation during breakfast or the wine reception can be very interesting.

Great location, within a block, you have Union Square, cable cars and tour buses (hop on, hop off variety). Tons of shopping. We didn't drive but took the taxi everywhere -- Embarcadero, Pier 39, ATT Park. Probably a bit cheaper due to parking rates, definitely more convenient and easier on the nerves (they drive crazy). Be careful walking southwest - go too far and you will be in some not so good areas (Tenderloin district) but beyond that is the Civic Center and Theater district. China Town is close by (northeast) but it's uphill so make sure you are fit for that trek. If you like being in the center of things, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: If you enjoy the sounds of the city and can afford it, take the 2-room suite in the front (xx1). The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hapa53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and helpful tips for future travelers. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Inn at Union Square and that you found our central location, great service and complimentary offerings, such as evening wine hour and continental breakfast, added to your experience. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back soon and often.

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Let me start by saying it was a close call as to whether this was a "four star" or a "five star" review (I wish there was a "four and half": it's a really really good hotel...but dated. Location was fantastic. Room size was small (as you'd except for central San Francisco) but value was excellent and the personal service was superb - the staff were friendly, attentive, helpful and personal. I loved the 'cheese and wine' every evening whils the hotle staff regailed stories! I would definitely stay again and recommend to others. It's an Inn (not a full service hotel) but there's a Mortons next door that does in room dining deliveries. It was a great touch that Wayne had a bottle of champagne sent to our room for the special occasion we were celebrating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and 2 grown children loved our stay at The Inn at Union Square--a small, intimate hotel in the heart of San Francisco. While the rooms are far from spacious and there is no air conditioning, this hotel offers all that I could ask for in a comfortable, well-located hotel just around the corner from some of the greatest shopping to be found anywhere. Maybe it's because there is hot tea available on every floor all day long or the freshly-baked cookies every night or perhaps the complimentary happy hour at 5:30, I can't say for sure. A continental breakfast that includes fresh fruit, granola, pastries, yogurt, bagels, and more is served each morning. The hotel even sets out nifty trays to help you transport your breakfast back to your room if you wish to do so. The hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. We would definitely go back to this hotel if we ever visit San Francisco again.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are about the same except the ones on each end that are a bit bigger and have a fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was the perfect place to spend 4 nights in SF at a reasonable price. The room was excellent, as was the breakfast, the coffee and the service. It's in a great place, too, with everything you'd want to see on a short stay easily accessible by public transport.

The staff were especially great. Ann (in particular) as well as Ken and all the other people on the front desk were so helpful and accommodating, especially when my companion was ill for a day. We really loved this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great location, great hotel, outstanding staff. The afternoon wine and cheese receptions every afternoon around 5:30 really made our visit special. We met the nicest people from all over the world. If you don't partake in this activity, you are really missing out. Kudos to Wayne Olson, the worlds greatest innkeeper, concierge, and conversationalist. Also Ann, Ken, Omar and others at the front desk. I don't know anybody that could give a better first impression than Ann. These people really care. Our visit exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback, in particular highlight the hospitality offered by Wayne, Ann, Ken, Omar and the rest of the staff. We are pleased you were able to meet the other guests at our complimentary evening wine hour. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again when travels return you to San Francisco.

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,574 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#17 of 231 in San Francisco
693 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#4 of 231 in San Francisco
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 231 in San Francisco
1,527 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 231 in San Francisco
5,395 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $234 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing