We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$279
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$336
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$197
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$223
$208
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$299
$254
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$274
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$223
$198
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$416
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,766)
Filter reviews
1,766 results
Traveler rating
1,240
417
78
19
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,240
417
78
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesecontinental breakfastunion squareother guestsevening cookiesfreshly baked cookieswarm cookiessmall hotelboutique hotelhard boiled eggsyogurtbrick wallevening winepost streetceiling fansitting areaperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
904 - 909 of 1,766 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I recently stayed at The Inn for a few days during a visit to San Francisco.
My overall experience at the hotel was EXCELLENT.

Due to a delayed flight, I arrived exhausted and very late at night at the hotel to be greeted by a vey welcoming and smiling Ken. Not only they had retained my booking, but he also upgraded me to a junior suite on 6th floor. It was an excellent end to an otherwise not-so-pleasant day.

The hotel is a relatively small one within steps from Union Square. It is in an excellent location within everything one would need during a holiday in San Francisco. The rooms are nicely decorated in a crips classical style and everything was spotlessly clean.
Included in the room rate was free Wi Fi access and a vey nice continental breakfast, as well as newspaper delivered to your room.Though the rooms do not have a minibar or tea/coffee making facilities, on every floor there is a small common area with a fridge, ice maker, tea and coffee and some seating. Breakfast buffet is served in this area on the 3rd and 5th floors. The buffet has a vey good selection of yogurt, fresh fruit, boiled eggs, cereals , juice, etc.

Everyone at the hotel was vey helpful and friendly...From the housekeeping ladies to staff at the front desk. They were all willing to help with whatever queries I had about the city, where to go and what to do.

I will definitely stay there again whenever I am next in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The staff were amazing, they greeted us with a smile and nothing was ever to much trouble. Big shout to Oliva who was amazing when we checked it. The location is right on Union square and the tour buses all stop within a block of the hotel and there are places to eat and drink in the evenings also within a block and also next door for Morton's which you can also have as room service. The room we had was large and had all things needed I.e hair dryer, iron & even robes!! The wine evenings & cookies were just the perfect finishing touches to a perfect hotel. If I ever come back to San Francisco then this is the only hotel I would come back to!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbie_1_2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimentary review. I was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our location just off Union Square, our generous amenities and special extras such as evening wine hour and late night cookies. On behalf of Oliva and the rest of the staff, we hope to welcome you back soon.

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were a little disappointed with our choice of this hotel. At the end of a long trip around NorCal, we should have gone for something more upscale and luxurious, so it’s entirely our fault, but we had a booked a suite so had expectations of some luxury - and we paid enough $$ for it, or so we thought.

The suite, however, consisted of two small rooms (a living area and a bedroom), neither of which were really big enough for their purpose, plus bathroom in between. They were connected by a narrow corridor which we couldn’t both pass through at the same time.

The room was oddly situated, as it gave onto a public area which was used for a wine reception every night, and for people to eat breakfast, so it was awkward to manoeuvre through with baggage, and a little embarrassing to know there was a gathering just the other side of your door when you were having a conversation, as the walls were not thick.

The room had clearly been decorated with thought and attention, but was looking a little tired, needing a lick of paint and a new carpet. Just as we were leaving, our toilet sprung a leak so we were glad to be out of there.

On the plus side, the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, and the wine reception and homemade cookies were really nice touches. The owners had clearly gone to great lengths to make visitors feel relaxed, and that was appreciated. The hotel’s location, practically on the corner of Union Square, was ideal for downtown access. It was our second trip to SF, and we have resolved if there is ever a third, we’d actually stay away from the downtown area as the number of panhandlers seems to have increased greatly, so we're definitely unlikely to come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take 301.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your feedback. Comments such as yours help us improve our service and facility to better serve our guests in the future. We strive to provide every guest with an exceptional experience, from our rooms, amenities and bedding, to our service and value added extras such as complimentary breakfast, evening wine reception and "just before bedtime" fresh baked cookies. We are sorry to hear that the room's layout and location did not meet your expectations. We do have multiple room layouts within the hotel and we would be happy to find a room type and location better suited to your preferences prior to your next visit, which we hope you will consider. Thank you again for your visit and for the valuable feedback.

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband was at a conference and I was basically alone for the whole time we stayed in San Francisco, but the amazing staff at the Inn made me feel safe and took such attentive care of me! They greeted us each and every time we entered and left the hotel with smiles and questions about what we were doing and where we were going. They suggested itineraries and restaurants, with each suggestion being spot on! The location is perfect - steps away from Union Square and close to all public transportation, yet once you step into the hotel you can forget you are in a bustling city with the warmth of the staff and the quiet and luxury of the space. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to even the most discerning travelers!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momof3inde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your patronage of the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your comments our service and location. Our staff takes great pride and pleasure in providing personalized service to each of our guests. A recommendation is the ultimate compliment and we greatly appreciate yours.

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a perfect little spot to be based in San Francisco for four nights. The location couldn't have been more central with all the shopping and restaurants around the corner. The inn was quant and we loved the thoughtfulness of having complimentary drinks and nibbles every evening which meant we could meet and chat to other travellers. The staff were very friendly and helpful and had a great knowledge of the area and all the tourist attractions. We are telling all our friends that this is the best place to stay and we would definitely make a return trip there.

Room Tip: Don't be expecting any views from your room but the location makes it all worthwhile
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveLou37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews