We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop searching now.....this is it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #4 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We travel a lot for both business and pleasure and can honestly say this was our best hotel experience ever. I'm surprised this hotel is rated #3.......should be #1. Our four night stay was a true pleasure and we can echo all the positive comments you will read in other reviews.
We were in San Fran celebrating a 35th anniversary and were pleasantly surprised on day one with a bottle of bubbly and a very nice letter from the staff.....nice touch!
Don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canoetrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

WOW! To say it was a pleasure to read your review would be an understatement. Thank you for your kind words. We are honored that you chose to celebrate such a milestone with us and let us congratulate you again on your 35th Anniversary! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the champagne. Thank you again for choosing the Inn at Union Square and we hope to help you celebrate your 36th Anniversary next year.

Kind Regards,

Norbert Mede
General Manger
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,640)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

An excellent hotel in an excellent location.
Rooms very good by UK standards, clean tidy and very welcoming.
Free cheese and wine every night.
Breakfast .... Strange but works perfect in how it's set up. Looking forward to 2mo's.
Not big American breakfast though which after 12 days in US is excellent for us Europeans.
Free coffee and tea, free bottled water, turn down service every night.
All in all a very good city hotel that ticks all the boxes and then makes them cosy :)

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NyallM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I spent a long time researching hotels in SF and wanted something close to Union Square without being too expensive. Having read all the other good reviews about this hotel it seemed to tick all the boxes.
Having just stayed there for 5 nights I am happy to say it met and even exceeded my expectations.
Friendly staff, very comfortable beds and furniture, delicious continental breakfast, very central location, reasonably priced and everything else you could want or need.
The only minor downsides were the view from the room onto the exhaust fans of the roof next door and the fact that the room lacked air conditioning and was a little warm, however, when reported the staff were concerned and said they would immediately attend to it. The plan is to install air conditioning later this year.
Overall an excellent hotel to stay when visiting San Fran.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Inn for your accommodations near Union Square. We appreciate you kind comments about our staff, comfortable guestroom accommodations, central location, and our complimentary breakfast. We look forward to your next stay with us in San Francisco!

Kind Regards,

Norbert Mede
General Manger
Inn At Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The staff at The Inn at Union Square were so friendly and accomodating, they really made my stay special! Add to that the great lcoation, reasonable price and free breakfast and wine & cheese...what more could you want? Will certainly return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RER1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

First, let me say that I am extremely picky about hotels and I don't give many five star reviews, but when you come across a gem like the Inn at Union Square, you have to let everyone know! The hotel is lovely, clean and comfortable but what really makes this property shine is the people. Wayne, Ann, Omar, and the rest of the Inn Staff are all genuinely friendly and attentive. They remember the little things that make you feel like a special guest, greeting you by your name, asking about your outings, Wayne is like an encylopedia with his extensive knowledge about the City of San Francisco! Many of the guests we visited with while enjoying a nice cup of tea or a glass of wine in the parlor, were here on holiday from other countries. It's a wonderful feeling to know that many of these international guests, most who are arriving in the USA for the first time, will have their first interaction with Americans at the Inn. Wayne, Ann and Omar are excellent ambassadors!

Room Tip: We had a room at the far end of the floor, the furthest from the street, no view but very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smalltowngalReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

If you don't stay at this hotel then you my friend are quite simply bonkers. The Inn at Union Square boasts a great location, fantastic chic rooms, a superb complimentary breakfast and then there's the biggie - wine and cheese, every night in the parlours on the third and fifth floors between half five and seven. This added bonus only gets better when you throw in Innkeeper Wayne (The Wonderful) Olsen as your San Fransico guide and general life guru. If Wayne doesn't know it, it ain't worth knowing! The staff at the hotel were so friendly and so helpful. Omar at the front desk was mine of information and couldn't do enough for us, as was the lady receptionist although we didn't quite catch her name! We were very lucky to have super friendly guests staying the same time as us so we had an absolute blast getting to know everyone and what they'd got up to during the day, swapping tips and stories along the way. Of course, if this isn't your thing, you can grab a plate of cheese and crackers and glass of wine and sneak back to your room via the super cute narrow hallways and relax in quiet and luxurious surroundings.

The hotel is pretty much on Union Square and a few meters away from the shops, sights and sounds of San Fran. It's even close enough to walk to AT&T park if you want to take in a Giants game whilst in town. The Inn at Union Square is the best hotel I've ever stayed in. There, I said it. Other hotels will have to go a long way to beat it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kittyfurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of all of us at the Inn At Union Square, especially “Wonderful Wayne” and Omar, thank you for a beautiful review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our great location, steps from Union Square, our “chic” guestrooms and complimentary breakfast. Our daily wine and cheese reception is a chance for our guests to get to know other guests and our staff a little bit better, and it pleases us to know that this was just as special for you as it is for us. Again, thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Norbert Mede
General Manger
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at The Inn at Union Square. What a lovely hotel in such a great position just off Union Square. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was great and the complementary evening wine and cheese a lovely touch. My only criticism is that the bedroom was very warm - SF was having a heat wave. We had to open all the windows which meant the room was very noisy. However I am sure that this is not normally an issue during the more usual milder weather. We would love to return one day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkPeony21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,318 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
1,235 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $209 - $1,372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing