We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$237
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rex San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$257
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$399
$189
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$256
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$405
$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$265
$212
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$406
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,748)
Filter reviews
1,748 results
Traveler rating
1,225
416
76
19
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,225
416
76
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesecontinental breakfastunion squareother guestsevening cookiesfreshly baked cookieswarm cookiessmall hotelboutique hotelhard boiled eggsyogurtbrick wallevening winepost streetceiling fansitting areaperfect location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
930 - 935 of 1,748 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this gem of an inn during Easter weekend and loved it. Here are our notes and suggestions:

- we got champagne on our arrival - great touch! and an upgrade too for no charge
- umbrella in the room: good for SF rain
- continental breakfast: only suggestion is to change it up since we had the same sort of pastries the entire time
- wine and cheese every evening: nice touch!
- good customer service and friendly staff
- cleaning staff was a bit anxious sometimes to get in and clean though
- great location in union square!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Namrata A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Inn after reading reviews on Trip advisor and were extremely pleased with the entire experience. The staff is amazing, making restaurant recommendations, helping with directions, arranging transportation to the airport and overall going out of their way to make our stay warm and friendly. The morning continental breakfast is a perfect way to start a busy day and the assortments are plenty. The evening wine and cheese events were a great touch and we enjoyed this time immensely. you could mingle with other's or go relax in your room with a glass of wine and an assortment of cheese, meat, nuts and fruit. We have been to SF numerous times and have stayed at many really great properties but the Inn surpasses them all. Thanks again to Wayne, Omar, Ann and all the rest of the staff for providing such a great environment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

What a gem! Everything that needs to be said about this place has been said so I'll be brief. We had never been to San Francisco before and arrived after driving from Vancouver, through Oregon's hinterland and Yosemite.
After negotiating the traffic via the Oakland Bridge and admiring the wonderful surrounds at Golden Gate Bridge, the Inn looked quite inconspicuous - but were we in for a pleasant surprise. The staff in the tiny lobby were extremely obliging and from there things only got better. The decor reflected the historic nature of the building and the rooms - although compact - had tasteful fittings and lovely furniture.
Best of all was the location - just a short walk from Union Square and the historic trams which provide great access to all the historic and cultural sites.
Ignore all the big names and try out this place; we loved the Inn - thanks so very much!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thelonghaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We found the Inn on TripAdvisor, and were pleasantly surprised by it. Small, somewhat dated, but with all the touches that make a few days in a new city interesting. Advice, courtesy, and service were all appreciated. We were even contacted after we returned home. Central to everything this is a great boutique hotel where we will certainly stay again. (and they love children!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank old49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was lucky enough to have a couple of spare days in San Francisco on a recent business trip to the US, and staying here helped me make the most of those days. If a small hotel is to compete effectively with the big names it has to have something special and this place has a few things - exceptionally helpful and friendly staff, really high-quality rooms, excellent bed, free and high-speed wifi. It's also in a good location near to the very busy Union Square, but my room on the sixth floor was lovely and quiet. I didn't have much of a view, and you should be aware that it doesn't have a proper dining room - you either take breakfast back to your room, or sit in the little area at the end of the corridor. But these are minor points only. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Probably best to be away from the kitchen/sitting area at the end of each corridor
Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank SouthwellMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for staying with us at the Inn at Union Square. We are very pleased you enjoyed our high speed complimentary internet, central and convenient location, complimentary breakfast and quiet comfortable rooms. Our staff takes great pleasure and pride in providing exceptional service to ensure our guests have a pleasant and productive experience. We hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews