We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable 4 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #4 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed four nights of a two week California vacation. This hotel was a good base for us.

We had a room with a real wood burning fireplace. The housekeeping staff would supply a burlap tied bundle of wood each day for us to easily light a fire anytime we wanted.

The hotel management hosted an evening wine and cheese hour. We were able to meet the nicest people from all over the world while we stayed there!

Front desk staff very friendly each time we entered and exited the building, offering any help we needed with places to visit, to dine, or directions if needed. They felt like family after the first day.

The Inn at Union Square is in a perfect location of San Francisco also!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,636)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I were looking to find a "just right - Goldie locks" hotel to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary. As others have stated the staff is topnotch. They were warm, sincere and attentive - but not overly so. Our room was very quiet, private and clean. The breakfast along with the afternoon wine and cheese hour added even more value. Union Square is really in the heart of downtown San Francisco and I did have my concerns booking in such a busy area. Those fears were put to rest almost immediately upon checking in. -Thanks for a great anniversary getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zippytongflockings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your 4th anniversary with our staff and our “just right” hotel . We are so happy you had a pleasant experience and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast (sorry, no porridge on the menu), quiet clean rooms and personalized service. Perhaps you will give us the honor of sharing your 5th anniversary with you next year. Until then….

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Inn is a gorgeous boutique hotel right in the heart of downtown SF. Union Square is literally across the road - with all the shopping and eating you can cram into your stay.
The hotel itself is small - which suits me, as its a more personal experience than at the big chains.
We stayed in room 403 for 4 nights. The room was small, but the SUPER comfy bed and pillows made up for this. There was no view, but this didn't bother me as we were out most of the time anyway.
It was also surprisingly very quiet... I didn't hear a thing in the evenings.
The room and bathroom were spotless and was serviced daily. The hotel also after a turn down service, at which they refresh you with 2 bottles of water and chocolates. There are also fresh cookies available each night!
Every evening there is a wine and cheese tasting where you can mingle with other guests.
Continental breakfast is also complimentary and suited sleepy heads like me, as its available until 10am.
All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful - and know the area well, so they can help you out if you're not sure what to do.
If you want to be treated like a true guest, then this is the place for you. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneEvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a lovely stay at this perfectly situated "Inn" in Union Square. Literally down the street from the Trolley line to Hyde wharf, but quiet, not on the main drag. Service was friendly and very helpful with the concierge assisting in printing out a flight plan change for us since it was sent to my husband's cell phone. In fact, I am writing this review from the business room equipped with a printer, computer and good, fast wifi. The rooms are very comfortable, with ensuite bathroom with good water pressure, room was large a "junior suite" that they upgraded us to. The room was very quiet and the bed comfortable with 2 choices of firmness for pillows. There is complimentary nightly wine and cheese affair and is a great way to mingle with some of the guests as well as the affable innkeeper, Wayne. Checkout was simple and the staff let us keep our bags in the hotel until we needed them before our flight out, so that we could walk around. All in all a great place and I would happily stay here again if I am in San Fran.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tollermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have never been to a hotel with service that was even comparable to this! Nicest people I've ever met, from chatting with guest at the wine reception, or helping us get a cab and offering directions to attractions they were all lovely people. I highly highly recommend this hotel, the location was fantastic too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theowlbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for positing your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed our “incomparable” service and great location. We take great pride in providing each guest with an exceptional experience. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels return you to San Francisco

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Such a lovely place. Top in cleanliness, amenities, linens, and bed comfort. We had a junior suite which included a separate sitting area (2 doors between bed and TV so each of us could do as we liked at night). The breakfast was fantastic -- bakery style croissants, scones, and muffins plus OJ and coffee. In the early evening there was wine and cheese available (one night a wine producer was brought in with different varieties to taste). Staff were always helpful and very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for junior suite or larger.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruraliberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding the cleanliness, amenities and helpful friendly staff. We are very glad you enjoyed out complimentary breakfast and evening wine hour and look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is our second stay here. The location is perfect for us since we can walk many places. This time we had the breakfast and the wine and cheese in the evening. Breakfast is simple but of good quality. It is a ittle more than a continental breakfast and the croissants were small and of very good - a plus for me. The wine that were served was better than I wiuld have expected and the bleu cheese was simply excellent. This is one of the friendliest hotes I have stayed in in this country. Narrow halls are easily overlooked. Our room was one of the larger ones and quite comfortable. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,314 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 229 in San Francisco
1,231 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 229 in San Francisco
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $210 - $1,418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing