We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #4 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

What a little gem, tucked away amidst the Westin's and the Hyatt's and the Marriott's. When I saw the lines of tour buses at those hotels, I was so glad we were at The Inn. Felt very Eurpoean, with the tiny elevator and narrow halls. Our room had a nice sitting area, with a couch. Tthere was a desk,too and intenet was good. We faced a brick wall..we didn't mind, but if that is an issue, ask for a room not doing so. Expect tiny bathrooms, smalll closets, but robes in the closet, a wine reception every evening and b'fast buffet all included. Met lovely people at these times who have been coming here for years and years. Wll go again.....

Room Tip: Ask if you will face a brick wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kajadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed meeting fellow travelers at our evening wine reception and that you found our complimentary internet helpful. You pay us the ultimate compliment by returning to stay with us and on behalf of all the staff, we look forward to your next visit.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    385
    67
    19
    8
See reviews for
170
993
89
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

i stayed with my teenage daughter prior to Christmas.I chose this hotel based on proximity to Union Square. Although the Union Square area is not my preferred area to stay whilst visiting San Francisco, we wanted to be nearby to do Christmas shopping. This hotel was ideal for this purpose. I chose it based on Tripadvisor reviews and it did not disappoint. It is clean, well appointed and boutique style. From the moment we arrived we encountered excellent customer service. After a long flight, and arriving early, we were offered freshly baked cookies and coffee whilst we waited for our room to be ready. The hotel is quiet, and we were not disturbed by city noise. The wine and cheese...happy hour.....was a nice touch, with good quality wines and cheeses. Breakfast was far better than the average breakfast offerings at other USA hotels which so often only supply pastries, juice and unappealing coffee. I must make mention of Ann, who worked at the front desk. She was bright, vivacious and very helpful in assisting us with any queries. She was particularly helpful to my daughter by recommending shops that would appeal to her age group. It seems customer service is a priority for this hotel and I would not hesitate to stay here again. I believe it deserves it's high rating on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labolsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and for visiting us during the holidays. We are so pleased you and your daughter enjoyed our convenient location, wine and cheese offerings as well as out complimentary breakfast. Customer service is our number one focus as we want every guest to have an exceptional experience.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

It was not a five star hotel, but they are beyond lovely in customer service. They got us the ny times for our complementary morning paper when we told them the wall street journal was not our first choice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovesocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Inn at Union Square is a beautiful old hotel. The rooms are spatious. The reception area and the hallways are not and can be congested at check out time. The staff is friendly, the beds are comfortable and the room was quiet. However, I can say this about numerous hotels steps from Union Square that charge almost half of what we paid ($200/night). While you won't go wrong staying here, you can find an equally lovely old hotel for $120/night. Apart from the price, we had a great experience and I would recommend it to friends and family - but I would also recommend they shop around first. If you can avoid it - do not bring a car (BART from SFO is very easy and walking distance from the Powell St. Station). The valet took forever and was very expensive. It was a nice stay, but next time, I will go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2dkdkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I am not the sort to write reviews but I feel compelled to in this case! I have been very impressed with the Inn at Union Square. Excellent location, nicely appointed with Aveda products, a quality breakfast spread and Pete's coffee included, plus wine and apps every night. The customer service has been exceptional and the rooms very well cared for and clean. I stayed in one of the queen suites at the front of the hotel on the street. The bedroom was off the street and very quiet, the suite spacious. Overall, this has been such a find and I will be back again for sure!

Room Tip: get a queen suite! I would recommend the 4th or 6th floors as the food is served in the lobby outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and for posting you comments. We are glad you enjoyed our quiet yet central location just off Union Square, our amenities and complimentary breakfast. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a week's vacation in San Francisco, staying at the Inn at Union Square. I carefully researched SF hotels in advance on TripAdvisor and Expedia, and I chose this hotel because it consistently achieved high ratings on both websites.

We were not disappointed, as we found the hotel to be an absolute gem.

Firstly, it's ideally located, only half a block from the busy Union Square, but in a quiet setting, which is great for relaxing after a busy day and also getting a good night's sleep (i.e. no noise from the Powell St cable car).

The hotel itself is very nicely furnished in both the bedrooms and in the public areas, and the friendly, personal service from the staff made us feel like we were guests in a luxury home rather than staying in a impersonal large hotel chain. It's hard to explain how they achieved this, I guess it's a combination of the friendly and welcoming staff, the attention to detail, and the atmosphere which this creates. The owner and management clearly put a lot of effort into doing everything to a high standard.

One thing which isn't mentioned in much detail on the hotel website is the continental breakfast. Prior to our trip, I had thought we would actually skip this, and go out for breakfast each morning, but I was actually pleasantly surprised at the comprehensive buffet. This includes cereals, yoghurts, fruit juice, croissants, bagels, bread/toast, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, and a range of teas and coffees. The only thing not on offer is a full cooked breakfast, and if you fancy Eggs Benedict one day, you can always go to Lori's Diner one block up on Powell Street. There's also the option of taking the breakfast back to your room on a tray if you fancy breakfast in bed!

We also enjoyed the cheese & biscuits and wine provided by the hotel each evening, and spent some time chatting to the other guests. It's a really nice friendly environment.

There's also home-baked cookies and tea/coffee available in the parlour in the middle of the night if you suffer from jet lag or insomnia.

I would definitely recommend the Inn at Union Square without hesitation, and it would be my first choice for my next trip.

Room Tip: The King Superior room are on the side of the hotel, so don't have noise from Post Street. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your feedback. You have given us the ultimate praise by saying you will return to stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. We are glad you enjoyed the Aveda amenities, complimentary breakfast with Peets coffee and our evening wine and cheese offerings. Thank you again for posting a review and we will see you soon.

kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane WA
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

When we left after a three night stay last weekend we were asked what they could have done to make our stay better. We couldn't think of anything- lovely quiet room, very customer oriented, friendly and competent service, amenities included free wifi, nice continental breakfast and generous evening wine and cheese.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2manyplacestogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,163 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,757 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
438 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square, a Greystone Hotel, is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing