We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay for our weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #5 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice stay for our weekend away”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Loved the hotel staff!! So helpful and knowlegable. The staff really goes out of their way to make you feel like a special, valued guest! Hotel is perfectly located for shopping, eating and nightlife. Very cozy and clean hotel. Loved the wine and cheese offered nightly and met some nice people while enjoying some local wines. Rooms are somewhat basic, a bit small but what do you expect in S.F? Bed was extemely comfortable and we loved the Aveda products in the bath. Only complaints are the pillows were a little hard / lumpy and we thought the room was a bit noisy at night. The noise was not from other people staying in the hotel but ground noise from the city and we were on the 6th floor. Overall a really nice stay in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank movietitle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate your comments and for staying at the Inn at Union Square. Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service to make each guest feel at home. We are glad you enjoyed our central location, comfortable beds and evening wine and cheese service. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels return you to San Francisco.
Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    383
    67
    19
    8
See reviews for
168
984
89
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was probably the quietest hotel we've ever stayed in in a large city. The Inn at Union Square is a very small, charming, peaceful oasis. As others have noted, it isn't for everyone: the lobby is tiny, the corridors are narrow and the rooms look out to a narrow gap between two buildings with plants and small fountains to improve the appearance. But with just a handful of rooms on each floor, it really does feel like a home away from home. None of the rooms face the street and there are small public rooms at the front of each floor, so there is a good bit of protection from sirens and other city noises. Our King Suite on the second floor was excellent with lots of old building character balanced with a comfortable bed and furniture, a small but spotless bathroom and a separate sitting room with a desk and two chairs. Very comfortable for a couple for a long weekend. A few doors down, there was a small room with a computer and printer for guest use and a small sitting area with coffee and tea. Up one floor, a continental breakfast was served each morning: hard boiled eggs, a couple of cereal choices, bagels and cream cheese, a vareity of sweet rolls, croissants and scones, plus bananas and yogurt. Each evening the same area offers red and white wines, an elegant cheese tray (not a pre-sliced tray of american cheese!), crackers and mixed nuts.The hotel is located half a block from Union Square and within easy walking distance of dozens of restaurants, cable cars, streetcars, shopping, etc. The hotel offers limited room service selections from the Morton's Steakhouse next door, but it is easy to find good meals within 2-3 blocks. We used the hotel's valet service because we needed a car for a business meeting after our weekend in San Francisco, but we did not get the car out until we left. There is not a large valet staff, so you need to allow 15-30 minutes to get your car (just call the front desk in advance). This is not the hotel for those who are looking for a big corporate hotel but if you like the idea of a quaint, old building that is beautifully restored with excellent service that is a quiet oasis in the city, this might be a good choice for you. We will be back. And I must mention the friendly and pleasant service. The young man who was at the front desk each night while we were there gave us very good restaurant recommendations and everyone we met was pleasant and helpful. Perfect for adult visitors to San Francisco.

Room Tip: The suites are really nice and although still compact, they do give more room to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArkansasOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at The Inn at Union Square for 3 nights during our honeymoon tour of California. We chose the hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and recommendations in Frommers and wasn't disappointed! The hotel is perfectly placed, just a minutes walk from Union Square and all it's shopping!

We arrived a bit early so our room wasn't quite ready however the reception staff offered to keep our bags whilst we went exploring for a couple of hours. Once we arrived back, check-in was effortless and we were shown to our room on the first floor where we found our bags waiting for us.

We had booked a Queen Deluxe room which was amazing and felt so homely. The decor was beautiful and everything was so clean and fresh. We had a separate living area with desk and wardrobes, with a bathroom/shower room in the middle off a small lobby and the bedroom at the end (with another wardrobe). Even though you were right in the middle of San Francisco, it was so quiet and peaceful. There wasn't a view from our room, we basically looked out onto a wall which I think most of the rooms did, however they had fitted trellis to the wall opposite and had window boxes with flowers in it which showed they really made an effort to make the rooms as best as they could for their guests.

The free wine from around 6-7pm every evening was a really nice touch too. We went along on two evenings and enjoyed the accompanying cheese, biscuits and other nibbles they had on offer but generally took it back to our room (like most other guests did) and enjoyed it with our feet up watching the TV which was just what we needed after a hard day walking and exploring the city!

There wasn't a coffee machine in our room however there was freshly brewed coffee available 24/7 out in the lobby on every floor. There was a small sitting area so you could either have your coffee there whilst looking out the window watching the hustle and bustle outside or take it back to your room. They also had amazing cookies left in a jar on the lobby table every evening which again were amazing!

The continental breakfast was served in the lobby, on the floor above us which again was really great and had plenty on offer. You simply filled your tray with everything you wanted and either sat and enjoyed it at the table there or took it back to your room.

The staff were always very friendly, very willing to help with any queries and we really couldn't fault them in any way.

This is the perfect hotel for someone wanting a cosy hotel which feels like a home from home. We couldn't fault it in any way and if we ever return to San Francisco, we'll definitely be heading back here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsVix_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you chose the Inn at Union Square to be part of your honeymoon. We are pleased you found our quiet, cozy rooms, excellent location, complimentary breakfast and wine hour to your liking and that our friendly staff enhanced your experience. We take great pride in providing ever guest with an exceptional experience and we appreciate your kind comments and feedback. We look forward to your return visit.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My sister and I (middle 40's) stayed at this charming bed and breakfast place on a Friday night in January. We wanted to do dinner in the city and then stay overnight at the inn.

First of all, the location is unbeatable, literally in the heart of Union Square and half a block from Saks Fifth Avenue. It is an easy 4 block walk from the Powell BART station so if you are coming from the East Bay, you don't need to drive to the hotel, or if you are coming from the SFO BART station, just get off at the Powell Street BART station.

The receptionist couldn't be friendlier and made us feel welcome right away. We missed the wine and cheese hour (late afternoon to early evening) so I can't review the offerings. We booked the penthouse (Room 605) and it was worth every penny. Although the room is still not particularly spacious, the bathroom was wonderful (Jacuzzi style oversized tub) and there was even a separate sitting room with a nice vanity. Very convenient for women applying makeup or styling their hair.

The bed was very comfortable. The soundproofing was great - even though Union Square is busy on a Friday night, the windows must be double paned - we both are light sleepers and we didn't hear anything.

Although they offer room service from Morton's steakhouse, I would dine out - there is no excuse. There are so many wonderful restaurants within 2 blocks (Farallon) and if you venture less than half a mile, there is Michael Mina's.

Breakfast was good - a nice assortment of pastries - fresh squeezed orange juice and Peet's coffee.

Although the penthouse has a fireplace, if you are used to fireplaces in Mendocino or Big Sur, you might be a little disappointed - not many logs. But this is such a minor point, which is why I am still rating this property 5 stars. The service is wonderful.

Room Tip: Book the penthouse. Yes, it is the most expensive room, but you get what you pay for and it is still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wctraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your comments. We are so glad you had such a nice time in the city and that our great location, complimentary breakfast and comfortable beds met your approval. Our staff loves to pamper our guests and we appreciate the mention of the warm welcome you received. You will have to partake in our wine and cheese hour during your next visit, which I hope will be soon.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Upon entering the lobby (which is quite small) we were greeted by a very friendly woman who was helpful throughout the stay. She had several suggestions on parking (which is always a nightmare in SF - especially in Union Square). The hotel itself is pretty cramped which gives it a boutique/B&B feel. The room itself is a bit small but on par w/ rooms I've stayed while in SF. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. No views from our room, but for the location and cleanliness of the hotel for $190 that's a pretty good deal.

Only real complaint was the noise of the staff setting up for breakfast around 6am. I'm assuming that was just our room - directly next to the elevator - and not the same for every guest. I won't know unless I go back and stay in a different room.

The free wine and cheese was an unexpected bonus and the inn keeper Wayne was a fountain of knowledge about the city. He gave us several suggestions about dinner and lunch the following day. The staff was very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid the room next to the elevator. It's noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El-Dave-erino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I decided to celebrate the 20th anniversary of our love in one of our most favorite cities in the USA. We looked for a boutique style hotel in the heart of the town, ideally located to explore the city by walking or close to public transportation. Although normally more thrilled about a contemporary interior design style, we've opted this time for an updated traditional approach.
With the Inn at Union Square we've found all this criteria matched and enjoyed a wonderful 4 night stay, surrounded by the year's end holiday buzz in an oasis of calm and peace. Pleasantly situated in a junior suite, we've enjoyed the complimentary breakfast with almond croissants, Yoghurt, fruit, bagels and juice and/or Peets Coffee or Tea, offered in buffet style on the fifth and third floor. We met other hotel guests enjoying another complimentary feature, picking on some hors d'oeuvres and sipping a little red or white wine from regional wineries, offered daily between 5 and 7PM. Our room was clean and checked twice a day, kept in a classic red and gold ocher color scheme it created a certain coziness. The room was quiet, just the view a bit boring featuring other buildings backsides and air conditions.
The staff was attentive and helpful and friendly. As the location is right of Union Square, we could easily walk to the Museum of Modern Art (15 Min.) and the opposite located park with a great Tea House called Samovar, offering an incredibly wonderful selection of exotic teas and tasty snacks. China Town or Little Italy are 10 respectively 25 Min or to the Ferry Building with its great Blue Bottle Coffee Place at the bay about 20 Min away. Fashionistas have their blast as almost any of the renown brands or department stores are right in the vicinity.
We've also enjoyed a French Bistro with Live Jazz just a short stroll away and a good Guinness Beer in an Irish Pub around the corner. Yes and not to forget the ideal location for a second breakfast or lunch, "La Boulangerie" offering a French orientated menu. By now you should realize, we've truly had a good time and enjoyed every minute.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the Junior Suites on the 4 or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the recent visit to the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your feedback. We are very glad we were a part of your 20th Anniversary and that you had such a great visit to San Francisco. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our central yet peaceful location, our attentive friendly staff, evening wine hour and complimentary breakfast. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn this past November. It was lovely, quite charming and cozy. We enjoyed the classic ambiance and decor which was wonderfully reminiscent of historic San Francisco. The staff was warm and welcoming, and the service was great. We particularly enjoyed the common area on our floor where hotel guests could comfortably gather to enjoy the good company of interesting travellers while having a delicious continental breakfast or late afternoon snack. The Inn is located in a fun and vibrant neighborhood, and is walking distance from great shops, restaurants and public parks...which was really convenient for us! Next time we travel to San Francisco, we will really look forward to returning to the Inn at Union Square!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,083 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,749 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
1,149 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing