We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #4 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Small but enjoyable hotel providing great value. Location so close to Union Square was great. Accommodation was clean with well appointed rooms. Loved the wine and cheese touch late in the afternoons. Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digifella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square. We are very pleased you appreciated the complimentary wine and cheese hour and our clean and well appointed guest rooms. Our prime location makes visiting the sights of San Francisco quite easy. We look forward to your return visit soon.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn At Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,635)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 1,635 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I had stayed here a couple of years ago and loved it, so it was my first choice for this trip. I stayed here for 6 nights while attending a conference at the Moscone convention centre and was looked after so well. The staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful, and came up with good restaurant suggestions nearby to suit the various occasions. I managed to get to a couple of the cheese and wine gatherings in the evenings before the conference really kicked in and enjoyed the chance to chat to a range of interesting people, which seems to be a feature of this hotel. Having continental breakfast available from 7 was great on mornings with an early dash to the conference - it was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel to the conference centre.

My room was great. Quiet is much more important to me than a view for a trip like this, and it was amazing how quiet the room was when just outside the front of the hotel was the hubbub of Union Square. The beds are also extremely comfortable.

I now feel this is my home away from home in San Francisco, and could not imagine going anywhere else. I'm sure I'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyD61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at The Inn at Union Square Wed Nov 21to Fri Nov 23rd. Being our first trip to San Francisco, the location of this hotel could not has been better. From SFO airport we hopped on the BART transit system to the Powell station and made the 4 block walk to the hotel.
Just steps from Union Square, great shopping, great restaurants and tourists stops such as double decker buses and cable cars made getting around so easy.
The continental breakfast was amazing as well as the wonderful wine and cheese in the evenings. The staff was so friendly and helpful with anything you need.
We did not spend much time at the hotel but when we did it completely met our expectations. Rooms are on the smaller size but the price was unbeatable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and we are truly honored you chose us for part of your honeymoon. We are very pleased you found our convenient location, breakfast and wine hour to your liking. Our friendly, professional staff is always eager to please and take excellent care of our guests. We hope you return soon, or at the very least, on your anniversary.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn At Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I visited SF recently after a gap of 5 years and picked this hotel for the good location. We were pleased to stay here as it suited our needs for this visit which was for a long weekend in October. The rooms were much better than we could have expected and off course the location was heart of town so we were happy that we booked this Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed her for a week of our honeymoon and could not have picked anywhere better to stay. The hotel is fairly small (6 floors) which gives it more of a boutique feel than being a big corporate. The room itself was very comfortable and quiet despite the hotel being less than a minutes walk from union Square. Each floor has a small kitchen area with tea and coffee and there is also wine out in the early evening and breakfast in the morning (muffins / toast / cereal / fruit - that sort of thing).

All the staff were fantastic and made us feel so welcome. The manager has left us a letter along with some champagne when we arrived congratulating us on our wedding and everyone who worked there was friendly and helpful and really helped to contribute to a fantastic week in San Francisco.

In short, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting SF!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our third stay at the hotel and we were not disappointed. The quaint boutique hotel continues to delight us and we recommend it highly.

On this occasion we opted for a junior suite as the standard rooms are fairly small (very well equipped though) and we prefer more space. The cost of the larger room was only marginal. In fact overall the pricing is fabulous. Not only are the room rates very well priced, there are some excellent inclusions including; complimentary continental breakfast (wide range of options), tea and coffee avail all day, daily evening wine and cheese between 5.30-7pm, turndown service with bottled water, cookies in the evenings and a range of other things. Whilst there is no restaurant on site, room service is available based on the menu of Morton's steakhouse next door.

The staff are excellent and offer a very personal yet professional service. Nothing is too much trouble. As always, we were made to feel very welcome.

The location is also a bonus. Located just at Union Square, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the Union Square shopping precinct, restaurants, bars, China Town and the famous cable cars. Areas like Fisherman's Wharf, Golden Gate Park, etc are a short taxi ride away. I'm sure public transport would be easy too.

A highly recommended hotel for your next visit to San Francisco. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Rooms are small but well equipped. A junior suite is a good option for more space at very little ext...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square and for recommending us to fellow travelers. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location near the famous cable cars and Chinatown, complimentary breakfast and our professional service. The highest compliment you can bestow is a return visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Despite the small room and the total absence of a view, we we more than happy with what we were provided. Everything worked. The bathroom was functional and in excellent order, the Aveda toiletry amenities a nice touch; the Internet connection both free and fast; the mattress was firm enough and in good order; continental breakfast was fresh and of good quality and the dining area was clean. On checking out, our car, parked by the valet service, was returned at 4:30am - exactly as requested. I'd have no hesitation in recommending the Inn at Union Square to any of my friends.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank da_lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,312 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 229 in San Francisco
1,229 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 229 in San Francisco
2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $210 - $1,432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing