We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #5 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The only place to stay”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

After a horrible experience at a different San Francisco hotel the inn at union square was a warm welcome. It was everything you could imagine in a hotel and more. My favourite place I have ever stayed anywhere in my travels, while having a large number of rooms felt more like a small bed and breakfast than how big it actually was . While for some young budget travellers it may seem a bit on the pricey side but when you are guarantee the safety of its surrounds and all the added extras it should not be turned down. Their extra servies I appreciate we're the little weather report every evening for the following day , free Internet and printing access if you we're printing tickets or activity passes from , free wifi, lovely breakfast, robes, daily fresh towels, daily newspaper, boot shining service, in room meals, they can book your shuttles for you or sell you hop on hop of bus tickets, there is nothing I have to complain about this hotel, they allowed me to borrow their iPhone charger until I could buy a new one as it was left at another hotel, and assisted you in every possible way you may need. Even to bringing up sticky tape to my room so I could securely wrap my Christ,as decorations. Nothing but praise , lovely staff, great tea and coffee and breakfast facilities worth every cent and more!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    382
    67
    18
    8
See reviews for
168
973
88
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had to attend a conference in SF in the Union Square area. The mega high rise hotels give you nothing but a room with a bed. This European style boutique hotesl offers friendly, personal service, a wonderful continental breakfast, and an evening wine and cheese get together. The rooms, while on the smaller side are spotlessly clean and the beds extremely comfortable. The location can't be beat - just a few steps from Union Square shopping, restaurants and the cable car lines to Fisherman's Wharf and just a 15-20 minute nice walk to the financial district.
The service was gracious and the help extended by all at the front desk make this a true gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JERROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have stayed here a number of times and each time it feels more like being with old friends. Wayne, the innkeeper is very kind and helpful. Whether it be a dining, shopping, wine country ? or pleasant conversation, Wayne is key. Ann, @ reception is sooo friendly and gracious, I always look forward to a hug. Oliva and Omar, also at the front desk are quite helpful with restaurant information, directions, valet....you name it and they come through. If you are looking for a nice peaceful sanctuary when you come through the doors, this is the place. Housekeeping and maintenance always smile and say hello if they pass you in the hall. We were in Napa and left in time with our friends to make it back for happy hour @ The Inn.... we liked their selection of wines just as much as the wine country. Hope we can always find a room here, so our hearts will be content !!! xo

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square and thank you very much for your kind comments. Our staff is always pleased to hear the feedback from guest and we are sure to share yours with Wayne, Ann, Omar and Oliva. We look forward to welcoming our friends back in the near future

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn At Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Came here on the back of the great reviews and was not disappointed. This is a truly great hotel.

To start with, probably the easiest check in we've ever had and we were told our room had been upgraded to a junior king suite (we'd booked a king room). Also told we could go up to wine and cheese session if we wanted. Room was at the back of the hotel and quiet away from street noise. Bed large and comfortable with good shower. Clean room with water and chocolate given in the evening with card of the next days weather.

The hotel is in a great location only steps from Union Square, the cable cars etc. The staff at the front desk are pleasant and helpful with recommendations for things to do and good restaurants.

Breakfast is a spread of very good pastries with coffee, orange juice and water to drink. The wine and cheese in the evening is a good way to meet other guests, and the white wine we tried was really very nice.

Overall we had a great stay, and if we ever returned to SF I would definitely stay here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vicken11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Not only was the location fantastic, (super close to great shopping, restaurants & sights) but the entire hotel is so clean, cozy and comfortable. The breakfast and complimentary happy hour were great. But the best of all is the staff, everyone were exceptionally warm and welcoming, helping us with what ever we needed. And do not leave with out meeting Wayne the Inn Keeper. he has so much knowledge about every aspect of San Fran, and he's a great guy to have a drink with at the happy hour!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gtdfrresagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night. Ann at the front desk was fabulous! She found out we were celebrating my boyfriend's 50th birthday and had champagne, chocolates and a rose sent up to the room!
Great location, very comfortable bed.
The hotel is older but very nice. Continental breakfast was average. Evening wine and cheese was very good!

Room Tip: The only con is the elevator is very small. I chose to take the stairs, even though it was 4 flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aloha000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn at Union Square and that you found our staff, beds and wine hour to your liking. Once again, Happy Birthday and thank you for your patronage and your feedback.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn At Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have stayed in many many hotels worldwide in my time and Inn On The Square, San Francisco has to go down as one of the best ever. The hotel is ideally located a few steps from Union Square with all its shopping, restaurants and entertainment. Our room was comfortable, spaceous, spotlessly clean and so quiet and peaceful. The management and staff are extremely welcoming and provide the highest standards of hotel service and helpfulness in getting the the best out of our visit to San Francisco, even bookking tickets for us on the spot. A lovely complimentary continental breakfast is provided which we took to our rooms, a rarity I find, in America, there is even a daily wine and hors d'oeuvres party, also complimentary. Coffee, tea and fruit are available at all times. In the end we didn't want to leave, my wife and I both highly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay there again if we return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesails50Crawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,022 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing