We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #5 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay at the Inn last week! Our suite was so charming and just the perfect size. After a minor issue with our orginial room we were quickley moved to a room on the 3rd floor facing the back, which was nice and peaceful for sleeping. It was quite warm in the city while we were there; yet we found the room to be very comfortable with just the ceiling fan running and the windows open. Wayne is the perfect host! He really enjoys chatting and spending time with the guest. All the employees were very happy and helpful whenever we needed anything. The location is perfect, you certainly do not need a car....you're just steps away from the cable line and a short walk to the F-line that will get you to just about anywhere you need to go, along with wonderful restaurants and shopping within walking distance. They get you started in the morning with a nice little breakfast which was just perfect for us. There was a special wine tasting one evening that we were able to enjoy - it was a nice time to meet some other guest and receive some nice dinner recomendations too. We requested a taxi for our morning departure; he arrived promptly and was very pleasant as was our time at the inn. San Francisco is a Wonderful City and The Inn at Union Square is a Wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are nice and quite....especially in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear guest,

We truly appreciate your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square and for posting your feedback. Our guest comments are vital to ensuring our product and service not only match but exceed your expectations. We are very pleased you enjoyed our amenities such as breakfast, wine hour and of course, our friendly, helpful staff. We hope you return soon to to shop and dine and relax at the Inn at Union Square.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn At Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

966 - 972 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Regretfully we only stayed the one night. Well located ontop of Union Square. Near Train station and even better the tram cars. Very clean room. Slightly small but a really good bathroom with good toileteries. The braekfast was very good and they even provided tarys so you could have breakfast in bed.
At 5.30 they also laid out wine. cheese. nuts. biscuits and a little meat.
Brilliant!!!

Room Tip: Stayed on 3rd floor but was told if you can get them rooms on the higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Inn @ Union Square is a bit outdated but I love the ambiance of it. A real treat is the breakfast lounge and canapes and wine during cocktail hour that are complimentary. Clean and comfortable beds but we had a toilet that was running all the time. Hopefully they fixed it.

Lots of shopping, bus connections and great restaurants nearby.

I would really rate this property @ 3.5 stars.

W

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wlmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Think this is our third or fourth return visit to Inn at Union Square - we find it a great central location for some last minute shopping, cable cars, China Town - and some great restaurants. Disappointed with the size of our room this trip (K Superior - expensive for a small room, but it was a very busy peak time in SF at the time of our visit) - in the past we have had larger rooms. The free breakfast is great as are the wine and cheese evenings - though quiet at the time of our visit which probably reflects the business travellers - previous years have been lively and interesting. We always welcome the restaurant recommendations from Wayne (the Innkeeper) and his wise counsel on "what's on in SF". We had a late flight out of SF and the hotel offers to hold bags and use of the "parlour" on the second floor once checked out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred & Denny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks you for your continued support and patronage of the Inn at Union Square. It is truly our pleasure to welcome you back when your travels bring you to San Francisco. We are very glad you enjoy our central location, complimentary breakfast and evening wine hour. Looking forward to your return

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn At Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night here this month(oct) and the staff was very friendly, offered us a low cost last minute deal. Rooms were a bit outdated but cute and clean. Hotel is small, tiny hallways but you won't get much better for this price in San Fran.
The bathroom has a heated fan which was amazing, especially after exiting the shower.
Very good value hotel with breakfast included.
Close to shopping, bus, transportation trolley, etc.
Aveda bath products were a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great location for a few days exploring the San Fran sights. Bus, cable car and subway all within close walking distance. The staff are very friendly and helpful with local information, directions and maps. We had a late flight and they gladly stored our bags for us until we were ready to leave. Our room was a comfortable size with ample space for us to sit and enjoy the continental breakfast and complimentary wine and cheese in the evening. Freshly baked cookies later in the evening were also a nice touch. Lack of air conditioning was a problem for some travellers with a couple of above average hot days but we found it most comfortable with the overhead fan.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SA1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your recent visit and for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed our friendly staff, great location and comfortable rooms. Our guests really do enjoy our evening wine and cheese and morning continental breakfast; however, the fresh baked cookies can be irresistible. We look forward to welcoming you back.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn At Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here recently with my husband on a holiday to San Francisco, largely because of the positive reviews on this site. If you are a bit of an adventurous traveller and like to stay in places with personality, then this is the place for you. It is not a chain hotel and we loved that. In fact it reminded us of the little hotels in Paris where attention is paid to detail (right down to the Aveda toiletries) and the staff take the time to remember your name. Of course it is in a wonderful location and you can basically walk any where in the city from Union Square or catch the great public transport so see all the sights the city is famous for.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hula-girl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Union Square and for posting your kind comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed our central and convenient location as well as our friendly staff. We look forward to your return visit so you can experience our “Eurpopean Vibe” and personality.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn At Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,469 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#19 of 230 in San Francisco
5,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,506 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,757 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $237 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing