We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnum Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #5 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This was my third stay at this Inn and all have been wonderful. I would never stay anyplace else when visiting San Francisco. It is so much better than the other hotels I have stayed at during many of my previous visits to this city. The staff is so welcoming and helpful in every way. The Inn offers so many amenities and comforts. The location is perfect for walking to different spots in the city. In fact, this is the best hotel I have ever stayed at in my extensive travels all over the United States and Europe. I hope to return even though I've become very disenchanted with travel by plane.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,132 - 1,138 of 1,676 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2011

We read a good majority of the '11 reviews of the Inn and were not disappointed when we arrived. The staff is friendly and very helpful assisting tourists navigating SF. For us, the evening wine and cheese gatherings and morning breakfasts were great not only for the food, but for the wonderful opportunities to meet folks from other countries. The atmosphere seemed more like a B&B than a hotel. Our room was comfortable, and away from street noise - a concern we light sleepers had prior to our arrival. Using a 3-day Muni pass, the map, and Omar's directions got us to all sites not within hiking distance. Wayne's stories and dining recommendations are not to be missed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We read the many positive reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to stay here. When we walked in, early, Ann at the front desk greeted us both with "Happy Birthday, Happy Birthday" (we both were celebrating birthdays on our trip and our son had sent packages and spilled the beans). We were upgraded to a junior suite, surprised with a bottle of champagne to celebrate our birthdays, and began what was the most wonderful hotel experience we have ever had (not kidding!!!). The Inn is a boutique hotel with just 30 rooms (6 floors) with an amazingly friendly, helpful and caring staff. As we found out, almost everyone who was staying there had found it on Trip Advisor (mostly Europeans and Canadians). Our room with a king bed also had a sitting area with 2 armchairs and a bathroom with a separate area for the sink and closet. Unbelievably clean - always!!! There is a business center with internet access on the 2nd floor complete with menus from nearby restaurants and brochures on the many things to do in San Francisco and the staff is more than happy to call to book anything you want to do. Coffee and tea are served every morning on each floor starting at 6:00 a.m. and fruit is available 24 hours a day. Breakfast is from 7:30 - 9:00 a.m. on the 3rd & 5th floors. It included muffins, pastries, croissants, bagels, toast, hard boiled eggs. yogurt, cereal, fruit and just about anything else you could want. After exploring San Francisco each day, we arrived back at our hotel for wine and hors'douerves from 5:30 - 7:00. What a great way to meet the other travelers staying at the hotel. Upon returning to the hotel after dinner and after 8:30 there were home-baked cookies and mints on your pillows and bottles of water after the staff turned down your bed. The cost is unbelievably reasonable for San Francisco and the hotel is right in the middle of Union Square ( just down the hill on Market Street you can catch the cable car, street cars, bus and BART; it's convenient to everything. I'm half afraid to submit this review because The Inn at Union Square might not be available if we come back someday. Book early - it was sold out to anyone who asked when we were there!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MooreaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Just come back from a really good trip and couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful and I slept really well hearing no traffic at all. The location is just excellent next to Union Square and it took about half an hour to get to and from the airport.

It was so handy having free wifi in the hotel and also the business room was useful for printing off documents. The wine and crackers was most welcome too and a great way for a solo traveller like me to meet other people.

If I have one niggle it is with breakfast in that it was only Kosher yoghurt that was provided (with Kosher gelatine and I don't drink milk either) so I couldn't eat it with the delicious granola. I did mention this but there was nothing done about it. It sounded as if the staffs' hands were tied.

Will definitely stay there again if I go back to San Francisco. Thank you all !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Very happy memories of this hotel. Our room was lovely, if a little strangely shaped. The staff were very friendly & helpful. The complimentary cheese & wine every evening is a great idea - a chance to meet new people and compare notes in a strange city. Breakfast is help yourself and take it back to your room.
We were there the night the Giants won the World Series (rounders); it was one of the best nights of my life.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dompelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Half block from Powell & Union Square. An old, narrow building with well designed & comfortable rooms. Single hallway is very narrow and people passing would almost be nose-to-nose. The single elevator is slow. Small entrance that can easily become crowded with people coming and going with luggage. Receptionists are very friendly and helpful. BUT...........
I can't honestly remember seeing any fire alarm switches, extinguishers, or sprinklers, but they may be there; worth verifying. There's a metal fire escape at the front of each hallway, but residents in the back rooms would be hard pressed to make their way thru a narrow hallway that could quickly fill up with smoke in the event of a fire. There is NO provision for escape out the back windows, other than jumping.

I would definitely return if this major shortcoming was rectified.

Room Tip: Lower floor at the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honestabe96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your kind comments regarding the rooms and the staff. In response to your concerns about our safety systems in place at the Inn, I would like to assure you that the well being of our guests is our top priority. We are fully compliant with local and state laws regarding our fire and emergency systems. The building is equipped with a sprinkler system in the hallways, common areas, stairwells and guest rooms with drop down heads so they are not visible until deployed. We have pull stations on all floors and have two stairwells, one in the rear of the building and one in the middle, in addition to the fire escape on the front façade. Our common areas are also equipped with fire extinguishers and fire hoses located across from the elevators on all floors. All exits are clearly marked with illuminating signs that have battery back up in case of a power failure. In addition to these features, the entire building is monitored 24 hours a day by our alarm company and has smoke detectors in each room as well as the common areas. We are inspected yearly by the fire department for compliance, our alarm company conducts quarterly inspections for all systems and our maintenance staff conducts daily visual inspection of the facility to ensure all systems are functioning. Furthermore, our employee driven safety committee meets monthly to review all safety issues within the building.

I trust that this explanation will put your mind at ease in regards to the importance the safety and security of our guests are to the employees and management at the Inn at Union Square. We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you back to San Francisco.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Norbert Mede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We could not recommend this hotel highly enough. Centrally located in the heart of San Francisco, The Inn at Union Square is an ideal choice. We stayed in this hotel for three nights whilst on our honeymoon in San Fran and were very impressed with the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. The little extras the hotel offered such as wine tasting evenings were suburb.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flahertyeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,425 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,739 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,497 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $218 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing