We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel in the heart of San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #4 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
“Cosy hotel in the heart of San Francisco”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We could not recommend this hotel highly enough. Centrally located in the heart of San Francisco, The Inn at Union Square is an ideal choice. We stayed in this hotel for three nights whilst on our honeymoon in San Fran and were very impressed with the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. The little extras the hotel offered such as wine tasting evenings were suburb.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flahertyeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    387
    68
    19
    8
See reviews for
173
1,002
89
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Everything at The Inn was exactly what we were looking for: central location, clean and functional hotel with the bonus of having extremely friendly staff. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed, the complimentary evening drinks and snacks were a fabulous touch too.

We will definitely come back when we are back again in San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abjj80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at The Inn on Union Square for 4 nights in June. The hotel has a fantastic location with Union Square located just around the corner, only 5mins walk to Market Square, Westgate Shopping mall, trains, buses and trams.

On arrival the staff greeted us and were very friendly and helpful with things to do in San Francisco, gave us a map and recommended nearly restaurants and diners. Our room was on the 3rd Floor and was an adequate size and very clean. The bed was very comfortable with lots of fluffy pillows, complementary chocolates and water, a good sized flat screen TV and free wi-fi. We did not have a view however, this was to be expected given we were on the 3rd Floor! The bathroom was extremely clean with fluffy towels changed daily, freebe shampoos/conditioners/cotton buds etc.

The hotel provided a fantastic breakfast with a choice of pasteries, bagels & cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, muffins, tea/coffee and orange juice etc. They even provide free home made cookies in the evening too! There was a huge selection which we took on our tray to our room to enjoy. The hotel also offers free drinks in the evenings where guests can mingle which I thought was a nice touch. The staff are very friendly and helpful-we made a booking for Giants tickets on the internet and they have an office area where you can use the computer and print out tickets etc which was an excellent service. Overall, we loved our stay and would highly recommend staying at this hotel. We think it represents excellent service, quality and value for money for your stay in San Fran.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwifruitontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plmcpa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2011

If you are looking for a big lobby and lots of room to explore a hotel, this ain't it. Small european style. Small reception desk and elevator, that's it for the lobby. Elevator (six people is tight) only out of commission once for a short time. And you may have to walk sideways to fit in the narrow hallways.

Room is clean, big enough, flat screen tv, bottled water, comfy bed and soft linens. Had a brick wall view but wasn't expecting any view of worth. Nice wine and cheese, dried fruit & nuts put out in the evening. Continental bkfst more than satisfactory. And choc chip cookies avail at night. nice touch. Had to search for ice machine and finally found a little contraption on the sixth floor. A few more ice machines would be worthwhile.

Valet parking with unlimited in and out very very convenient. I'd just pull up to the front of the hotel and hand the front desk my keys and keep walking. perfect. the many convenient factors of this hotel give it a big boost.

I think Union Sq is a great location, very central and vibrant.

All employees were very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plmcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Inn at Union Square was the best hotel experience we ever had.
This is a well managed, well maintained boutique hotel with European charm, an aura of unique coziness and elegance.
The staff: Professional, friendly, efficient, helpful, informative, discreet. All employees go above and beyond to provide exceptional service. Thank you Wayne, David, Ken, Ann,
Omar and housekeepers.
The location: Prime location, less than 1/2 block off Union Square, walking distance to major points of interest, best stores, excellent restaurants, and public transportation.
The room: Clean, quiet, elegant, most comfortable bed, large flat screen TV. Window opens to enjoy fresh San Francisco air and the amazing street musicians.
The bathroom; Clean, comfortable, Aveda products, soft snow white towels, makeup mirror, Q-Tips, makeup remover pads, shower caps.
Complimentary: Delicious continental breakfast, wine and cheese(gourmet) reception hosted by Inn Keeper extraordinaire Wayne Olson every afternoon, morning newspaper, WiFi, coffee, tea, fresh fruit 24 hours/day, chocolates, freshly baked cookies and bottled water every night.
My two daughters and I stayed at this gem of a hotel for six nights. With each additional day we appreciated the hospitality, warmth, and safety of this star hotel more, and found it hard to leave.
Special THANK YOU to the gracious renaissance man Wayne Olson who made us feel very spoiled and special.
We will definitely return to this great hotel and will highly recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Editka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at The Inn at Union Square as part of our honeymoon in June 2011. The hotel is older style but the rooms have been renovated and they were very clean and comfortable and of good size. This hotel is small, with only about 30 rooms and this allows the staff to get to know the patrons, and we could not fault them. They were always friendly and willing to help in any way and the nightly wine and cheese tastings with the Inn keeper (I think it is Wayne) were a real highlight with many wines from the local Napa Valley to enjoy. Breakfast was included and was very pleasant with pastries, fresh fruit and tea and coffee and each level had a quaint mini dining room to enjoy it in (which was also used for the wine tasting). In all I have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, warm and cozy place to stay in San Francisco with great service.

I must note however, and this is by no way a blight on the hotel, that Union Square is an area inhabited by a large number of homeless people, we found it very confronting the amount of beggars we had to negotiate daily in San Francisco. They are not in front of the hotel, but are in abundance just a short walk away whenever you enter Union square, be warned.

Room Tip: Use the tripadvisor rates function
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blandab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Anne greeted us at reception and was sweet, helpful, funny and really welcoming. The hotel was clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated and in a perfect position right next to Union Square. The evening wine and crackers was a generous touch and the breakfast was all inclusive and plentifull. We stayed here for 4 nights and had a lovely time, we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa6155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,244 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,781 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
474 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 229 in San Francisco
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Property: The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing