We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will return to the "Inn"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #4 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We will return to the "Inn"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

We just returned from a four night stay at the Inn at Union Square. We found this location by reading reviews on tripadvisor.com and could not have been more pleased with the hotel and it's location. The hotel itself was very clean and the staff were all very friendly and concerned with making your stay comfortable. We stayed in room 401 which is a smaller suite with two rooms. The sitting room faced Post street, the front of the hotel. The bedroom window overlooked an alley with no real view but this was good, it made for a very quite sleep time. The breakfast and wine service was held on the third and fifth floor so it was just a walk up or down to eat and drink without having all the foot traffic on your floor. The location of the hotel is right in Union Square, great walking distance from many activities and great restaurants. We flew into San Francisco and took a taxi to the hotel. Leaving from our stay we had an early morning flight and inquired about having a taxi waiting for our trip to the airport. The desk recomended a car service, Bernie's Limousines, which really worked out great. The cost was just a few dollars more then a taxi. The driver professional, the car roomy and clean.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixmaster300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    373
    65
    18
    8
See reviews for
165
962
85
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in May 2011. We were left with a very positive impression. Given the price and location, the rooms were very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. A particular highlight was the continental breakfast. This was served at the end of certain floors and could be taken back to the room on trays. There was free wireless internet. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

My mom, sister, and I stayed at The Inn at Union Square May 6th-8th. We stayed in a Queen Suite on the 6th floor and it was perfect for the 3 of us. The directions that we had to get there were perfect, and valet made parking a breeze. Check in was very fast as well.

The room was clean. It is small, but so quaint and very comfortable. The location was perfect. We usually stay at larger chain hotels, so this was a big change for us and we were pleasantly surprised. The wine and cheese was great, we were able to enjoy that both evenings. The continental breakfast was fabulous with a great selection of pastrys, toast, bagles, yogurt, muffins, granola, raisin bran, coffee, juice, tea, and bananas! It was so convenient to just walk down one flight of stairs, get our breakfast, and walk back up to our room.

The location was great, just a few steps away from Union Square and the cable car stop!

The entire staff at the hotel was terrific, from housekeeping to the valet, from the front desk staff to the friendly man that visited people during the wine and cheese hour (which was actually 2 1/2 hours!). I have never had such fabulous service. I wish I could remember the names of the 2 gentlemen that worked at the front desk, they were both fantastic!

I hope to stay here again and I will recommend it to family and friends!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeVo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

This hotel has the best staff I have ever encountered. Every person we spoke to was friendly, and helpful. They all made us feel like they truly cared about us having a good experience at their hotel. They all took great pride in the hotel.
The continental breakfast was very nice, everything was fresh and tasty. We really enjoyed the wine and cheese experience in the evening. It was a special experience due to the quaint area it is set up in being so cozy that it lends itself to being a place that is very easy to start conversations. We sat very comfortably engaging in conversations with other travelers from all over the world. It was much nicer than gong to a local bar and it's free! Another extra special touch is the staff bakes homemade cookies and puts them out at 8 pm, yummy!
The hotel is right by Union Square and all that it has to offer. It is also very close to every type of transportation San Francisco has to offer so getting from place to place is very easy without having to rent a car. It is also a very good location for being able to walk to places.
The only thing that was a bit ackward was the way the bathroom and closet is arranged in the suite we stayed in. However, that would not prevent me from staying there again. We did look at a couple of other rooms that had smaller living space but larger bathrooms. These older hotels only have so much space to work with which is also part of their charm. I must add that even though it is an older hotel it is excellently maintained. I've stayed in new hotel, high end hotels that weren't in as good of shape as this one.
If you like the hassle and bustle of the city, but like to begin and end your day with calm and quite this is the place for you. I really loved the experience we had.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and discuss what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimetwoGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

This is a boutique hotel which offers comfortable beds and a very friendly staff, and is also in a fantastic location, just a few blocks from a major train/subway station, and cable car stop. Typical of San Francisco hotels, rooms are small, but I prefer a small comfortable room than a large uncomfortable room. Daily continental breakfast offers fresh pastries and breads in a nice setting, and they have trays available to take food back to your room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spontantravelereous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

The inn is small, our taxi driver had 'never heard of it' but thankfully I found it on trip advisor! This is a historic hotel which has been well maintained. The staff are freindly and helpful, keen to provide restaurant tips, directions and helpful adivce on things to do depending on what you are looking for. It was great to eat in some not so touristy places.

The inn keeper Wayne came along to the wine and cheese 'mixer' where he introduced guests to each other. We meet some great other couples and ended up going out to dinner together which was nice.

I would recommend taking a look on travelzoo for cheap deals or book direct through the hotel, the internet rate is 20% off!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole76oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenixville, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Loved our stay at The Inn. Very friendly staff, front desk wonderful, great continental breakfast, happy hour from 5-7, got to make new friends, coffee and tea always available... clean rooms, quaint hotel...toll house cookies in the evening... listen to the strret vendors playing the sax as you read the paper and relax... couldn't ask for more...you should stay here!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamalotzaluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear mamalotzaluv,

Thank you for considering the Inn at Union Square as a “home away from home” on your recent visit to San Francisco. We are so pleased to hear that you loved your stay with us. It seems you were able to take advantage of many aspects of the Inn including our exceptional service, charming accommodations and wine reception.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,829 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing