We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tops as always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont San Francisco
Ranked #21 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amsterdam
1 review
“Tops as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Old school San Francisco property that not only attracts locals, families, and tourist, but also attracts trendy and upscale tech and commercial clients. Really impressive blend of people that works well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm very pleased to hear you had such a nice stay with us and look forward to sharing your feedback with the staff. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,802
    603
    230
    114
    97
See reviews for
688
1,109
98
612
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mclean
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with family for spring break. What a beautiful hotel. Staff were helpful and courteous. Room was updated. Great location with a trolley stop right next to building. Parking is really expensive but that is everywhere in San Fran. Stay out of the tonga room bar in the hotel because it sucks!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you such a nice visit and found the staff wonderful. I look forward to sharing your kind words with the team, I know they'll be pleased to hear it.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have stayed at several Fairmonts in USA and Canada and this one doesn't let you down. We contacted them prior to our visit as it was our joint 50th Birthday trip...they upgraded us and placed a birthday balloon in the room with a birthday card...wonderful touch. We'll the room was excellent high floor facing the bay with a view of the city, Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz. Brilliant brilliant can't fault this hotel for location right by cable cars, staff where excellent. Would definitely stay here again...thank you Fairmont you made our stay in SF special

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Signature Room facing the Bay....brilliant views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony-Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and happy belated birthday! I'm thrilled to hear your joint 50th birthday trip was such a memorable one and that you enjoyed our little gift to you both. The views from the tower are some of the most stunning and not to be missed. We pride ourselves on service, so it's nice to hear of your interactions with the team. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. We choose the hotel on location as it has great views of the city and the bay. The decor is wonderful and very well maintained. The staff are pleasant and very helpful. Our room was on the 17th floor and had recently had a refurbishment. It was a good size, and was beautiful. It had everything we needed. The shower gel and body lotion are very nice!

Breakfast is a little pricey but one of the best we have had in a hotel and what a fantastic room to eat breakfast in.
Getting to and from the hotel on foot is for the very fit or very stupid. Get taxis or use the tram, well you are in San Fracisco .......

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-happy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We are thrilled to hear you had such a nice time with us and sound like you're open to returning. We feel fortunate to be located atop Nob Hill and afforded such beautiful views of the City. I'm happy you enjoyed your tower room, as they offer some of the most stunning views of both the City and the Bay. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I've probably stayed at the Fairmont 10 times over a decade plus. My last stay was a disappointment. There are a lot of other choices in the area and many at a lower price. So I recommend you shop around. Example: the most basic part of any hotel is a good night sleep. This simply didn't happen in the main older section of the hotel--not the tower section which is where I've always stayed in the past. The walls are paper thin and a wake up call for the room next to me sounded like it was in my room. The doors are not very solid and all activity in the hall way sounds like its in your room. Plus I've stayed at many luxury hotels in many different countries and it's a bit old school and insulting to be billed for wi-fi especially based on the room costs, room service costs, etc. Again, there's several other luxury hotel choices in the area and many other high-end hotels that offer a better service/product. And, frankly, a few of the staff just acted a bit snobby failing the basic customer service skills. Shop around!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed here back in June when I was visiting family in San Francisco. The hotel was AMAZING from the service to the top notch amenities in the room. Visiting the Tonga Room at night is a must! The views of San Francisco from the Crown Room are one of a kind (highest point in San Francisco). I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to San Francisco and will visit other Fairmont Hotels as well!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thanks very much for your kind words about the hotel. It sounds like you had a great stay with us and plan on returning. Tonga Room is definitely a must and I'm happy you were able to experience. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

The second we rounded the corner in the airport transfer I took a gulp, looked at my wife and kids and said this one will be special. It was. I felt like royalty as we pulled up and entered this majestic hotel, with flags of the world proudly waving. The room we had was huge, I mean huge ! We were in 608, the walk in robe was big enough to use as a second room for kids ( we thought about it) but they had a great pull out sofa and meant all our 10 case were tucked away and all easily layer flat and could be opened. The views were ok, ocean glimpse, but pretty ok city vistas. It it on a very steep hill and we got fit in our 6 day stay ! This building built in 1906 and survived a killer earthquake of that year to open afterwards. It has had about 12 US presidents stay there and I would recommend. Downside very pricey breakfast so we just walked to star bucks but very very steep hills and while I loved every minute of not for faint hearted. The service was average, tip tip tip or just don't look at me. We struggled down stairs with suitcases and they look at you, ah you should have paid me to help you ! That type of approach, you smile and say hi and they looked blankly though you. But we more laughed it off and got on with. Staff have poor English too just a tip. All in all well worth it although pricey - but wow factor 10+

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm thrilled to hear you had such a nice stay with us and found the hotel so magical. As you mentioned we are the Grande Dame of Nob Hill and offer a sense of arrival that is unmatched. That being said, I'm sorry to hear of your experiences with some of the staff. We pride ourselves on service, and it sounds as if we fell short with you and your family. Hopefully you will return in the future and we can make your next stay even more memorable than your first. Thanks again and look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,829 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#28 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Francisco

Property: Fairmont San Francisco
Address: 950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Fairmont San Francisco hotel provides accommodations that are a testament to luxury with 592 individually furnished and decorated guest rooms. The 62 elegant suites offer impressive views of the City and Bay. The hotel combines classic ambience with modern amenities. For business travelers, Fairmont San Francisco hotel accommodations features include a spacious work desk, multi-line telephone with voice-mail and High Speed Internet Access. Each of the hotel's spacious guest rooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, luxury linen ensembles and pillow top beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing