We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We splurged”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont San Francisco
Ranked #29 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I recently took a 10 day roadtrip around Northern(ish) California in late June/early July of 2014. I used Trip Advisor extensively in selecting hotels for this adventure. This review is part of that vacation. Day 4 - had 2 nights planned in the SF area and as you can imagine it's difficult to find places that are not just ridiculously expensive and since we were road tripping, we needed to park a car. That can be an additional 40-60 $$ a day. As we were about to book a hotel I had never heard of with quite the array of reviews we got this pop up offer on Hotels.com for The Fairmont. $219 a night including free parking. We took it. Again, we were not spending a lot of time in the hotel, just needed a place to sleep. It's a lovely historic hotel that is very well renovated. No counter space in the bathroom but did have a walk in closet to keep everything out of sight and the head valet is fabulous! He's been there 30 yrs and can answer any question you have about the city or getting around and was oh sooooo helpful.I'd only stay here if you get a great rate and after you compare it to some of the nearby options. We didn't have to worry about homeless folks bugging us here which was nice. It was a short cab right to some places and right on the Trolly line if you can find one that isn't full to over flowing.

Room Tip: If you get a bargain deal it probably won't have a view but those views come with a big price ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thanks very much for commenting on your recent stay with us. I'm thrilled you included us on your Northern California exploration and that you enjoyed your visit. I'm also happy to hear of your experiences with our valet team. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the staff, I know they'll be thrilled to hear it. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,003 - 3,009 of 3,464 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

Let me say that after two weeks on the road, my entire experience at the Fairmont made my life that much better.

I went to check in and the receptionist correctly informed me that my reservation was for the previous night. I had made an error while making the reservation (myself). The lady at check-in told me that see would see what I could do, and went to speak with a manager. She came back and told me there would be no charge for my error. There are few businesses today that actually want to take care of their customer. Fairmont has earned my repeat business.

I had booked a standard room. It had been recently updated and super comfortable. 100% five star.

I had a drink in the bar while I waited for a friend to pick me up. When he was there he texted me. Getting a check was promptly handled (thank you), and I was on my way.

Room Tip: 601 was very nice standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunInMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for your very kind words about the hotel. I'm thrilled to hear you had such a nice experience with us and that we made your trip a little bit better. We pride ourselves on service, so it's extremely gratifying to hear your interaction with the staff. I'm sure it was a great relief to have the hotel on your side in that experience and ensure your stay was a great one. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Good value for money if you get a discounted rate. Service ok and the hotel is a bit on the old side.. But, decent size rooms. Can be tough getting taxis in the morning but it is close to union square by foot (although it is quite a hike back up the hill). Overall recommend

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Enrique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm pleased to hear you found the hotel nice overall and a good value. As you mentioned our location atop Nob Hill affords us some of the most stunning views of the City, but does come at the price of some steep hikes. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

A wonderfully looking hotel, ornate and impressive lobby. Service is good (not excellent), location is very good (10-15 mins walk down to Chinatown, financial district & Union Sq). However, the modernised room I had for 10 days failed to impress given the price (and no Presidents Club upgrade either). No view except other rooms, fairly small, walls paper thin, very limited cable channels (no local sports!), too few power sockets but bed was comfortable. Cafe Centro good for coffee/pastries but the famous Tonga Bar is really a dark bar with rather unimpressive rain showers every 30 mins. The maitai cocktail in a tacky, ceramic coconut shell sums up the place.

Room Tip: Modernised room I had within main building was small, faced other rooms and had thin walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Adie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I must admit that I love this hotel and have previously submitted rave reviews. However, a recent stay was most disappointing. The check in was painfully slow, inefficient, and inept. A very poor first impression. As a President's Club elite member, there was no room upgrade. The manager promised to make a room change the next day, but failed to follow up. The recently refurbished rooms are very nice, but I would recommend selecting one of the many superior hotels in SF.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreqTravDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at several Fairmonts before and wasn't disappointed. They tell me this was their original property. It has a very opulent feel in reception and the room was everything it needed to be. My only complaint was going to be the lack of sockets to charge my iphone and iPad only to find two of them built into the bedside lamp on the day I left. I'll stay with Fairmont again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Lowthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm pleased to hear you had a nice stay with us and will return in the future. We are indeed the original Fairmont and the flagship of the company. I'm pleased you have stayed at other Fairmont properties and you've not been disappointed. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

THis hotel is like all Fairmont properties - grand, lavish and polished. We stayed here for 6 nights in July and had a great time - the location is perfect for both trips into the city and for trips to the wharf etc, with very good transport links around the hotel. The staff are polite and courteous and as you'd expect the food is also of very high standard.

The only disappointment/frustration I had was with the turn-down service, which was inconsistent and pretty shoddy at times. It does sound petty and like I'm nit-picking, however I travel a lot, and stay at a wide variety of hotels and this is the first on where I've actively noticed the housekeeping service was not great.

It's not going to affect the quality of your stay, but for a top-tier hotel with top-tier pricing, you expect a top-tier package overall.

Room Tip: Free wifi if you're a President's club member, otherwise it's $14 per day, which is insa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RobNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. I'm thrilled to hear you had such a nice time and found the location perfect. We pride ourselves on service, so it's great to hear your comments about the team. That being said, I apologize for your experience with turn down service. I've shared your feedback with the housekeeping staff and hopefully will improve upon our service levels. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
1,369 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
535 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,245 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Francisco

Address: 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $222 - $744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Fairmont San Francisco hotel provides accommodations that are a testament to luxury with 592 individually furnished and decorated guest rooms. The 62 elegant suites offer impressive views of the City and Bay. The hotel combines classic ambience with modern amenities. For business travelers, Fairmont San Francisco hotel accommodations features include a spacious work desk, multi-line telephone with voice-mail and High Speed Internet Access. Each of the hotel's spacious guest rooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, luxury linen ensembles and pillow top beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing