We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont San Francisco
Ranked #22 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

excellent hotel, excellent staff. paid attention to detail. they make fresh honey on the roof and use it for their own special beer and smoothies. great tiki restaurant on site and walking distance or trolly stop with access to EVERYTHING!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephplayavista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thanks very much for your kind words about the hotel. It is truly the individual efforts of the whole team that make the hotel so special. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,975
    665
    256
    127
    103
See reviews for
761
1,223
107
673
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

A very grand building and a great setting in San Francisco atop a hill. King room was very spacious with big walk in closet (my wife was doing cartwheels (in her head)). So no concerns with the room, we loved it. We gave the hotel’s Tonga restaurant and Hurricane Bar - placing our reservation at the door we heard the rain and thunder sound effects and were told about the “70s to 90s cover bad” due to come on at 9pm and we made a polite exit to the main bar. Lucky escape I think. For such a huge hotel and huge bar area the bar itself only accommodates 11 people sat at it - this being me and my wife's preferred seating option in places like this. All the other tables behind us were low slung and also full. We waited 30 minutes to get 2 bar stools. Service was patchy - either awesome or poor depending on who served you. Bar food was good - tasty and reasonably good value. It’s an astonishing bar setting with chunky pillars etc, but they do not make the most of it (they should emulate Soho Grand in NY, perhaps). Live piano music was, well, a bit staid but worked well enough. On checkout (at 4am, urgh) staff were absolutely great. Coffee was available and they fetched our car quickly, directing me to the closest 24 hour gas station. I recommend this hotel, just be aware of the hill walking needed to explore nearby San Francisco restaurants etc on foot!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I was only able to spend 1 night at this amazing hotel, but it was just enough to make me fall in love with it. The lobby is grand, and very visually appealing...check in was a breeze, and the desk staff were very friendly. Even though we arrived around noon, our room was ready, which was a great surprise. Our room (Fairmont King) was spacious and well appointed, and had a beautiful view of the TransAmerica building, and the rooftop garden. Beds were very plush and made our first night's sleep a restful one. The bathroom was also spacious, and stocked with complimentary bath amenities, and 2 plush bathrobes were provided for our use. The bellman brought our luggage up to us within 15 minutes of being in our room, so we were able to change right away after a long flight from the East Coast and enjoy the city.
Because we were only here for 1 night, we didn't have too much time for any of the hotel's restaurants or lounges, but we did have coffee both days in the cafe', which was great. It was nice to get your cup and step outside and enjoy your morning paper watching the cable cars drive by....all in all it was a wonderful stay, and I wish we could have spent more time here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redsoxchic04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thanks very much for your kind words about the hotel. Though your stay was a brief one, it sounds like we made quite an impact. As you mentioned the hotel is quite grand and a true example of the "they don't build them like that anymore" mantra. I can imagine how refreshing it was to have your room ready after the long trip from the East Coast. Thanks again for sharing your experience and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed back in December and never got around to reviewing but had to say a quick thank you to the friendly staff and my appreciation for a perfect blend of historic San Francisco and modern amenities. A lovely stay, just walking the grounds is a treat and after a long day out and about its hard to find a better place to unwind and feel like you aren't missing anything by just relaxing at your hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mha323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Though it was a few months ago, it sounds like you had a great stay and plan on returning. We pride ourselves on service, so it's nice to hear yours was so great. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, TX
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed at this property for two nights and had the best sleep that I've had in a while. The room had been recently renovated and was absolutely beautiful. The bed and pillows were so comfortable, I just wanted to stay snuggled up in the covers and not get up in the mornings!

Don't miss having some dinner and fun in the Tonga Room in the basement! The food was fantastic, the décor was fantastic, and the band floating on the boat in the pool, played some awesome music. Get there early though. There were lots of people still lined up to get in when we left at about 11PM.

Didn't get to try the beer made out of honey from the beehives on the roof, but that will be on my list for my next trip to San Francisco and this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHUM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

First time back to the Fairmont in about 12 years.
Stayed in the newly renovated tower section with a spectacular view! Imagine waking up,to a view of,the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, and the Coit Tower all in one vista. Oh, and also cable cars passing below.
Head down from the room and walk the long connecting hallway with pictures and history lining both walls as you walk. Enter the regal lobby with original architecture, and then step outside to the top of Nob Hill, SF.
Walk one block straight ahead, and you can visit the iconic Grace Cathedral and spend some meditative time walking one of the two labyrinths. Or you can catch some music from the massive pipe organs if you are lucky.
Head down the hill one block, and you are at the main crossroad of the famed cable cars. Jump on and head anyway you like.
The Fairmont is a historic treasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay View tower room. It will cost more, but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nextboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay and welcome back! I'm pleased to hear you were able to return after such a long time away. It sounds like we are just as grand as you remember. The tower is truly one of the best spots in the City from which to view the spectacular San Francisco views. As you mentioned Grace Cathedral is only a block away and one of the most beautiful churches in the City. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Always an enjoyable experience at this grand hotel. It's perched atop the city, in upscale Nob Hill, and has some amazing views because of it. I was given room 1801 last stay, and it was perfect! Views of the golden gate Bridge, Alcatraz, Coit Tower etc. The rooms are immaculate, albeit a bit small on occasion. They are outfitted with everything you may need.

Upon checking in during my last stay, I was helped by Scott at the Front Desk, and he was professional, patient, and very helpful. The staff at Fairmont Hotels generally are, but he was definitely a standout. I had an issue with my secretary booking me at the Fairmont San Jose instead of the Fairmont San Francisco, and he was diligent in helping me to fix the situation.

I love the lobby of this hotel, so grandiose in the greatest of ways. It's old world elegance, and you can't help but think of how so many amazing experiences have taken place in this space. So much rich history! I always enjoy grabbing a drink at the bar that is straight through the lobby when you walk in from the outside. Great to start the evening that way.

The gym is large and has everything one may need. The parking at the hotel is expensive. There is a breakfast buffet downstairs. And last thing worth mentioning...I love that they have a cable car stop right outside the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank McDonald3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#25 of 229 in San Francisco
1,157 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 229 in San Francisco
1,013 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,166 reviews
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#13 of 229 in San Francisco
1,552 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#11 of 229 in San Francisco
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Francisco

Property: Fairmont San Francisco
Address: 950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Fairmont San Francisco hotel provides accommodations that are a testament to luxury with 592 individually furnished and decorated guest rooms. The 62 elegant suites offer impressive views of the City and Bay. The hotel combines classic ambience with modern amenities. For business travelers, Fairmont San Francisco hotel accommodations features include a spacious work desk, multi-line telephone with voice-mail and High Speed Internet Access. Each of the hotel's spacious guest rooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, luxury linen ensembles and pillow top beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing