We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Donatello
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Diva(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel G San Francisco(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Beresford(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Post Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,695)
Filter reviews
2,695 results
Traveler rating
1,411
1,018
185
60
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,411
1,018
185
60
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floortime shareunion squaretv in the mirrorgreat locationruby skyeclub roommini kitchenwet barstreet noisepost streetcoffee makersofa bedroom was spaciouscable carturn down servicepublic transportation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,962 - 1,967 of 2,695 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I spent 9 comfortable days at the Donatello while my partner was in SF at a conference, and found the rooms spacious and comfortable. They look somewhat dated, but one warms to that, and the convenience of having the space and a fridge and kitchen area is appreciated.

Breakfast was limited but pleasant, not least for the opportunity to chat and pick the brains of the wonderful concierges - Poldi and Peter. They were a mine of information, and have extensive files of the same to hand to assist you in your sight-seeing and restaurant booking!

Don't bother with the hotel restaurant - very average - go across the road to Fino's for good Italian food! (And don't forget the 'Cheesecake Factory' at Macey's - what a find!).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We thought this was a fantastic hotel. We really enjoyed the Friday night wine tasting.. The staff was very helpful in offering tips on navigating the city.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heatherpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

The Donatello for the most part met my expectations during my five night stay.

After researching sites like Trip Advisor and finding an excellent rate at this hotel, I decided to give the Donatello a try.

The rooms were quite large with ample space to spread out. The queen-sized bed was comfortable. I was fortunate enough to get a corner room and experienced minimal hallway traffic and noise. The room's layout and cleanliness were good but the quality of furniture and lighting seemed below average for this level of hotel class. Since I was on the fifth floor, there was also a fair amount of street noise.

The bathroom was a pleasant surprise with a convenient layout, plenty of counter top space and clean towels. Overall feeling of cleanliness was extremely high similar to what one can find at a five or six star hotel.

The continental breakfast was basic but good. Sliced bread, bagels, donuts and pastries and fresh fruit were available. Coffee was quite good and served hot. Every morning, the tiny breakfast room and outside deck areas were crowded with as many guests as it can hold.

The fitness center is across from the breakfast room and small with one treadmill, cycling machine and some free weights.

The Donatello is little more than one block away from Union Square and about five blocks from the trolley car station. During the day, the area around the hotel seems to be relatively safe. Many nights walking back to the hotel was uneventful with a decent amount of people and cars still going through the area.

Most memorable was the friendliness of the hotel staff. They were very approachable and helpful and keen on making your stay a pleasant one.

Overall the service was highly commendable with generously-sized and comfortable rooms. The hotel is unpretentious and well-kept. The Donatello can offer tremendous value when staying in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omegamoon2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Great location with good size rooms, friendly service, great value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdp62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for only one night, but wish I could have stayed longer. The value for the price is excellent. I traveled with my husband and my brother and the room was spacious enough to accommodate all three of us. The location could not have been better, a short walk to Union Square and the cable car lines. Our room was very clean (the bathroom was a bit dated, but clean). We stayed on the fifth floor and were not bothered by any city noise. I would highly recommended staying at the Donatello!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews