We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,782)
Filter reviews
2,782 results
Traveler rating
1,459
1,047
190
64
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,459
1,047
190
64
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor time share union square tv in the mirror great location mini kitchen club room street noise post street coffee maker sofa bed room was spacious cable car public transportation sitting area central location few blocks
Filter
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 2,782 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2015 via mobile

Location is ideal, only minutes from Union Square. Hotel seems tired and requires sparking up, definitly a remodeled reception required. However rooms are big and the bed is comfortable. WiFi works well which is a change for hotels in US. Would certainly book again. Front desk guys helpful and attentive.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank chrismiddleton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Dear Traveler,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms, WIFI and the Front Desk staff to your satisfaction. We are looking at sprucing up our Lobby and the reception area on our next renovation. We appreciate the lovely review and we hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco!

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, GSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2015

Well, SFO is not to big, however staying at the right place is a big benefit.
Donatello located near everything, Great restaurants (Check Pino!), all main Buses, cable cars, union square (Shopping).
And still in quiet nice welcoming place, very nice staff.
Rooms clean and decorated in good modern hand, TV in the mirror, big comfort bed.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chura4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2015

Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience at the Donatello.
We are delighted to read your review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco.

Best regards,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Having previously stayed at this hotel 3 years ago I was looking forward to a return visit. The hotel staff and general service and facilities including the room were excellent as before.
However, this is 2015 and the hotel advertises free high speed wifi. I need to stay connected with my business these days even while on holiday, so wifi is very important to me. Yes the wifi was free as it should be, but unfortunately it worked only intermittently, and when it did work it certainly was not high speed. I ended up sitting in near by cafes with free wifi doing my work. Very disappointing for a hotel of this standard. Until the wifi service is brought up to speed we won't be going back to the Donatello. Shame!

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry-Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2015

Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience at the Donatello.
We apologize that your stay wasn't a positive one because of the WIFI speed. We are looking at possible upgrades to the WIFI system in the near future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, GSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2015 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel at all. Great big room with sofa and large TV, chocolates and turn down service each night free paper delivered each morning. Friendly staff, few issues with the sockets in the room and we're straight up to the room to fix it. Nice roof top area with tea and coffee facilities, gym and jacuzzi. Great location in union square and nice small bar with piano. Would Def stay again and unlike some other comments we weren't approached about a time share at all.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank LisaD1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis R, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2015

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Donatello.

It's wonderful to see that you had a solid visit with us. We try our best to supply our guest with a pleasant visit.

Thank you kindly,
Dennis Reyes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2015

This hotel is very well located. The room we had was large and very clean. The lifts worked very well you hardly had to wait.
The only thing was it is very noisy at night. The room we had faced the street and really the noise was very loud.

Room tip: Ask not to face the street
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis R, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2015

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Donatello.

It looks like you had a good experience except for the noise. We are currently looking into improving our "sound proofing" at our property to counter the city noise.

Thank you kindly,
Dennis Reyes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews