We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Comfort & Convenience”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #44 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is ideally situated just a block from Union Square which is central to the downtown core. We were pleased with the size of the room which was quite large. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the turndown service which awaited us on our return from dinner each night. The hotel club on the top floor offered coffee and tea and a relaxing place to enjoy it as you can sit outside on the roof if you wish. They do need to offer real cream though as coffee mate cheapens the experience. The only other complaint is with the bathroom fans or lack thereof. Otherwise I do recommend this hotel if staying downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beaker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for providing such great feedback including area location information. We are so glad you enjoyed the unit accommodations and friendly staff. In regards to the unit bathrooms, we will do our best to utilize your feedback for improvement. We hope you come back to visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

The staff of this hotel were so friendly and nice. We were always greetd, coming and going. They had the information needed and offered very good tips for seeing San Francisco. The room was very spacious, clean and we were well taken care of. Perfect location, one block fron Union Square.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hi Bill,

Thank you for providing such great feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the friendly staff and resort accommodations. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The staff at the Donatello are extremely helpful and friendly. We were made to feel right at home straight away. Although they don't have adjoining rooms, they did accommodate us by giving us two rooms side by side. The rooms were spacious, well appointed and a pleasant surprise considering the cost and location in the city. Such a great spot, close to everything. Beds were comfortable and housekeeping superb. Kids loved the TV in the bathroom too. Made bath time loads of fun for them! Came highly recommended to us, and I understand why. Would definitely tell anyone who was visiting San Francisco to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hi Tanya,

Thank you for your great feedback. We will share these with our staff. We are glad you enjoyed the unit accommodations and that your kids loved the TV in the bathroom. It’s also great to hear when our staff has provided Count On Me service. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay at this very conveniently located hotel. Room size and comfort was first class (but we did get an upgrade). Plumbing was a little noisy from the next room and there was some traffic noise if you wanted an open window reflecting the central location. Just have an extra cocktail before retiring. Near to the bus tours, shops, bars, convenience stores and breakfast diners. Almost perfect for a short city stay. We will stay there again.

Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for providing this feedback including some helpful tips regarding area activities for future guests. We are glad you enjoyed your unit accommodations. We are sorry to hear you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with noise. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home and your feedback will help us to do so. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The good: location, a block away from Union Square and the cable car lines; great staff, extremely helpful; huge and clean rooms, equipped with a small refrigerator and microwave, as well as some dishware. The bad: annoying ticking noise within the bathroom wall at night, unexplained; VERY tall pillows, that were switched for medium-height ones upon request. Good choice, considering the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AV_Saopaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for providing this great feedback. We appreciate the information regarding the noise in the bathroom wall and will share this information with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the resort location and experienced satisfactory service from our staff. We hope you come back to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lovely hotel, centrally located. Good size suites. Service was great and staff friendly
No on Site laundry but we found a location close by.
Close to Union Square and China Town. Great shopping just blocks away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for providing this great feedback. We will share this information with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the resort location and experienced satisfactory service from our staff. We hope you come back to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed at the Donatello twice now, two good experiences. Rooms are large (very large by the standards of most hotels in this area) and very well appointed. Small refrigerators, coffee makers, dishes, microwave, large bath, a table with seating room for four, plenty of room for luggage. Very clean and reasonably quiet at night. Be sure to visit the top-floor lounge area- coffee and tea in the am, a reception in the evening, and an outside deck area with a great view. The exercise area is also here, reasonably sized and machines in good order. This property is older, but in good repair and looks like some floors have been recently renovated.
The second floor bar has a great happy hour, but it is very small- get there early to grab a seat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi Carol,

Thank you for providing this great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the unit size and accommodations. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
608 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,087 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
1,198 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $164 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing