We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in San Francisco”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #43 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lovely hotel, centrally located. Good size suites. Service was great and staff friendly
No on Site laundry but we found a location close by.
Close to Union Square and China Town. Great shopping just blocks away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for providing this great feedback. We will share this information with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the resort location and experienced satisfactory service from our staff. We hope you come back to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 2,654 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed at the Donatello twice now, two good experiences. Rooms are large (very large by the standards of most hotels in this area) and very well appointed. Small refrigerators, coffee makers, dishes, microwave, large bath, a table with seating room for four, plenty of room for luggage. Very clean and reasonably quiet at night. Be sure to visit the top-floor lounge area- coffee and tea in the am, a reception in the evening, and an outside deck area with a great view. The exercise area is also here, reasonably sized and machines in good order. This property is older, but in good repair and looks like some floors have been recently renovated.
The second floor bar has a great happy hour, but it is very small- get there early to grab a seat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi Carol,

Thank you for providing this great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the unit size and accommodations. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I made a trade..a week in Cabo for a week at the Donatello. It was fine...I am not a fan of older style hotels but this one was fine. I liked it mostly for the location which is a block from Union Square. I walked every where. The staff IS very helpful! I would make the trade again for the location!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tropinkalscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Donatello from a Thursday to Tuesday, and it was wonderful. The room is basically a studio apartment, including a microwave, refrigerator, and dishes. It's laid out nicely so there's plenty of room for a couple. The location is prime, and we were able to walk to most of our destinations, although we are from the city so we are used to lots of walking. We asked for a quiet room away from the club, and we only had noise from the street (again, used to city noise). That said, if you don't like street noise you probably want to ask for a room on the other side. The cleaning staff is super nice and did a very good job with the room. We were in and out at random times every day and somehow the room was always clean when we came back.

My only complaints are that air doesn't flow well in the room and you can't open a window, so I had to crank up the AC for air, and there's no fan in the bathroom. Also, the room is a bit dark unless you have the drapes open.

There is a nice grocery a short walk away in Westfield mall on Market Street called Bristol Farms, where you can get everything you need to have a few breakfasts/snacks in the room. We ordered pizza one night and were happy to find a bottle opener for our wine in the room as well. If you like sushi, you must check out Akiko's which is less than a block away, its incredibly fresh and delicious. There's tons of great shopping just steps away off Union Square and the mall on Market has every store you can think of. There is a bike rental place just next door to the hotel, where we got bikes to ride across the Golden Gate Bridge.

Overall it was a really great experience and we can't wait to come back. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There's a club on one side of the hotel that is bump'n on Fridays and Saturdays. There is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TikiGirli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I had a horrible nights sleep from the noise on the streets, the window system is a thin layer of glass that does little to nothing to stop noises from keeping you awake at night. The bathroom was horrid, The shower ceiling was filled with black mold along with peeling paint. The shower tub filled nearly 6" deep because of a plugged drain line. Seriously - save your money and go somewhere else. I am attaching the actual picture of the shower ceiling to this post.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRealDeal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonatello, Manager at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Donatello Hotel.
We take our room maintenance seriously and our engineering team will correct any issues as soon as we are aware of them.
Depending on the length of stay and when we are notified, the correction will sometimes have to occur after guest departure, as it was in this case.
We appreciate your feedback and thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

The Donatello Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice little hotel in a good location for getting around San Francisco.

Rooms were nice, the rooftop area was a nice added benefit.

Staff were great and Jesus in particular went out his way to make our stay.

Would def come back.

Room Tip: Avoid facing onto main road as a nearby hotel has a demonstration outside it 1 morning every week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanmac1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The location is perfect! It's next to union square and you can do a lot of things on foot.
The hotel have great accomodations, large and cozy rooms, bathroom with jacuzzi and tv (yes, there is tv in the bathroom mirror!!) I was in the first floor and have a charming deck.

Great location and accommodation. What more do you need?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,341 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
609 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
1,200 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $160 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing