We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and excellent service!”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #44 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent service!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I love, love, love this place! This is my fourth time staying here and I will continue to stay here every time I come to San Francisco. Here's why:

Pros:
1. Love the new look and I don't know how they did it; same hotel size but for some reason, the rooms just feel much bigger. The new beds are very comfortable as well.
2. Great location; close to China Town, Union Square and so many dining options nearby.
3. As mentioned, this is my fourth time staying here and I have consistently been impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and the customer service. This trip, however, was different because I booked 2 rooms for 3 nights with my sister and her children -- my first time staying with kids. The staff there were super nice to the kids. We arrived at 11 and check-in was at 3 but since rooms were available they allowed us to check in early without extra fees.
4. The kids loved the free hot chocolate, game board and movie check-out.
5. The hotel is small enough that whenever I decide to use the gym or sauna there is almost never anyone else around. LOL. I know some people might think that's creepy but I love it!
6. The fridge and dishes were helpful because the kids never wanted to eat when they were supposed to and got hungry when we were tired and didn't want to leave the room.

Cons:
1. No swimming pool but there is a small 4 person jacuzzi that always seem to be occupied.
2. Valet parking only and it was a little pricy ($28 per day) but then again... it is San Francisco. The parking right next door is actually cheaper by a few dollars but we had already pulled in to the hotel parking so we figured, what the heck!
3. If your room is facing the streets it can get pretty loud at night despite how high up you are but if it is backing the back you'll have no problem sleeping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiMochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,358
    955
    162
    55
    21
See reviews for
666
1,199
108
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Good location near Union Square, close to trams and cable car, easy distance to walk to Fisherman's wharf area also. Handy to shopping and restaurants. Good size rooms and offers hotel club room where you can make tea or coffee, couches for relaxing, outside balcony for fantastic city view. Has hot tub too

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by friendly staff and an early check in!! We really liked our room and the bed was big and very comfortable...We were so happy with our choice!!!
The location was awesome, as it was so close to Union Square and all the shopping. It was also around the corner from Honey Honey, a cafe that served up the best crepes you'll ever eat...
We will not bother to look anywhere else the next time we visit San Francisco, as The Donatello fulfilled all our requirements....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharynleydin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. I have just spent seven nights at this hotel. The receptionist was friendly and efficient. At your check-in, we were given a traveller kit (A folder with some papers on introduction and transportation method of places of attractions and some discount booklets) - it was a very warm welcome from her!!! The room was spacious and five-star size. It was fully-equipped with more than average stuff provided by standard hotel: DVD player, a ipod and iphone alarm clock, a small kitchen table with microwave oven and water sink and servicing utensils. The toilet room was spacious, too. The bed was big and comfortable. It was all good!! Definitely, will come back again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Absolutely great location, high standard, very nice and helpful Staff. We had a chance to attend the presentation of Californian wines and try some. We bought a few bottles. Will definitely stay again visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Situated near Union Square. The location was close to Fisherman's Warfe etc. I would stay there again for sure. Close to all the attractions China Town etc. The cable car was a street away. It runs along major attractions. Perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast nsw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our first stay in San Francisco and we chose the Donatello based on Trip Advisors reviews and we weren't disappointed. The Hotel was in a great location, free wi fi, absolutely loved the guest lounge on the roof and staff were very helpful. What can I say about the room? It was definitely the best room we have had anywhere! It was large, had a small kitchenette, lounge area was wonderful and the best part was the bed, it had to be the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and the pillows, I wanted to bring them home with me. Loved the Donatello.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,109 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,484 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#24 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Property: The Donatello
Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing