We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel but something odd with staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #43 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Piqua, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but something odd with staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, only 2 blocks from Union Square and the cable car line. Our room was large and comfortable with a terrace that was shared with 6 other rooms. Although smoking is allowed on the terrace, no one was out there during our visit. It was a large area with nice tables and chairs for each room and plant screens between each room's area.
There was a counter and wetbar in the room with microwave and small fridge, a few dishes and some silverware, which came in handy on the early morning when we wanted to eat breakfast quickly in our room before heading to Alcatraz. The TV in the bathroom mirror was a novelty that we never used, but I guess it was fun to have the option:)

There were 2 great breakfast spots within a block, Pinecrest Diner and Honey Honey's. We also dined at Farallon our last night and it was excellent, our best meal in San Francisco. Not cheap though!

I mention the odd staff for several reasons. We arrived early for check-in (1:00pm) and our room wasn't ready yet, but my sister's room across the hall was ready so so waited there. At 4;00 we went to the front desk and it still wasn't ready. Finally at 4:30 they called and gave us the key. It was just strange because no one went in the room to clean or for any other reason the entire time! We still aren't sure what that was about.
The day before we left I arranged a driver for the airport at 5:45am. My husband usually handles that, and later I realized that I should have given the bellman a tip for doing that, but when I went back he was gone for the day. The next morning, no driver! The same bellman came to work at 6am and magically got us a driver by 6:15, but I wondered if it was because I forgot to tip?
When we checked out we asked for a receipt and the man at the desk seemed to think we were crazy.

Nothing major, but these were 3 strange incidents with 3 different employees and it was just odd!!

Room Tip: 7 rooms on the 5th floor have a shared terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteelersFan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    896
    153
    52
    20
See reviews for
621
1,156
105
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very short walk to Union Square and close to shopping and transportation. Very considerate and helpful staff. Large, modern, clean and convenient room with everything in perfect working order. Have already recommended this hotel to several friends. Lovely lounge on top floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bebe111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The location is ideal- short walk to the square with shops, restaurants, trolley, buses. Hotel has a restaurant but too pricey for me. The room was outstanding. King bed, sofa, 2 ottomans, desk and chair, full kitchen and still tons of room. Bath updated to perfection with a TV in the mirror, nice to catch up on the weather and news while preparing for the day. Upper club level with great workout space and huge lounge with fireplace, coffees and teas. Separate spa areas for men and women, each with showers, changing rooms, dressing tables with lotions and hairdryers. Sauna and whirlpool areas both very clean. Free wifi never worked in 4 days in room. They offered to send up maintenance ( useless gesture). The lobby concierge knew nothing about the city, but the two on the club level were outstanding. Highly recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAICCmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If this is your first visit to SF, or you are returning to this fabulous town, the Donatello is the place to stay. The prices are very reasonable for a big city, but the service and room size is truly exceptional! This hotel is centrally located so there is no need for a car. The entire hotel staff are so helpful in assisting with directions and the best way to get around. They present many options. My husband and I had no problem getting around with all the public transportation available, all within a few minutes of The Donatello. We arrived early and the wonderful staff were happy to accommodate us. There are many restaurants, all within walking distance and all price ranges. The room was very clean and neat. A flat screen TV, and one in the bathroom mirror was the icing on the cake. After a full day exploring the city the staff is there to welcome you with warm smiles. On the top floor is a lounge available with hot chocolate, tea and coffee. A wonderful hotel. If we are ever fortunate to return to SF, we will definitely stay at The Donatello !
If you are a light sleeper, the sounds of the city streets may keep you up. We had absolutely no problems.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We arrived a little early but Jesus at the front desk was able to get us checked in immediately - our room featured a king bed with a sofa bed for my 13 year old. The concierge, Manny, set us up on an excellent Big Bus hop on hop off tour (much better than my Gray Line bus tour experience in NYC). Manny also recommended a number of local restaurants. The entire staff were friendly and the room was clean. My son liked the TV incorporated in the bathroom mirror and we benefited from having an in room kitchenette with a fridge, microwave and dishes. The hotel is only 1 block from Union Square and very close to Chinatown. This location was especially helpful in taking the night tour (Big Bus only has an express bus that returns to Union Square at the end of the night). We used the rooftop patio for a coffee and hot chocolate. The hot tub is small and not worth the effort. Free WI-FI is available. The hotel is located downtown so it took me a night to get used to the street noise - no biggie. The rooms were reasonable given it was high season - $219 a night. We stayed three nights and walked or took the Big Bus - no extra cab expenses. I would return

Room Tip: Ask to be situated further from the night club at the hotel to reduce noise levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hipmomandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in this truly 4 star hotel as a "luxury" upon the recommendation of a friend who lives in SF and suggested that we immerse ourselves in the city experience. The Donatello staff was exceptionally helpful - from the valet parking to the front desk, maid service, and the concierage. The room was very good size for a downtown location and very clean and well appointed. We don't typically spend this kind of money for a hotel, but it was worth every penny. There are several nearby restaurants that serve amazing breakfast food. Or you can bring your own and use the room fridge and microwave. The street car is a block away as is a wide variety of shopping. China town only a few blocks as well. Easy access to the metro/bus system. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Donatello is a good 4 star hotel.
Excellent location close to Union Square
Room large and nicely appointed with microwave, fridge.
Bathroom on the small size but with TV incorporated in mirror. Cool
Rooms on the corner tend to be noisy (night club close by)
Very friendly staff

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the corner, they tend to be noisy
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Royalcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,477 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,811 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#9 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#34 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#41 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,500 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#6 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Property: The Donatello
Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing