We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #42 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

In the heart of downtown and the shopping district very conveniently located. Nice spacious room. Roof terrace with nice views. Helpful and friendly staff. Just wish the bell hop from the Marriott over the road would stop blowing his taxi whistle every 2 seconds, even when theres no taxi in the street!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    872
    149
    51
    18
See reviews for
600
1,138
105
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Room on the tenth floor. Noise from the street was a slight problem. Specifically the garbage truck in the morning. My attitude. This is expected in a city. Second negative. The number of panhandlers in the area. Not the fault of the Donatello. The hotel itself. A boutique hotel that checks all the boxes. Nice location near Union Station. I much preferred this to being down on Fishermans Wharf. Room spacious and clean. Staff a definite plus. Always attentive to our needs. Not impressed with the bar. The restaurant did not seem to care if you dined at Zingari. Did not really matter. Plenty of good restaurants in the area. Sears Fine Foods, The Daily Grill, and Honey and Honey. Watched a game at the Sutter bar. I would stay at the Donatello again. Even with the few negatives. Most not the fault of the Dontello. I found the Donatello a good bargain for San FranCisco. That rose above it's 3 1/2 star rating.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Almost everything you want in a hotel you have in Donatello: Good location, comfortable and well equipped room, free internet connection and friendly and helpful staff. The one single thing that I would improve is the opening hour of the fitness center - 7 AM is too late if you are in town for business and not pleasure. It is also too small for this kind of hotel. But other then that it was a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The was our first time to San Francisco and having stayed here for 5 days we have nothing but praise for The Donatello Hotel, and can only agree with all the other reviews. Starting with the Staff everyone was so pleasant and friendly, great spacious rooms, large comfortable beds and of course coffee maker, fridge and ice maker.
The location was fantastic as we walked just about everywhere with Union Square being only one block away, we included a ball game at AT&T Park was just amazing and I would suggest that our sporting teams in New Zealand see how the fans get behind their team and how the Giants treat the fans, we went to a Monday night game which was totally sold out at 42,000.
The only down point was the WIFI was very slow. In saying that you cant match this hotel for location,staff and room quality for the money

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryM385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The staff, spacious rooms (they have black out curtains) which is wonderful for light and noise, and since its near Union Square(1 block) you need them. The concierge desk on the roof( with fireplace and views) and free coffee, hot chocolate and tea. The rooms are great, clean with sink, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and super beds. The bathrooms have a TV in the full size mirror. The location is ideal for all transportation and wonderful restaurants, i.e. the Pinecrest, is one block away, best breakfast for years in S.F. And the Italian restaurant in the Hotel is Excellent. Farallon, half a block away fantastic, food, décor, etc. We were there for four nights for our 46th anniversary and when they heard that they sent a bottle of wine and upgraded our room. I don't think you can match this hotel for location, price and room quality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fifth floor have great balconies, they don't have a view but you can enjoy being ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRCZAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Reading all recent reviews, can only agree with location, spacious rooms, friendly staff, wifi - and strangely, the noise (not really distrubing, but surprising how close the street noise felt even up on the 10th floor). We walked just about everywhere in SF, including a ball game at AT&T Park, Embarcadero, and this was a great central location with fabulous selection of restaurants in close proximity.We didn't use any of the hotel's facilities, except for winding down with a cappucino and liqueur to the gentle live singer/pianist combo on the mezzanine level. We don't often do repeats, but this could be our first exception should we ever return.

Room Tip: The top four floors are held privately. 10th floor is as good as it gets. Away from the street is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REGards-JNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Just returned last night from a totally sleepless three night trip. I'm exhausted! The place is just too noisy. Screaming and moaning heard from the streets all night, bottles breaking, etc. No cable TV to rent movies (really?) and did I mention the noise? I don't think Union Square is safe at all. It's so dirty, the people aren't friendly, and I was afraid to walk around with my children. I was born and raised in California, and still live here, but SF is just not for me. I like when people smile and say hello when they pass. It never happened once. Glad to be back in warm Orange County.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltweaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,489 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,714 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#37 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,436 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#38 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,405 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#45 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Property: The Donatello
Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing