We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All praise is justified”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #40 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Reading all recent reviews, can only agree with location, spacious rooms, friendly staff, wifi - and strangely, the noise (not really distrubing, but surprising how close the street noise felt even up on the 10th floor). We walked just about everywhere in SF, including a ball game at AT&T Park, Embarcadero, and this was a great central location with fabulous selection of restaurants in close proximity.We didn't use any of the hotel's facilities, except for winding down with a cappucino and liqueur to the gentle live singer/pianist combo on the mezzanine level. We don't often do repeats, but this could be our first exception should we ever return.

Room Tip: The top four floors are held privately. 10th floor is as good as it gets. Away from the street is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REGards-JNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 2,681 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Just returned last night from a totally sleepless three night trip. I'm exhausted! The place is just too noisy. Screaming and moaning heard from the streets all night, bottles breaking, etc. No cable TV to rent movies (really?) and did I mention the noise? I don't think Union Square is safe at all. It's so dirty, the people aren't friendly, and I was afraid to walk around with my children. I was born and raised in California, and still live here, but SF is just not for me. I like when people smile and say hello when they pass. It never happened once. Glad to be back in warm Orange County.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveltweaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and highly recommend the hotel. We'd definitely stay here on return to San Fran. The room was large, bed was comfortable. Location was good, being only a couple of blocks from Union Square and all the shops located there. Wifi was free but a little slow.

Room Tip: Our room looked onto a club, so there was some noise late at night. No problem for us, but perhaps a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Location is ideal, one block from Union Square. Room was spacious, very comfortable and clean.

There is a small gym and nice little concierge desk on the roof where they provide free tea, coffee and hot chocolate with great views of the city.

Maybe a little on the expensive side but its San Francisco so its to be expected.

We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gary3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Donatello Hotel for 6 nights in March/April. Check in was quick, room was ready upon arrival and the rate (based on location and room) was very fair. As a first timer to San Fran, we couldn't decide between a Union Square hotel or Fisherman's Wharf however we were very happy with our choice. A very short walk to Union Square which is a pick up point for the hop on hop off bus route. Lots of good shopping and restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. Housekeeping was good, room was spacious with everything we needed for our stay and was nice to come back to after a long day of shopping/sightseeing. Easy to get a cab outside the hotel. We chose to cab or walk everywhere however cable cars were very close. We also felt quite safe walking back to the hotel at night (man/woman - 25) I would definitely recommend this hotel and when we are back in San Fran, it will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Donatello for one week on a vacation to San Francisco in March. We had not stayed at Union Square before and were concerned we might not be close to attractions. It turned out that Union Square with its shops,pubs central location and easy public transportation venues was the best location yet. Best of all, The Donatello was one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at. We had a mid level room and a view of a nearby Romanesque villa style building. The room was spacious, elegantly furnished and maintained with the best appliances, electronics, etc. The bath was large and brightly lit. Our room was handicapped accessible,by chance,and we thought it would be wonderful for anyone using a wheelchair. This is because there is a large open area right outside the bathroom door which is as large as the bathroom. In this area, the walls are all covered with mirrors,and this is where the ample closet is located. There was plenty of room to turn around 360 degrees if you were in a wheelchair and there was one nicely upholstered Chippendale style chair in the corner of this area that would make it easy as well. We really liked the top floor lounge and sauna area and for several reasons. First, the concierge manager who works up there is a walking encyclopedia of everything San Francisco, and especially hidden treasures. You just tell him what your tastes are and he will amaze you. Also, they have a nice complimentary wine reception for the timeshare guests on Mondays.You can bring lunch in and dine on the tables outside which overlook downtown in all directions.The container plants on this rooftop terrace are meticulously maintained. Finally, there is an excellent Italian restaurant on the first floor with a great happy hour including appetizers at half price. We walked or used public transportation to get everywhere including Chinatown, The Wharf, North Beach,etc. We caught the streetcars close by and one stops one block from the hotel. Of course, we walked to Sears fine foods every day for breakfast and it is a treasure! The Donatello Hotel has spoiled us completely and we will always want to stay there when we visit San Francisco.

Room Tip: You might ask for a high level room that looks out on that pretty columned building behind the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynnie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hotel was in a good location, central for most things. Arrived early and our room was ready, welcome pack was useful although the timeshare speech wasn't appreciated (neither was the phone call to the room during the holiday). Room was very nice, spacious and well laid out, bed was large and comfortable. Fridge and microwave were very useful during our stay. Plenty of places to eat nearby.
Keycards stopped working for some reason during our stay but reception quickly dealt with it and issued new cards.
I would happily stay in this hotel if I visited San Francisco again and I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#19 of 231 in San Francisco
5,400 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 231 in San Francisco
632 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 231 in San Francisco
3,818 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#16 of 231 in San Francisco
2,904 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $193 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing