We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel comfy beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #42 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
liverpool
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good hotel comfy beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good location with very comfy beds. Reception staff not great not very helpful. However valet guys and conceirge were great as was lady who serviced our room.
Heard the hotel provide coffee at breakfast we only knew this as other guests checking in were told.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therankster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,354
    944
    158
    55
    21
See reviews for
660
1,191
108
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Friendly staff, the tiny lobby is not a good reflection of how big and comfortable the rooms are. Very conveniently located near Union Square, the cable cars, supermarket, shopping, Chinatown and tour buses- and safe.
The A/C is a bit variable and the room is either hot or freezing. The shower on one morning did not have very hot water. There's a fridge and a sink to wash up in the living area.
Housekeeping was fantastic and efficient too. The wifi was ok at times, and at others, did not work. Glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very nice hotelo. Great location one block from Union Square and the Powell Street Trolly. Hotel is not luxurious, but is very nice, and is a great value - way better than similarly priced hotels. Has a club on the top floor with a concierge, reading room with gas fireplace, small workout room, and coffee and tea.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at The Donatello in February 2013, my 11-year old daughter and I arrived in the evening of the celebrations of the Chinese New Year, lots of happenings in town, parade was just outside the hotel. The location of The Donatello is superb, everything is right on your doorstep; shops, restaurants, coffee places, it's only a minute walk and you are on Powell street, where the cable cars are running, as well as public buses.
Union Square is just a block away.
We loved our spacious and comfortable room, very comfy bed, and fun to see a TV in our bathroom! Great to have a small kitchenette, too, with both a fridge and a microwave.
On the Club-floor/top-floor, we enjoyed making hot chocolate/coffee, and the Concierge Team up there are really friendly&helpful, with lots of knowledge and expertise about SF and surroundings!
It's nice to be able to relax in the Club-lounge on the Top Floor, in front of the cosy fire, with daily newspapers or a good book.
It was also nice to always feel welcomed with a smile, whenever we returned back to the hotel.
Although I think the person who checked us in, perhaps didn't have a great day, however, it didn't spoil anything for us.
The Bell Team in the lobbyarea was also so helpful upon check-out, and reacted promptly when our prebooked airport-pickup never arrived. They made some calls and helped us so that we would arrive the airport well in time.
I would definitely return to The Donatello on my next visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Spent 4 nights here and was very pleased with the service , size of room and most important ,,,location.
Check in was a breeze, and desk staff were helpful with directions and recommendations.Room with king size bed was spacious with plenty of room for luggage and tv in bathroom a bonus. The location was 10-15min walk to Union square (check out Cheese Cake Factory above Macy`s) and there were plenty of places to eat nearby.
As a smaller boutique hotel I would recommend. At under $200 a night we were very happy!

Room Tip: Ask for room high floor , some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAM_D_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We live fairly close to San Francisco but wanted to spend a night in the city and see some tourist attractions with our kids. We arrived around noon and were pleased to find that our room was ready. Our room had a king size bed and a sectional sofa that they made up into a (queen size?) bed. I liked that there were outlets in the middle of the bed/couch, perfect for charging phones/electronics. There was a small kitchen area with a sink, fridge, and microwave. The bathroom was a huge hit as there is a TV built into the mirror (the other TV is a flat screen built into the wall in the bedroom area). The room was spacious, and I liked the dresser and bench in the entry area. There is also a large floor length mirror with a plug below it; someone obviously understands the need for two people to get ready at the same time.

The two biggest downsides were the shower--the lever you pull up to take a shower was extremely hard to use and the spigot was loose, so obviously this has been a problem for other people. The other issue was the lack of sound proofing--both my daughter and I were woken up multiple times by someone sorting glass bottles and other noises that sounded like a window was wide open (there was no opening at all).

The location is great and just a block from Union Square, with plenty of shopping and eating nearby. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent 12 days in San Francisco in January and stayed at the Donatello, it was absolutely fantastic. The location was brilliant, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and very comfortable. We will definitely stay there again next time we are in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Rooms on Mason rather than Post Street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanix3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,060 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,419 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#23 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Property: The Donatello
Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing