We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #41 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent 5 nights at the Donatello. Was fairly pleased with what was in offer. The hotel is conveniently located for Union Square just one block away.
Two negatives.
1. Would not recommend the restaurant, we decided to eat there when we arrived after a full 24 hours of travel but it was the only time we did. Was overpriced and not that great!!
2. As the hotel is close to the square it can be a bit noisy late at night. Was particularly bad on Saturday night.

Lastly watch out for the taxi service if you leave early in the morning as we did. Seems like they may have some deal going with a private hire car. Not cheap!!!


  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxandPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,371
    970
    166
    55
    21
See reviews for
686
1,205
108
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Arrived very late off Amtrak from LA. Desk clerk friendly and comped us wine and chocolates.

The room was big and well equipped with a small kitchen area and fridge.

Hubbie loved the TV in the bathroom mirror.

Be warned. Get your bearings and check maps before you go out. A few streets out can feel scarey.

Great location for union square and trams etc. great for San Fran shops.

Best place on our trip for public transport.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy_and_Politico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This property is actually several under one roof. My reservation was in the timeshare part under Shell Vacation Club. I was in 1019 which is at the far end of the hall from the elevator next to the ice machine and housekeeping storage. I never had an issue with noise from either of these. My room was very quiet. I did arrive at noon to check in which is early. I was transferring from another hotel. They checked me in, took my luggage and put it into my room when it was ready. They would have given me a room that was ready but they had just given out the last ready room available. This is usually not done with timeshares, but was really appreciated since it allowed me to get out and start seeing the city and know I didn't need to be back at 3-4 just to check in. They also asked me my preferences about room ( quiet, height, close to elevator, etc.) That may have been due to my early arrival but it was still appreciated.

The staff here are outstanding. Very friendly and very helpful. I had free wifi but they also have a computer with printer so you can print boarding passes, etc. I needed to complete some business while there so I could print what I needed and they then faxed my single page for free. This reduced a lot of stress for me. I also handed over some USPS flat rate boxes with postage attached and they passed them on for me so that I did not have to carry them for blocks. Postage was purchased in the basement of Macy's at Union Square (2-3 blocks) which has a full service and self service post office.

The location for this hotel is excellent. You are one block from Union Square and a cable car line. You are on the #2 & 3 bus line and just a few blocks from Market Street (major bus & train hub) and BART. Chinatown is within walking distance. I did most of my food shopping at the Westfield Mall which is on Market Street and has a grocery store in the basement. It is a little more gourment but still had a lot to offer. Target is directly behind that on Mission and Walgreens (also on Market) also have some food items. I bought a city pass and used public transportation all week.

I had stayed here a few years ago. The property was nice then but my unit had been redone and was very nice. Extremely comfortable king bed with nice linens and lots of pillows. Love seat that makes into a twin sleeper. Flat screen HD tv and clock radio with ipod dock. Dining table with 2 chairs, small fridge, counter, microwave, coffee pot (4 cup) with good, free coffee and 2 sets of dishes with silverware and knives. Free coffee and tea are also provided all day on the 12th floor lounge.

Bathroom was also nice with good quality towels and the coolest feature, a tv in the bathroom mirror (flat screen). Wish I had that at home. Closet area with shelves, ironing board, iron and plenty of hangers.

Some of the rooms rent as a hotel so you don't have to be in a timeshare to stay here. I can't say enough about how nice this property is. It does have a weight room & spa area but I did not use those services, too tired after all the walking.

Housekeeping comes in daily and removes trash, makes the bed and removes dirty dishes and used towels.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want. This property is not tall enough for outstanding views. Odd rooms (not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in San Fran and stayed at The Donatello. It was the perfect location. We took the cable cars almost every day, which was only a block away from the hotel. The #30 bus goes all over - and that goes directly in front of the hotel. (We had to take the bus one day because the cable cars were down). There are too many restaurants and bars within walking distance to mention. The hotel bar was a great place to end the evening. Everyone was welcoming and helpful during our entire stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cincydebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here with the hubby for four nights. Nice and close (one block away) from the cable car line and union square. Nice and quiet in our room and staff were always friendly and helpful. Lots of shopping and food places around.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel_roks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

While Donatello may not be a 5 star hotel- our recent stay felt like a 5 star experience. We loved our spacious and comfortable room, the " kitchenette" and all all the premium channels TV . Location is hardly beatable. Most of the other hotels within the area offered for the same value much smaller rooms. We were with the small kid ( 2.5 year old) and I highly recommend stay to the people with the small kids who want/need to be in the central SF area.
Before I booked a room ,I read all the reviews, learned about the club and the noise and requested a room on the quieter side. Management was kind enough to grant my wish without any resistance. We got a really great room that overlooked Mason/Post St side. We were very happy.
Note that this is the downtown San Francisco so if you are looking for a totally soundless environment- than staying downtown overall may not be a good idea for you. City life carries its noise. We were never bother by any noise at Donatello , our toddler slept like a little lamb throughput the night.
Staff is very friendly. "Bell -boys" were very nice with my son they gave him a ride on the suitcase rack.
My husband was participating at the conference in SF and we were offered a list of the downtown hotels that had a deal with the conference. Donatello wasn't on the list - I found it on my own research and I am nor regretting for choosing it. I would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: rooms on the higher level overlooking on the the Post St are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danolear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have been using the Suites At The Wharf on our annual wine conference in SF. Since they moved from Fort Mason to the Design Center, we thought we would use our timeshare points for the Donatello since it was now closer.
Most of the older Shell Vacation properties have pretty old furniture and feel to them. We were shocked when we walked into the room to find a very contemporary room that nicely decorated (might be the same decorator as the one who did the Hyatt Regency at the Wharf).
The Staff was great, parking is $28 a night which is on the lower end for SF, they do have a restaurant and bar on the second floor. Didn't eat at the restaurant but did have a drink in the bar. Tiny but there was a small group in there so it wasn't too bad.
There is a one hour wine tasting on the 14th floor, which has a living room type of atmosphere (free coffee and tea all the time up there). The gym is also on that floor.
Great location. One block from Union Square and it's in the theatre district.
The room was comfortable and clean. The only drawback is that the hotel has single pane glass windows so street noise (vehicular and pedestrian) could be heard from our 10th floor room. Try to get the Post St side of the hotel since the clubs and other stuff is on Mason.
We will definitely come back for next year's event.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the Post St side since the Mason St side has Ruby Skye nightclub across the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scootercus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,197 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,612 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#55 of 229 in San Francisco
1,631 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,909 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 229 in San Francisco
4,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Property: The Donatello
Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing