We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A block from Union Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #45 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A block from Union Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Donatello is one of the best kept secrets in San Francisco. The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and welcoming and the location is great. Park your car at the hotel and head down to Union Square and watch all the shoppers. Taxis, cable cars or buses are within a block of the hotel. The hotel is in the heart of the shopping district so it can get noisy. Asking for a room at the back side will help out with less noise on Post Street. Remember, this is a big city, you can't get away from city noises. The concierge provides shopping passes to get shopping deals down at the square. Chinatown is within walking distance. Its just a fun place to stay when visiting the city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side - away from Post Street are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wairRwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    896
    153
    52
    20
See reviews for
621
1,156
105
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stay here every year and are very disappointed if the hotel isn't available. It's located a block down from Union Square. The rooms are spacious studios with all the comforts of home, including the second tv on the bathroom mirror. The staff is friendly and helpful and I love the chocolates left on my pillow at night. The club floor (top floor) offers coffee, teas and hot chocolate, a comfortable club room with a wrap around terrace and a fitness center I haven't yet visited.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I always try to stay there when I am in town. Nice rooms and excellent location. Very friendly and accommodating staff. It was nice to have a dining/kitchenette area in the room. Rooms were large and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborEnrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A 4-star pattern in a great, great location: Union Square, the heart of shopping options in the city, near everywhere (for instance, $12 by taxi to the pier 33 to get the boat to Alcatraz). You can find e-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-g nearby, including cable car line. A lot of places to have good and cheap breakfast nearby (I suggest Starbucks. Located in the lobby of the Hilton Hotel, plenty of seats, fancy place, one block ahead). Front desk, bellman, concierge: always ready at any call to comply with a request. Continuous hospitality. Room: large, comfortable, clean; coffeemaker with complimentary coffee, complimentary morning paper and chocolate at night everyday. Bathroom: ok. Concierge service: you can buy tickets to everything with Chris, a very sympathetic guy, including Alcatraz tour. Valet parking: strategic location inside the building, next to the lobby, although I do not recommend using a car in San Francisco (not necessary, the public transport is fine and parking is not easy). Room service: fine. Restaurant: a little bit expensive (pastas for about $20- $25; the portion was very small for a man, very tasty, although). I recommend the soup. I strongly recommend The Club Donatello if you travel with small kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kobda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, Ca.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is a gem. Warm and cozy rooms and modern contemporary. Noteworthy: there is a tv in the bathroom mirror. Very hi tech and cool. The room also has a fridge and microwave along with glassware. The top floor has a lounge with a wine happy hour on Fridays.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinoElkGrove_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed three nights. Room was large and comfortable.

Air condition did not seem effective and room was noisy. you could here road traffic all night along.

WI-fi was extremely slow.

hot tub and live music was good.

Car parking good

Location brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank goodvegifood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our room was terrific! They look newly renovated and are large enough for even 3 adults. Free robes, wifi, fridge, microwave in room is very nice. The TV in the bathroom mirror is a neat feature but only one person can use the mirror at one time. With sharing a room with 2 other people, it could have saved us time getting ready if at least 2 of us could have brushed our teeth or put our makeup on at the same time. But not a huge deal. Having access to the club without having to pay for an upgrade was a bonus - free coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fitness room, hot tub, newspapers and mags. I don't get this many amenities in more upscale hotels! The main lobby could use an update. Location cannot be beat. The staff were some of the most friendly employees I have ever encountered. Patricia at the front desk and all your concierge staff were more than helpful. We were in room 915 and had a quirky issue with the water. We did not have cold water. We were told by a maintenance guy that when we need cold water, we need to flush the toilet!!!! His trick worked but I hope I was not drinking toilet water! By the last day, the water situation was finally fixed. Lastly, the "business center" leaves a lot to be desired. The room is about 6' wide and 3' deep. You literally have to walk in sideways in order to sit down. Obviously with such a small space, there is only one computer so you may have to wait your turn. But all in all, I still highly recommend this hotel. The water issue and the business center made for a funny adventure in SF. We had a great stay and we are still laughing about it!

Room Tip: Room 915 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roastduck90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,474 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,807 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#9 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#37 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#40 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,497 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#6 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Property: The Donatello
Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing