We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #44 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Location, location, location !! Just off Union Square and in my opinion an excellent place for everything ... Transport, shops, restaurants, bars and sightseeing. Rooms large and clean and bright. Excellent facilities. Lovely bar with happy hour and a restaurant with excellent food and service but does get busy so best to book a table. Would recommend to anyone wanting to vist San Fran ... Possibly the best city I have ever been to. There are lots of beggars around the hotel and in the city and they can't be avoided but didn't cause us any problems. In fact one of them made us laugh so much he made our day !

Room Tip: We had a room on 9th floor which was quiet but you can never avoid the sirens frequently heard which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

987 - 993 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Donatello was in an excellent location , within walking distance of union square and public transport. Staff were courteous and helpful and rooms spacious and clean. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in San Francisco

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at "the club" fantastic large rooms, great price too considering the location, just one block from Union Sq. All the staff are very attentive and friendly, nothing seem too much trouble. If we get back to San Fransico ever again would not not stay anywhere else, would recomend to any visitor to this lovely city.
Also had a realy great meal in the "in house" Italian restaurant, well worth trying, again the staff make you feel special.

Room Tip: The higher the floor you choose the city noise will be lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the Donatello from Sept. 12/12-Sept.17/12. we had a king size bed. The room was very large and spacious. It has a mini kitchen with cutlery and dishes. We had breakfast in the room every morning before heading out for the day. Also, it was nice to be able to sit on a couch and watch some tv in the evening, rather than just having the bed to sit on. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The only down side is the windows are thin and sometimes you can hear street noises. Close to good resturants and the muni. We even took the bus from outside the hotel to a 49ers game. Close to Union Sq, and shopping. Just beware, there are a lot of homeless people in San Fran, and they are in this area. The city doesn't seem to want to do much about it from what we learned.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aprilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights and cannot fault this hotel. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the maid service left chocolates on your bed!! Rooms were really nice and the bed was very comfy! The hotel is very close to Union Square and Market which is where the big shops are! Recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to San Francisco!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam_Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I have been staying at The Donatello for twenty years, and it just keeps getting better. The staff is wonderful and the rooms are huge. The hotel is small enough that you feel personally cared for. The rooms have recently been done over and they are beautiful. You can't beat the location, just one block off Union Square. The parking garage is great and much less expensive than most other SF hotels. I would highly recommend The Donatello to anyone planning to visit San Francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyStuartFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A short 4 nite break in San Francisco during our recent trip to the USA, and we chose the Donatello from its trip advisor reviews.... And we were not disappointed. Check-in was stress free and staff were very professional.

Room was spacious and bed was huge and very comfy....tv built into the bathroom mirror meant Eileen's baths took much longer than usual :).... Wifi allowed us to keep in touch with home.... Nice club facilities ( gym, sauna and spa bath and terrace ) .... Concierge very helpful with tips for our visit

Hotel situated close to union square ( shopping ), and good links to transport around the city....

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and The Donatello was very good value

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
608 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,087 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
1,198 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $164 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing