We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Perfect Location, Best Value”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #40 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed there for a week long business trip. The rooms are a good size, have a kitchenette, sofa sleeper, and very comfy beds!! I Was lucky enough to have a room on the terrace level that has a private patio which extends to a larger shared area. The restaurant was wonderful and the bar poured generous drinks. The staff was very professional and helpful. Can't beat this hotel for price and value!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeAfram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,413 - 1,419 of 2,675 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

We loved our stay here! Staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations on closeby restaurants, sights, etc. As mentioned earlier, rooms are a little dated, but still offer all the usual amenities such as flat screen tv, mini fridge, etc. Our bed was very comfortable. Best thing about this hotel is location to all of San Fran's attractions. The Union Square park is only away and there you can hop on a trolley for a quick and sight filled ride to Fisherman's Wharf. Plenty of great shops and restaurants are VERY closeby. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on business, romance, or family trip and will definitely be staying here again on my next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whodatnation76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Staff warm, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms spacious, beds divine. Location short walk to Union Square. Plenty of eateries around. Hotel Restaurant excellent Italian cuisine. Parking fee appears high but isn't compared with the higher tax rates that others charge. Valet staff excellent and friendly. Look no further for a first class experience. Excellent value for money. will definitely stay again. Highly recommend. J&D, Brisbane, Australia

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed in this building for six nights in mid May - although it was the Club Donatello which is the top three floors. Problem was that when booking I did not realise the difference that the Club rooms are privately owned, like a timeshare room. Treated as guest to the hotel with full use of facilities but lacked the 'mini kitchen' facilities in the hotel - no microwave etc - but too late to change on arrival. Anyway, the reception was fine, very friendly and helpful suggestions for breakfast. We would recommend Lori's Diner or Cafe Taza. Room was very large and the bed was just great. Furniture was dated - others might call it classic. Lots of mirrors - whole walls. Location was superb - 5mins from the centre and transport.

The big test is would we go back? Yes but would try for the hotel first.

Room Tip: Book the hotel before trying for the Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smilingguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

From the time I made the reservation until my farewell... this hotel made me feel at home. The amazing approachable staff sets the tone. One block from almost everything you can think of. The front desk helpful suggestions, like buying a transportation city pass. If using public transit, I recommend you get one. Kitchenette in the room is convenient. WIFI is spotty, but its free. I will come back and stay here again on my next visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krayola80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Had the great pleasure of visiting the Donatello on Business last month with coworkers and as luck would have it, we stumbled upon the Donatello while looking for a convenient location in Union Square. I did not know of the hotel personally, only was familiar with the general vicinity and it was in the price range. The rooms were very spacious and the attentive staff made you feel like a world class traveler. We were all very happy with our stay here and will continue to book here when business takes us to San Francisco!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank azntazdvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Would def go back here... our first time in San Fran and we couldn't have picked a better hotel.
The Staff were so helpful & the hotel was right in the midst of the city, one block from Union Square so walking distance to the whole city basically.
Free wifi was great too, we got to Skype with our son back in Australia! We did have a few problems connecting to it in the beginning but the staff fixed this up for us straight away.
Really inviting property. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but had a drink at the bar :)

Room Tip: Requested High Floor & it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ldavi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
619 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,385 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 230 in San Francisco
4,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#91 of 230 in San Francisco
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $201 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing