We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hotel”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #44 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 19, 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Donatello in San Francisco. The staff was very knowledgeable and very friendly. There was a warmth about all of them throughout our stay. We loved the location which is central to most of the attractions, and the bellmen couldn't do enough to help. We had a beautiful room which was very clean and spacious. For our first visit to San Francisco, we were extremely happy with the hotel, its location and all its amenities, and we'd highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elvis082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,449 - 1,455 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2011

Based on the other reviews, we thought this hotel looked like a great find. It was a wonderful location, and the staff was extremely helpful and kind. We would definitely recommend the Donatello to anyone visiting the area and will stay here again on our next trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allisonc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

I've just returned downunder after a 3 night stay in San Francisco for a conference held at The Marriott Marquis. Sure, I could've stayed at the Marriott but Tripadvisor pointed a big arrow toward the Donatello.

*great location
*great staff
*large rooms
*excellent service
*great value

The whole team are genuinely friendly &, like previous reviews, Jesus gets a special mention as he greeted me by name 24 hrs after checking me in.

I stayed on level 11 which is a Club Donatello (holiday ownership) room. You can check out The Club Donatello website & book club rooms which have been released by individuals with shares in the scheme.

I loved San Francisco & hope to bring back my family soon. The Donatello will be top of our list.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graydudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

The Donatello is in a ideal location in San Francisco. It is well managed, quiet, and very comfortable. The staff could not be more accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnRSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

My family and I truly enjoyed our stay at The Donatello. Excellent all around service. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayemit61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

As soon as we pulled into the parking garage, we were pleasantly greeted by a most friendly attemdant and enjoyed our front desk welcome by Jesus and Mr. Ed. Superbly run hotel, we had a quiet room towards inner courtyard, very comfortable king bed in a large room with ample storage, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Happy hour was great in the adjoining restaurant. Hotel located in Nob Hill just a block away from great shopping, theaters, and trolley stop. Just a few blocks walk to Chinatown as well. Many great restaurants nearby for breakfast or dinner. Our only regret was having stayed just one night. We would definitely return to this fine hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deeann7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Booked it because of its great reviews on trip advisor, location, price, and good reputation of Shell properties. Parking rates were significantly lower than most of the hotels in the area, and it also offered free wi-fi (most of the 5 star hotels charge a fee for internet access) . (The only disappointment was the internet as it was dreadfully slow and frustrating to use. There was a computer for guest's use in the lobby area, and this seemed to be faster than the wi-fi in the room.)
Overall we were very satisfied, and the hotel met all of our expectations. The room was very spacious, bed was especially comfortable, and location was fantastic. There was free tea, coffee, and hot chocolate available on the 10th floor, with a lounge . The concierge was available to assist with any sightseeing and booking of restaurants and entertainment, but we didn't require any of these services. We enjoyed the welcome wine and cheese reception on Friday late afternoon, and we were very pleased that there were no sales pitches for the Shell time share properties, which is a common feature when we have stayed at timeshare resorts.
It was noisy at night from the street below, but this seemed to be an issue from the reviews for any downtown hotel .
It would definitely be our first choice of hotels when we return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
608 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,087 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
1,198 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $164 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing