We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Upscale hostel, I'd go back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of USA Hostels San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
USA Hostels San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
136 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Upscale hostel, I'd go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed here back in March and forgot to write a review. Definitely one of the nicer hostels I've stayed at, with super comfortable beds and really good showers. There was a free pancake breakfast I got to partake in since I was up early -- I usually sleep through it. Really the only downside to this hostel is the big uphill walk to get here from the BART station. I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank veeRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    386
    92
    14
    19
See reviews for
17
145
378
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've stayed here many times. This time, I believe, was the best. Price is right. Many free activities offered. Centrally located to Union square and public transportation. I felt safe. Place is clean. Staff is very helpful. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank moferrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

The staff is very nice. Every day they have an idea for you: Pub Crawl, Karaoke night.
The location is perfect: really near from Union Square and all the public transportation.
I really recomend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kathyeli24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Ill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

The staff was friendly and prompt. The breakfast was pretty good especially for the price per night. San Fran is just expensive and this hostel is a nice place to save money and is comfortable. It was secure and seemed safe and clean. They supply bed linens, pillow, and a towel. It was somewhat noisy the first night, but the second night I only woke up once because the roomie was talking on the phone for less than a min in the middle of the night. But they were very nice and respectful and apologized for waking me up. Heck, i've stayed at nice hotels and had to deal with noisy neighbors in the hall and through the walls. The staff supplies ear plugs that help especially if you are not used to a hostel experience as I am. Overall, only for the value, location, price, and quality... I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors are quieter. You can select NON economy and that is apparently a less noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

I slept in a quiet 4 person dorm and find the accommodations quite suitable for the price. The location is fantastic. For those worrying about the sketchiness of the neighborhood: only a few blocks south really had problems. During my stay I never felt unsafe, though other travelers may be more squeamish.

The daily activities were nice. A free walking tour and nightly drinks/ activities were unexpected and great fun to meet new people.

The process/breakfast/layout of the building was confusing at first as they did not give much orientation, but it was figured out quickly. Breakfast is nothing special, but they have everything you need. It is better than one would expect at a motel.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hostel for anybody who wants to be located in the city center for a good price and wants to meet new people. My roommates were very nice (though they did wake me up a few times).

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very nice staff. Clean room. Clever beds with privacy pod and charging points in locker and bed area. Polite and helpful staff. Good hostel... if a little expensive (but I think that's just San Fran). Good location too.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the central atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr_Yoav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Clean hostel, good location, lots of organised events. The bunk beds were comfy and felt like you had a lot more privacy as they are slightly enclosed. The room was quite noisy as it was on the main street, which made it slightly more difficult bro get to sleep, but the hostel itself was not noisy. The dorm had a hairdryer and sink which was handy, as well as good sized lockers with power outlets inside. Breakfast in the morning was also very good, and you were able to make your own pancakes

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicki1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,900 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Encore Express Hotel
#127 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 55 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Francisco

Property: USA Hostels San Francisco
Address: 711 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks from Union Square and close to tourist attractions, this award-winning hostel offers value-priced dorms and privates. Rates include a daily breakfast of fresh fruit, baked goods, all-you-can-make pancakes and oatmeal daily along with fruit juice, coffee and tea. The hostel hosts daily free activities offering solo travelers and other many chances to make new friends and take home great memories. Most guests are young, international travelers and this is not the appropriate property for families with young children as the hostel has some late night events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your USA Hostels San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing